We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Fusion

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Fusion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fusion
See the most recent reviews
Showing 808: English reviews
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This hotel is in fthe good location of Union Square. It's close to all the car rentals and direct to get to Oakland Bridge and out of the city if you are going to Yosemite. Our room was very small but clean and we weren't in it much. The complimentary breakfast was only cakes, coffee and juice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 109south
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review

Dear 109south, Thank you for your review of Hotel Fusion. Like you said, we are located downtown near Union Square, please keep in mind space is at a premium with a location such as ours. It sounds like you had a great trip in San Francisco! We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the area....

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived after a long flight from the UK the staff were polite and booked us in quickly which was great. We were on the top floor and but had a very small room which was clean, unfortunately the window faced inwards on the hotel towards other windows and there was no fresh air coming in and the air con...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominique D
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review

Dear Dominique D, Thank you for your review of Hotel Fusion. We appreciate your comments. Please accept our apologize you were not notified of the fire alarm test. I am sure that was an unpleasant way to be woken up from a nap! We are happy you liked your room even though it was a bit small. Please keep in...

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Worst stay of my life ! I have never seen anything like it. I Arrived at hotel Fusion with my partner. As soon as we walked towards our room we were hit with a horrific stale smell, it was disgusting. We opened the door to our room and i burst into tears for a number of reasons - The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharleySmith
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review

Dear CharleySmith, We are deeply sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. It sounds like you have some strong concerns about your experience. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you and address these issues. Please call and ask to speak directly to our hotel manager so we can get on the same page and address the...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. They made out stay relaxing and enjoyable. The rooms are small and basic but a good base for getting around. Location is good for union square shopping but a bit of a walk to pier 39 and fishermans wharf. However there are close transport links from the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe K
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review

Dear Zoe K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hotel Fusion. We are pleased to hear you had a great stay. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our staff and we are happy to hear they made your stay more relaxing and enjoyable! We are definitely a long walk from Fisherman's Wharf...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Also booked this hotel because said breakfast included. Was told it was stopped 6 months before!!!!! Well how come when you look the hotel up even now, it still lists - 'including breakfast'. Room was very small and poky and also had a weird smell. Had a ceiling fan, and air conditioning (very old) and this was so noisey you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhscoti
Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Our stay at the Hotel Fusion was disappointing despite the location being great. We had booked some months in advance and our room on arrival was the smallest room in the Hotel, there was no room to adequately open our bags and as it only had a ceiling fan was very stuffy. The concierge however was wonderful in relocating us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen V
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review

Dear Helen V, Thank you for your review of Hotel Fusion. We are happy to hear that our concierge was able to move you to a larger room with air conditioning. Space can be limited due to our prime location downtown so we are pleased you were moved into a room that suited your needs better. Yes, unfortunately mistakes do...

Cornwall
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Clean but basic rooms, good position for site seeing. Welcome complementary breakfast. Again basic buns & cakes plus coffee. 24 hr reception friendly staff. Hotel has its own bar / nightclub next door.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cornwallskiing
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review

Dear Cornwallskiing, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hotel Fusion. We are glad you had a good stay with us . We hope you enjoyed your stay in San Francisco and hope to welcome you back again in the future! Thank you, Hotel Fusion

Boisbriand, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Overall, the hotel is very nice. Well located about 3 mins from union square, and they just renovated the lobby. That being said, the breakfast consisted of coffee and a couple of pastries. Thats it. Also, we had a room giving on the street, and it was extremly noisy. There is actually a club next to the hotel, and you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alexandre G
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review

Dear Alexandre, G, Thank you for your review of Hotel Fusion. Please accept our apologies for for the noise you encountered during your stay. We are pleased that you liked the hotel and hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you, Hotel Fusion

Turlock, California, United States
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

The wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night and things overall went very well. The concierge was very friendly and helpful in giving us suggestions for nightlife and dining. The gentleman at the front desk was polite and full of suggestions as well. We had a great room that had a sweeping view of the street out front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William L
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review

Dear William, We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay at Hotel Fusion. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, customer service is very important to us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room as well. We hope the next time you are in need of a room in SF you stay with us...and...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Right in the heart of Union Square this hotel is close to all the shops and restaurants nearby. Quite the touristy area though and super noisy at night (you'll get that anywhere staying in Union Square). The room was nice enough and the concierge was helpful. Unfortunately we were without hot water on our last night there so that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F B
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review

Dear F B, Thank you for taking the time to review of Hotel Fusion. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience with the hot water during your last night. We hope you had a great stay overall and will come back and stay again soon. Thank you, Hotel Fusion

628 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (276)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Other (88)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (328)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Double Double Room (87)
Viewed
Double Room (98)
Viewed
Double Suite (29)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Single Room (34)
Viewed
Single Twin Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#40 of 230 in San Francisco
1,537 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#120 of 230 in San Francisco
721 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,179 reviews
Union Square
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Union Square
Holiday Inn Express San Francisc...
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
85 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Union Square

Neighbourhood Profile
Union Square
Originally home to rallies supporting the Union Army in the Civil War, this grand square has become the city's premier shopping and entertainment district containing the largest number of upscale department stores, chic boutiques, art galleries and theatres in the city. It's a large open area where tourists and locals gather, watch cable cars and crowds go by, enjoy a snack, or plan their day of shopping and sightseeing, If feeling the pulsating energy of the city is on your agenda, Union Square is the place to soak it in.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An elegant fusion of old-world Asian and contemporary American styles, Hotel Fusion is an oasis in the heart of Union Square. Guest rooms are appointed with all brand new furnishings, rich wood accents and feature warm inviting colors. Located steps from major business centers and popular attractions, Hotel Fusion is the perfect choice for leisure and business travelers. Like San Francisco, Hotel Fusion is an ideal blend of culture, class and unparalleled personal service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Fusion

Address: 140 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2110 (Formerly Gate Hotel San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Price Range: RM541 - RM1,551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fusion 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fusion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fusion San Francisco
Hotel Fusion San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Fusion staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Fusion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 500 was great!”
 of 5 bubbles Mmundo42, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“High rooms are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles jeniferchalmers, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors may be better given that there is a nightclub on the first floor, especially on weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles hirunningman, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are very small. Ask for a larger room if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles mrfoxycat, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go here! Despite the air con units you will enjoy this place.”
 of 5 bubbles 10kevg, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay