We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Badlands Interior Motel and Campground

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We CAMPED here. The sites are big enough to accommodate large rigs. Each has a fire pit. Absolutely BEAUTIFUL views. especially sunsets. I have stayed here 2x, each time under different owners. The new owners are doing a great job of keeping up with the place. Nothing special as far as the campsites go, but you should be out taking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick M
Reviewed 5 July 2016

For the $ this place was fantastic...Able to sit outside in the evening, sit around a campfire with a view of The Badlands. Walking distance to both the park and Interior, SD...nice owners as well. I didn't want to leave...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin B
Eland, Wisconsin
Reviewed 23 June 2016

First of all the beds are so old they sag in the middle. The walls are dirty and cracked. There's space in the door jam where bugs and hot air can get in. There were dead bugs around the room and in the wrapping on the light fixture. The fridge was a good size but was also the night stand....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lordygirl69
Badlandsmotel, Owner at Badlands Interior Motel and Campground, responded to this review

We are sorry you had an unpleasant stay. We do strive to keep the hotel clean. We do not state anywhere on the websites that we have TVs. We have stated in several booking places there are no Tvs. We are trying to update the rooms but this does take time. We understand you were upset and it showed when...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

First of all....this is a rustic type campground....not a fancy hotel. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice and clean it is here! We stayed in a room above the office. The people who run it are wonderful! You can see the Badlands...you are right outside the entrance. There's a pool to enjoy....but no tv. The wifi and air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kristi w
United States
Reviewed 13 June 2016

This is a $50/night place, at best, that can charge twice that due to the location. The room is clean, although dated and in need of remodel. Everything worked but simple things like a coffee maker with matching pot and filter, or matching chairs that don't stack would make a big difference. The AC is furnished by a loud window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roguelyn
Oakland, California
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Rick and Dawn Tilson are welcoming hosts at the Badlands Budget Host Inn. There's nothing fancy or even plush about the place. But the rooms are comfortable, simple and everything works the way it should. If you are going to the Badlands, this is a fine place to sleep. And out your door, you look right up at the rocks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OaklandTraveler1943
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We stayed 2 nights at this easy to get to RV park that is located just outside the Badlands National Park and insight of the Badlands Lodge Gift shop. The full hookup sights were level, the park was quiet and well maintained. The trees aren't big enough yet to provide any shade and the picnic table at our site was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smartypants_12
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Reviewed 26 May 2016

I'll be honest and tell you this is not the type of hotel that we stay at but if i every go bad to the Badlands I'll stay here again. The man and lady that we talked to on the phone were nice and we were running late getting there while the office was open but they waited for us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tod W
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Being situated right next to the Badlands, this motel enjoys an amazing view and a great location. It is very close to the entrance to the Badlands and is a perfect location of you need a place to stay just for a night before or after visiting the Badlands just for one night. The rooms are big and clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arianna F
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We arrived late at night due to complications that arose with our other camping plans. We had not called and the owner had no clue we were coming. We asked if there was a spot that we could pitch our tent and he told us that we could pick any spot that we wanted. He showed us where they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon C

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interior
35.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
38.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
36.2 km away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 km away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
156 reviews
35.5 km away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
240 reviews
33.3 km away
Budget Host Sundowner
Budget Host Sundowner
#2 of 6 in Kadoka
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel & campground 1 mile south of Badlands National Park. Store & restaurant serving breakfast 7-9 daily. Swimming pool and close to small western town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Badlands Interior Motel and Campground

Address: 900 Sd Highway 377, Interior, SD 57750-7031 (Formerly Badlands Budget Host Inn)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Price Range: RM287 - RM442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Badlands Interior Motel and Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Badlands Interior Motel and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badlands Budget Host Hotel Interior
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Badlands Interior Motel and Campground staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Badlands Interior Motel and Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go down the streetabout a quarter mile.”
 of 5 bubbles DonJancauskas, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good Wi-Fi, pool”
 of 5 bubbles Tomsteffek, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Above the office as has great views.”
 of 5 bubbles CarolCaley, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We don't camp, but there are RV hook-ups available for those with campers. We prefer a room, however.”
 of 5 bubbles lisajI7333AH, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Apparently the rooms above the office are newer (we were not in that section.)”
 of 5 bubbles 990cathyh, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5