We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mountaineer Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mountaineer Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountaineer Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2015

I don't even know where to begin. I literally gagged at the state of our room. I am surprised a Loch Ness sized roach did not devour us during our sleep. We wanted to stay cheap. I have spent much less on much nicer hotels. Let's start with the basics. Disgustingly unclean room. Dirt and dust in every corner. Remote... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tootsiemae1
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , I am sorry for your experience with us, and am sorry you felt you needed to elaborate to such an extent. Truly, it sounds like a simple case of you being checked into a dirty room. Believe it or not, even some of the fanciest hotels' rooms are disgusting before the housekeepers can take care of them. We... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2015

First off, my friend got a rash on his face from sleeping on the floor. Second, there were cigarette burns on the towels and sheets. Also, one of my friends thought the bathroom smelled like his grandma(not a good thing). Let's put it this way, one of my friends didn't even shower because he didn't know if he would be... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Durdyburd
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , I am sorry that you felt our rooms were not up to sanitation standards. We actually have a satisfactory rating from the Health department . I , however, would never recommend sleeping on a floor, especially a motel room floor. We have a small but dedicated team of housekeepers, and I can assure you, they do a good... More 

Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2015

Close to downtown and cheap. On a busy road but it's in the city so.... Clean enough. Freindly enough. I would recommend it. We had a great time in Asheville and the price left us with a little extra spending money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Domenick O
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, We appreciate your kind and concise review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and enjoyed the financial savings by staying with a vintage, local establishment rather than a chain! Please return! More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

The Mountaineer Inn was just an overnight stay for us on the way home from Knoxville. It was quiet and clean. The television only had one channel but since we were tired it didn't matter. The office staff was friendly and helpful. It is close to several eating establishments and the mall.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacy P
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, We thank you for you nice words about our property. I am so glad you found us to be satisfactory, and the staff pleasant. I apologize for the tv issue, we actually have multiple channels. We are very convenient to shopping and dining. Please return! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2014 via mobile

Don't ever stay in this hotel unless you want to ruin your trip. It is extremely bad hotel.it is the worst hotel we have stayed in our lives...horrible hotel with everything outdated and the service is also hoorible.broken mirrors.lamps and it looks like a dump. .

Helpful?
1 Thank Heloisa A
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello unhappy guest, I just want to apologize for your dissatisfaction with our facility. We are a "vintage" property, and do have our share of issues, but we always are willing to try to accommodate our guests anyway we can. Next time you are in an situation that makes you unhappy, please speak with the front office, and see if... More 

North Oxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Room very outdated and old; I didn't want to touch the furniture because it looked so dirty and old. TV was ancient and looked like it was from my parents' childhood. Wifi had a low signal and was slow. There was a lot of noise outside and I didn't feel very safe at night. Bright light comes in the window... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorKnow85
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, I am reaching out to apologize and address your concerns. It is a fact that we are a very old property, but we do maintain a high degree of cleanliness in our rooms. I am sorry about the tub dripping. I am also sorry about the noise and light from outside. We are generally a very quiet... More 

Norfolk, Virginie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Well i was extremely surprised and disappointed. First, there was holes in the sheets. Then the cover are so old, you can see through them (literally). Third, the towels were so used that it did not wipe any water off me and my wife. In addition, there were only a poor little soap and a dinosaur TV. The curtains did... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank avis1966
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, I am sorry for your less than happy stay with us back in the fall. Yes, we are a very old property, but YES, we do maintain excellent standards of cleanliness. Sometimes, the old décor, and linens detract from that fact. I am sorry about the drapes, and will use this info to work on installing black... More 

Brasileia, AC
Level Contributor
284 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2014

I could write a novel about what a dump this place is! If I were management / owner of this property I would be embarrassed. Every single aspect of this property is run-down, ancient, filthy dirty, and broken. As my Colombian wife said so eloquently, "poor is one thing, but there is no excuse for dirty!" There are two, fairly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank S G
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello , Many apologies for your unpleasant experience with us last fall. I understand that the age of this motel is rather offputting to some folks, but I have to assert, that cleanliness is not one of our issues. We may be a little dilapidated here and there, but we keep our rooms up to all sanitation codes, just like... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We checked in for one nite and morning 4th Oct 2014...could not take a morning shower...the tub would not drain..standing in water...asked for a discount,,the owner laughed and said what do you expect for cheap rates...would not accommodate us in any way...had the check out by eleven without showers or baths.

Helpful?
1 Thank jwgarrett
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, I am sorry you did not have a good stay back in the fall. I am surprised by the manager's attitude. Generally speaking, if our room has a maintenance issue, that we cannot fix immediately for you, we will be happy to let you have a different room. Take care More 

Junction City, Kansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2014

The outside looks great. Neatly trimmed bushes, flowers, clean. It looked nice. Then we stepped inside our room. The musty smell was overpowering, fortunately we always pack incense. The air conditioner had two speeds - on and off; it was actually window air unit installed in the back of the closet. I was about to jokingly tell my husband "a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank IslandSquirrel
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Front Office Manager at Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello dear guests, I am sorry you were not pleased with your stay last fall. We are continually trying to make improvements. We experience all the same issues that other properties new and old experience, such as intermittent insects sneaking in, mildew, and inefficient HVAC units. However, we really strive for excellent cleanliness and friendly service. Take care More 

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#46 of 62 in Asheville
997 reviews
SpringHill Suites Asheville
#45 of 62 in Asheville
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Asheville
#43 of 62 in Asheville
217 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned motel , originally built in 1930's with leftover blocks from the Blue Ridge parkway construction project. Mountain man neon sign has been designated a historic landmark. Centrally located in the beautiful mountains of Asheville, NC. The property has been featured in many motion pictures throughout the years. The main building has "old fashioned" rooms with original cedar walls, and tiled bathrooms. The newer portion has extra large rooms with two double beds. All rooms have fridges, coffee pots and wifi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountaineer Inn

Address: 155 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1887
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: RM268 - RM380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountaineer Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mountaineer Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay on upper level to the right of the office to be away from traffic in/out from main road.”
 of 5 bubbles buffalogail, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“either at the front or at the back in the annexe, all good”
 of 5 bubbles capricornia52, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in front are easily accessible if you have a lot of luggage.”
  • Queen bed and bonus recliner.
 of 5 bubbles B2306OTkateg, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The '50's" rooms are personable and close to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanA710, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Its quieter in the back”
 of 5 bubbles MissionSpirit, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay