We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lazy Lizard International Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lazy Lizard International Hostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lazy Lizard International Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 190: English reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I had read all the reviews of this property before determining that it would be an ok place for my Girl Scout troop to stay for one night before their river rafting trip in Moab. I had read that sometimes the sheets have hair balls on them and that everything is very old and worn out, but that it is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie C
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

Stephanie, I am sincerely sorry that your girl got hurt on our property. I hope that it wasn't serious, that she was able to enjoy the rest of the trip and that you didn't have to alter or cancel any of your activities. I hope she's OK now. Although this may not be of any consolation to you, the porch...

Matthews
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

We advise you not to go to the this hotel even though the price is cheap-it is nasty and a firetrap. We do not mind the humble hostel nature, but are incensed by the filth. Our bed was ok, but the air conditioner did not work well so we were warm most of the evening- and this in record high...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pamela M
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

You are right. The air conditioning was not working properly. We did not notice this because it had been a very cool spring and we almost didn't need air conditioning. When summer hit the temperature shot up 20 or 30 degrees almost overnight. We noticed that the air conditioning wasn't working and replaced it with a brand new unit. It...

Collinsville, Oklahoma
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Booked a cabin, very Spartan, but acceptably comfortable. Double bunk beds, concrete floors, lamp, table, chair and bench. Bathroom and showers wear fairly primitive, we didn't check out the kitchen/food facilities. Location is behind a storage facility and Enterprise rent a car, a person needs their own wheels to get to this location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LoveMrEd2
Kailua, Hawaii, United States
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Lazy Lizard is a very intriguing place, it's not for everyone, but if you have an open mind and are in Moab to have fun adventures, it could be a perfect place to stay. This is my second year of staying at Lazy Lizard, this time I stayed my entire trip there. Overall I knew what I was dealing with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Noel M
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you had a good stay and hope that you keep coming back. The only thing that I have to say about this review is that we highly highly discourage anyone from bringing in their own sleeping bags or bedding. This is the most common way for unwanted pests to be...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Boyfriend and I were doing a National-Parks tour around these states, and happened upon this hostel online. It was the first time I stayed at a hostel and it was exactly what I expected: a cool community of people sharing food/ideas/etc, and at a really great price. Moab is beautiful (the whole region is great) and the hostel is pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joanna M
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 28 April 2015

I have booked a cabin room insted of it I got a dark room without window in very old and under all standards. Not only I was promised in email we can calmly arrive but also I was asurred they will give us what we ordered. Of course we had to pay in advance. So if you want to feel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iwi2015
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

First of all, let me say that we are very sorry for not having the accommodations that you booked. We take this very seriously and make every effort to give every guest exactly what they reserved, but occasionally we do make mistakes. Even the Lizard screws up sometimes. It is true that we do now charge a one-night deposit ahead...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Me and my husband stayed at the Hostel a couple of times, in between our climbing activities in Indian Creek. Lizard is all about the friendly and informal atmosphere, which I appreciated very much. Plus great quality for more than reasonable price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alicja P
McCall, Idaho
Reviewed 10 March 2015 via mobile

I stayed at the lizard for a solid week in february on a climbing trip; it has a great community vibe and it's in Moab. Also the lazy lizard is super low price with a lot of great amenities like a hot shower, comfy bed and friendly staff!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eizaak
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 February 2015 via mobile

I commend the staff (gentleman at the front desk was very kind) for being helpful and sociable. We crashed here recently during our Moab visit. Pros: safe parking, room to grill outside, laundry machines for $1 each, inexpensive cons: laundry didn't get dry in the dryer, bathrooms were not very clean (mostly guys there that night), hairs all over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALWP
Reviewed 21 December 2014

This Lazy Lizard gives you a lot of options for a great price: camp on the property, dorm bunks, private rooms, and self-catering kitchen. You will meet a lot of interesting people- international adventurers, and mountain wanderers who use the backpackers as a base camp. We searched for the place because it is part of the setting (under a different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review

Becky, I am familiar with Lena Roy's book "Edges". She was kind enough to send me a copy. Sorry I didn't get the chance to discuss it with you. I guess I need to pass the book around to the staff. Glad you liked your stay. Scott

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
2.3 km away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 34 in Moab
675 reviews
5.6 km away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
1,233 reviews
2.7 km away
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Moab
0.5 km away
Sleep Inn Moab
Sleep Inn Moab
#21 of 34 in Moab
629 reviews
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard International Hostel

Address: 1213 S Highway 191, Moab, UT 84532-3062
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lazy Lizard International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Lizard International Hotel Moab
Lazy Lizard International Hostel Moab, Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lazy Lizard International Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lazy Lizard International Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay within one of the houses when weather is either very hot or cold, then you don't have to go outside to get to shower/bath house.”
jakel524, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We loved our little cabin for privacy and quietness”
MountainMom7, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cabins are a good way to go if you are traveling with friends. Splitting up the price will come out cheaper than the dorm room price!”
817adamj, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cabins : all of them have a little private place with an outside table”
trad92, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for cabin with newer AC unit”
jenthehennifer, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5