We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Minna Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Minna Hotel
Minna Hotel
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Minna Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

I don't mind sharing bathrooms-they're reasonably clean-but I refuse to share bed sheets! Urine, hair and crumbs greeted me upon pulling back the duvet. The carpet hasn't seen a vacuum in a very long time never mind a steam cleaner! I have learned my lesson for cheap stays in San Fran. Avoid like the plague, unless you don't mind getting... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank N7492XHgregs
Vernouillet, France
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

I just booked this hotel from France on internet. I must admit that i did it quickly. This was for a convention and, at least on the map, hotel was perfectly located at walking distance to the Moscone and Union square. Price was 347$ per night (including tax) For that price you stay in an unsafe area in a small... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jlsouchi

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Tongeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2015

You can hardly call this a hotel. The neighbourhood is dirty! A lot of homeless people on the streets who make a lot of noise during the night! The rooms are very small, there was no service at all. The showers an dtoilet on the floor, so in the morning you have to wait a while to refresh. During my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IvoJanssens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

I was so scared.. I decided to stay at a different hotel! The reviews where not so bad but, when I got there I was so scared. There where men urinating on the sidewalk (2). And there was a woman who was staring people who passed by her down. It was the scariest place I've beem to and I'm from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa O
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

This is maybe not the best hotel in San Francisco but for the price it's quite good, the staff is nice and friendly, the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable and the wi-fi works really good. Indeed, there's no toilets or shower in your room but the common bathrooms/toilets are clean and it doesn't bothered us. The breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank MattX45
Riviera Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2015

I've read the reviews and am familiar with the neighborhood. Based on the room rates and the type of accommodations, the Pontiac is a real bargain for SOMA. But, like others have said, don't expect the Ritz. I was handed a towel @ check-in and that was the only towel for 4 days. My room was not serviced at all.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
ManagerDM, Manager at Minna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeff S, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, your comments are valuable to us. We apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced. Pontiac Hotel and Hostel does not offer cleaning services on a daily basis unless it has been requested to the front desk. Also, clean towels are always available at the front desk... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Rooms are very basic. Would be fine if the area wasn't so poor. Bathrooms were a little icky, didn't enjoy showering in them at all, felt gross and got locked in! Definitely not a hotel for family as area is very rough and I felt unsafe.

Helpful?
1 Thank lp93
ManagerDM, Manager at Minna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lp93, Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed to see that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. We apologize that the bathroom and surrounding area did not meet your expectations. We are located in the heart of San Francisco, but would like to assure you that we have never had a safety issue at our... More 

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2015

I would stay again. The cost is absolutely affordable and you get basic clean accommodation. Wifi works pretty good and the neigborhood is ok. They even get you coffee and bread in the mornings. Anyway don´t expect luxuries. Guests are noisy and the blanket smelled.

Helpful?
Thank Myriam O
ManagerDM, Manager at Minna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Myriam O, Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are happy to hear you would stay with us again and we welcome the opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you, Pontiac Hotel More 

Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
275 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2015

If you are a batchlor and trying to find some cheap and economic place to stay then it may be best because it is just walking distance from market street in San Fransisco but if you are with family or spacially with girls then no need to go here. Be cauncious about 6th street which is at one side of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sundeepgupta
ManagerDM, Manager at Minna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sundeepgupta, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is important to us. We apologize that you felt skeptical with the safety of our location. As you mentioned, we are affordable and within walking distance to Market Street, which hosts a lot of shopping and restaurants. We are pleased you were able to experience these positive... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2015

From my letter to the hotel: Just thought I'd write to thank you for my recent stay. A few things stand out. Thanks so much for considering that I'd be in residence for several days and chose my room accordingly. The noise from 6th street was perfect for making sure I made the most out of my hours in San... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank R C

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (76)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Second Standard Room (9)
Viewed
Standard Corner Room (11)
Viewed
Standard Room (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Encore Express Hotel
#128 of 233 in San Francisco
314 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#183 of 233 in San Francisco
47 reviews
Layne Hotel
#200 of 233 in San Francisco
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#162 of 233 in San Francisco
154 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 233 in San Francisco
2,211 reviews
The Dakota Hotel
#188 of 233 in San Francisco
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighbourhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighbourhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighbourhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Minna Hotel

Address: 509 Minna St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2893
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Price Range: RM308 - RM563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Minna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Minna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontiac Hotel San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Minna Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Barron, Wisconsin
10 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Minna Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“check the doors first there are plenty that dont lock properly”
 of 5 bubbles Rene0000, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try getting room 401, or one that isnt central to the floor which will have no window that overlook anything.”
 of 5 bubbles Mi7k, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had windows to the street which was really noisy all the night.”
  • sink in the toilet
 of 5 bubbles matejs, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“don't choose this hostel!”
 of 5 bubbles miswawa, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Try to avoid rush hour for taking a shower.”
 of 5 bubbles MyriamO, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay