We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aberdeen Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Aberdeen Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 76: English reviews
Garner, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 February 2015

For my husband and me, even though we are fans of older homes, the primary joy of staying at a B&B is meeting and visiting with other guests and getting to know our hosts. We have stayed in many B&B's over the years, and almost every host has been more than personable, interesting to talk to and helpful and accommodating....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank onlinepastrychef
Thomas B, Owner at Aberdeen Inn, responded to this review

We thank the guests for their very good comments. Tom does eel bad for any misunderstanding of voice tone from the first calls. Yes we were on vacation but that should only improve tone in most cases. I did injure a toe while on vacation and was still wearing special boot when they arrived and getting up and down was...

Orlando
Reviewed 30 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend with my wife and another couple. The house is nice and easy to get anywhere in town. The food was delicious! Tom and Michelle were fantastic. We will stay here again when we return to Asheville!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 640JimyB
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 20 November 2014

We stayed here last weekend with a group of 8 people. After reading all of the reviews I was nervous about Tom. I found Tom to be very nice and hospitable. He gave us recommendations on where to eat, tips on visiting the Biltmore and anything else that we asked. He was very accommodating and let us check in early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DKC88
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Reading these reviews, you have to wonder if people are so delicate, maybe they should just stay home? But I digress... Aberdeen Inn is located in a middle-class, non-HOA, non-cookie cutter neighborhood that you would find anywhere in the country. It is NOT a bad neighborhood. The Inn's grounds aren't manicured, but they are well maintained. The innkeeper Tom is....interesting....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florida_kes
Thomas B, Owner at Aberdeen Inn, responded to this review

We thank these guests for a very candid review. Yes it is an old house and yes some of the conversion from single family to B&B done in 1978 is wearing thin. We have done some updating as time and money have permitted. The guests are right I do not wear well with all the guests but I am trying...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Tom the miserable "Innkeeper" should change his Mission Statement from - We want to always make our guests feel like it's your home away from home to We don't care! Our first impression of the Inn was a nasty phone call from Tom informing us we were late for check in and he wanted to go to bed (it was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Saladgirl1954
Thomas B, Owner at Aberdeen Inn, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that the two guests did not like their stay at the Aberdeen Inn and obviously Tom. None of the food served to our guests is prepared in a microwave oven or bought already prepared. Yes I may prepare the food at 7:00 AM because there are going to be 12 for breakfast and yes I will...

Lebanon, Virginia
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We went to the Aberdeen Inn on our anniversary, which was the least expensive of the B&Bs close to downtown Asheville. Our first experience with our host, Tom, was a little disappointing, but as we got to talk to him further, we found him to be very charming. Our breakfasts were truly "out of this world", and prepared very lovingly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Aberdeen Inn sits in a not-so-nice neighborhood; however the grounds of the Inn are impeccable. There are flower boxes and roses, neatly trimmed lawns and a wrap around porch with comfortable furniture. The Inn is also very clean and our room was pretty. Tom, the Innkeeper, has a difficult personality that made breakfast time uncomfortable to say the least....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 974Sue
Thomas B, Owner at Aberdeen Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that Greg and Sue were upset with My (Tom's) banter. We do have a policy of availability for guests to have breakfast earlier than the normal breakfast hour. All we ask is to be told the night before. We chide guests who skip breakfast because we want them to receive all that they have paid for. As...

Lawrenceville, GA
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We wanted to see the Biltmore flowers in bloom, but found that most reasonable hotels were booked. Others wanted $300+ per night. We saw a couple of good reviews on Tripadvisor for the Aberdeen Inn, and decided to give it a try. I think that some of the reviewers who were put off by Tom, the owner, did not "get"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nonny_12
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 26 December 2013

here for a early xmas trip with the family and we rented 4 separate rooms. The rooms were adequate but a little cluttered for my taste and that really applies to whole place. The location was ok and it was clean enough. I thought the host was a little obnoxious. He bragged about his culinary skills, but I found his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
Thomas B, Owner at Aberdeen Inn, responded to this review

We are sorrythat these guests feel as they do. I do feel that the guests might have been offended by what was intended as humor. Obviously I missed and for that I apologize. I do hold Masters status as a chef and yes I am proud of my accomplishments over 44 years of cooking successfully. I do rtealize that you...

Green Bay, Wisc
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I wish I would have read the reviews about Tom, the host, before booking. But even that would not have prepared us for the misadventure. We arrived in the late afternoon to a looked door and called him. When he answered the door he said "We woke him up, but he probably would help us anyway." Really? That was his...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank evildoug13
Thomas B, Owner at Aberdeen Inn, responded to this review

I do apologize to this guest. I did awake from a nap and certainly should have been friendlier. Yes I do probably talk to much but there legal and others matters of safety that must be covered and possibly they asked question that got met started. I was wrong in the discussions of myself. Guests are often chided when they...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
704 reviews
Historic Montford
Rankin House Inn
Rankin House Inn
#26 of 38 in Asheville
66 reviews
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 38 in Asheville
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albemarle Inn
#25 of 38 in Asheville
702 reviews
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 38 in Asheville
530 reviews
North Lodge on Oakland
#19 of 38 in Asheville
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Aberdeen Inn

Address: 64 Linden Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1352
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: RM531 - RM864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Bed Breakfast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aberdeen Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cottage was quite and comfortable, although I could update furnishings to coordinate.”
 of 5 bubbles lraborn, 5 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Can't remember the names of the two rooms with the balconies. But, they are not private. Guests can come through the main hallway door.”
  • room name
  • toilet and sink
  • tight squeeze, but not an issue
  • king size bed
 of 5 bubbles jamiekaty, 25 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The Rose Room was large, well equipped, and quiet during the time we were there. There were five other rooms occupied at the time.”
  • Rose Room canopy bed
 of 5 bubbles Nonny_12, 13 May 2014 | Read review
“I had Mountain View room, great view, larger room. Highly recommend it.”
 of 5 bubbles ShellyH501, 2 Oct 2013 | Read review
“I would suggest a room at the end of the hall. 2 of the rooms are at the top of the stairs, and the stairs are quite creaky, so you can hear every time someone goes up or down. Also, any noise from downstairs travels up to the top of the second floor, so you can hear most of the conversations in the foyer/sitting area.”
 of 5 bubbles gjslhs, 20 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5