We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Whitcomb

Booking.comUS$159*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$285*
US$159*
US$285*
US$159*
US$285*
US$159*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Whitcomb
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,905 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Whitcomb
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,304: English reviews
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The service was good, however I wouldn't stay there again. I didn't feel safe outside of the hotel due to the large numbers of homeless people outside. The room was average and not the cleanest. Apparently my travel agent had stayed there before so we stayed based on her recommendation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SarahGilby
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your posting and for your your time to let us know your thoughts. We appreciate all the comments our guests provide as it allows us to better server our customers in the future. We want all our guests to feel safe and comfortable so we take steps for everyone at the hotel to feel that...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Woke up at six am and found bed bugs in my sheets.... Needless to say I was appalled. The manager refunded my night and I went to another hotel that was much better. The room could have been charming with its high ceilings and cosy feel but the air conditioner being obscenely loud ruined it. It was not very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank S H
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. However I am disappointed to hear your claims. We want you to know that we take these very seriously and we have taken several actions to prevent such activity. I would like to reach out to you and get more information so that we can address this claim as soon as possible. Please...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I am all about staying at a landmark hotel but there are minimum standards that should be met for your guests. The hotel was rather dirty and looked like it had not been tended to. The location was decent, not close to anything but walkable to anywhere we needed to go. I would not recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. We are disappointed to hear these comments. We will look into your details and work at making improvements as we always try and do with guest feedback. Thank you. Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Aurora, Canada
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were directed around to the laneway behind the hotel to valet parking. The laneway was jammed with cars parked haphazardly while a bewildered looking valet searched in a bucket for keys to a customer's car. Having to carefully maneuver our vehicle so the other customer could exit, we were left jammed up behind another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We have listened to these comments and make changes already to our valet procedures. We have Our goal is to have the best possible experience from the time you arrive to departure in all areas when you stay with us. We appreciate these comments as it allows...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not modern and it's classic architecture is lost in a layer of dust. I imagine because it's difficult to clean. I'm certain our bathroom is from the fifties and the shower is not up to standard at all. Staff are okay, not amazing, just okay. One guy has such a bad grasp of the English language it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Spencersdaddy
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts with us. We have listened to your comments and made our staff aware so that they can be more aware of the perception of our valued customers. Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss your stay further. Thank you. Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Davis, California
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My biggest complaint is that the valet parking treats your cars like toys.im sorry but I do not appreciate the valet bringing me my car by revving up the engine flying down the alley without his hands on the steering wheel. The hotel was nice with its victorian style which i very much enjoyed but the service was poor. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maoneil
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I will be sure to communicate your concerns about the valet with our staff. We will also share your thoughts about the service you received with our Front Desk so that they can be aware of your feelings. Thank you again. Kris Betz, Director of Operations.

Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is not my first time staying here. I think we're going to make it a tradition. The hotel is older but that just adds to it's charm. Historical and still relevant, the Whitcomb is just steps away from all that is happening in SF. But the real reason to stay here is the customer service- Kazi, the customer service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luz S
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for all the kind words about your stay with us. We are pleased that you were met with our usual great customer service and attentive managers. I will be sure to share these comments with our staff so they know your stay was great. Thank you again. Kris Betz, Director of Operations

San Diego
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Whitcomb this past week and I have to say I was a little nervous about the location at first. But the staff is super friendly and awesome. Including the manager Sean. I will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeffr1254
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to post your comments about your stay. We are all pleased to get another 5 star review from one of our valued customers. I will be sure to share this with the staff members mentioned. Thank again. Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel from July 2-July 8th, 2014. I chose a petite double room. The location of this hotel is slightly problematic, though in the hotel's defense, there's nothing it can do about it. It's located on the edge of the Tenderloin district, and there are definitely some rough/scary people about as it's a disadvantaged area of San...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellingMan999
Los Angeles
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here the weekend of SF Pride. It was my "Pride Weekend" and the location is amazing! We had an extremely pleasant stay there. Kazi was amazing and made any glitches right but also made our stay extra special. The room was clean and large which is unusual for a lot of the older remodeled hotels. I was impressed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelmamita

775 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (651)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (157)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (129)
Viewed
Bathroom (62)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (272)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (116)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Superior Guestroom (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#120 of 228 in San Francisco
1,150 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#139 of 228 in San Francisco
287 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#98 of 228 in San Francisco
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#131 of 228 in San Francisco
1,006 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 228 in San Francisco
739 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 228 in San Francisco
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in SoMa

Neighbourhood Profile
SoMa
South of Market (SoMa), has an urban and sophisticated vibe, but you're more likely to find big nightclubs and lots of industrial loft residences than you are to find boutique shopping. Although it’s the epicenter for tech startups in the city, visitors will be able to do more than just business - museums, top quality restaurants, and the San Francisco Giants now call this neighbourhood home. Most of its freeway-sized streets may not capture the same character as other neighbourhoods in the city, but pockets of charm, like South Park, can still be found throughout its side streets.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Price Range: RM679 - RM1,211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Whitcomb staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
Brisbane, California

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Whitcomb staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For quieter room ask for a room facing away from Market”
Brentlin, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from Market and 8th Streets are quiet”
countrydean, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere.”
brivvy, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Again, away from Market Street as it gets loud at night. Upper floor towards the rear.”
keeb56, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was in need of a lot of repairs, and we were on the lower level.”
, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$159* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$159
Orbitz.comUS$159
AMOMAUS$285
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates