We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

French Broad River Campground

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
French Broad River Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 96: English reviews
Dudley, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 October 2016

a little hidden rustic gem right on the French Broad River with great proximity to Asheville. it was recommended to me by a friend on a F/B RV page and I'm so glad we took it. the campground sets right ON the French Broad river. it's a little tough getting in and out, narrow driveway but manageable for our 31'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Banditoman59
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Private campground right on the French Broad. Prices a little steep, but all levels of hookup available. Through road is right behind campsites, so road noise is near constant. Saving grace is the constant river noise! They don't want you bring in visitors from outside. Great spot for kids to get in the water or for kayaking or tubing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois P
New Plymouth, Ohio
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Thay charged for smoking in cabin . I'm a non smoker . cabin smelled like piss everywhere. And I left it cleaner than I got there . what a deal !!! Thanks French river camp ground . I will tell everyone I know about u.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sugarsweet29
Climax, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the campground. All of the RV and tent sites are right on the river and it's a beautiful view. The lots are very close together. Luckily, we had wonderful neighbors. The owners are very nice and keep a close eye on what's going on. They drive up and down the road multiple times a day...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea I
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We've been camping here for several years. I love that it's not row after row of campers in a field. The river is a few feet from our camper. I love the sound of the train. The bath house always seemed to be clean and I always had hot water. Even though it's in an out of the way place,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Donna H
North Carolina
Reviewed 3 January 2016

I stayed for 2 months (June and July) 2015. Basic campground; owners on site; helpful when needed but not intrusive. Bathhouse was cleaned several times daily. Very accommodating. This is an older facility and due to newer rules/ regulations from varied government entities, there isn't much owners can do in terms of upgrades, more full hookups, etc. but wi-fi and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tina N
Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Like a setting from the movie Sling Blade! Had found the campground online a while back and was in the area over the wknd...excited to drive thru and pick a spot for camping this coming summer! The scenic drive to the campground consisted of a Sewage Treatment Plant (on the river ,upstream of the campground ! ) , Land Fill...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank D S
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 19 October 2015

This is a fairly small campground with sites directly on the French Broad River. Some of the reviews were not favorable, but we found our visit to be very nice. Our site backed right up to the river, which was wonderful. It was a nice flat concrete pad and we had full hookups. Great views of the river as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Souvenir18
Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewed 15 October 2015

We discovered this camp grounds thru the internet. We were extremely pleased that the pictures on the internet matched what we found at the campground. Our tent site was clean and right next to the river. Plenty of water fowl and Great Blue Herons around and in the river. The bath house was cleaned every morning as advertised and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Where do I start? Driving in you pass a minimum and medium prison, a junk yard, and a waste treatment plant (and we could smell this passing it). When we look at the weather for the days that we were going to Asheville we knew that one day was 90% chance of rain – so we planned to go to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brandy H
FBRC_Owner, Owner at French Broad River Campground, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. To respond to some of your points: -- the weather temperatures did not dip below 56 during the days you were here. The bathhouse does have heat, and the windows do get closed, when the temperatures demand it. -- The bathhouse always has hot water. It is cleaned repeatedly throughout...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
13.2 km away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 62 in Asheville
1,089 reviews
13.6 km away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
12.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#6 of 62 in Asheville
4,913 reviews
3.2 km away
The Pines Cottages
The Pines Cottages
#7 of 22 in Asheville
166 reviews
17.4 km away
Asheville Cottages
Asheville Cottages
#1 of 22 in Asheville
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )

Additional Information about French Broad River Campground

Address: 1030 Old Marshall Hwy, Asheville, NC 28804-9667
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
French Broad River Campground Hotel Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from French Broad River Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“a little tight getting in and out but doable. wouldn't recommend it for anything bigger than our 31'”
 of 5 bubbles Banditoman59, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't get stone cabin”
 of 5 bubbles sugarsweet29, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Only camp here if you're in a camper because they "camp sites" are extremely close together and if you're in a tent you can hear everything. Also there are train tracks across from the river so if you're a light sleeper you may not like this place.”
 of 5 bubbles AbbyJ704, 8 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Stayed in the tent section!”
 of 5 bubbles arriam, 16 Jun 2014 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper there is a train that comes by frequently. This may not be the best site for you.”
 of 5 bubbles SierraD844, 8 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5