We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostelling International - Boston

Hostelworld.comUS$89*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostelling International - Boston
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

928 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 572: English reviews
Start your review of Hostelling International - Boston
 Click to rate
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This Place is awesom, very contemporary.+ VERY stylish. Very clean &super safe. It fits the neighborhood perfectly. I have stayed in hostels from cuba to france. To argentina. The price for services can't be Beat in downtown Boston. I have stayed in super shady hostels all around the world. (Seriously Super Shady) Also stayed in Hostels that seem like old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corey S
HI Boston H, Front Office Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review

So many travels you've done, thank you so much for staying with us and i am so happy you enjoyed our hostel. We strive to make your experience worth your money from location to food and everything to make your stay a great one. Safe travels EM

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have booked this hostel because of it's outstanding location and all the great reviews. But just one day before my departure one of my friends called me and asked me to stay with her during my visit. The website I made the booking on stated I would be charged for up to $56 because it is the day before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mehraneh K
HI Boston H, Front Office Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review

We are so Happy we were able to help. EM

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Near down town, near Metro, orange line Chinatown and tuft station, also Silver4. I took SL1 from Logan airport then to south station then 2 transit red and orange line to Chinatown station and walked to Hotel easily and free!!! Hotel is easily found around the corner. Lobby is large for everyone can share. Staff is the best,they friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suteetunpao
HI Boston H, Front Office Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review

Hello thank you for staying with us. I am happy to hear that you were happy with your stay. thank you for the feedback EM

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is by far the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in! Free towels (if you ask), an elevator, added security features, modern design, cleanliness, wheelchair accessibility, numerous breakfast options, proximity to tourist destinations, and proximity to public transit all make this a fantastic, yet affordable place to stay. The hostel is located on a busy street with constant police sirens,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K_bu1
HI Boston H, Front Office Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback. I am so happy you enjoyed our location and hostel amenities. I am glad the mistake was caught and resolved but i am sorry you had to go though it. Please don't let this discourage you from having a better experience next time. We can get it right...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I got lucky here, this is a fairly new hostel and you can tell, its finished to a really good standard with amenities and décor. the rooms as with any hostel international are basic, bunks with clean linen. But this is great as Hostel includes towel and have maids cleaning the ensuite daily, fresh linen and towels on request each...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PDHoliday2015
HI Boston H, Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you so much for such a great review! We are very pleased you enjoyed our hostel and what we offer. As you mentioned we tried our best to offer free or low cost activities and events to our guests. Hope to see soon again!

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights in a double-room with our own bathroom. We were in Boston for some days of sightseeing and traveling and a week-long conference. The room was nice: we had two separate beds (bunk beds), a small table and enough space (quite large indeed). The bathroom and room were clean, lots of fresh towels and pillows. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Limmattaucher
HI Boston H, Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review, it's so great to hear from our guests their inputs on our hostel. I'm glad you enjoyed our accommodations, even though it was noisy as we are in the city and it can get loud at times. Thank you for your suggestions on breakfast. Unfortunately, due to the storage space limit, we offer locker...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived to HI - Boston around 5pm on a Thursday, after a train ride from New York, after reading reviews about this place I was confident this would be a great place to stay, I was sadly mistaken. When we got to reception we were greeted with 'ID'. No hello, welcome or even a please. The young man behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun P
HI Boston H, Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review

It seems like we missed the mark on what you were looking for at HI Boston and I apologize for that. If at all possible, if you could please contact me directly with the website that guaranteed two twin beds in a private room? I would really appreciate that as that is not a private room we have to offer...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last week me and four other students were attending a political summit on Saturday. It was my first experience at a hostel and I must say it will definitely be the last. I had never been treated so poorly anywhere. I believe the desk attendants name was Louis, anyways we had shown up around 8:45 pm. I have never experienced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Konnor O
HI Boston H, Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review

Sorry for the experience you had at HI Boston. We pride ourselves on being able to take care of our guests and help with any guest issues that we reasonably can. Unfortunately checking 5 people into two beds is something we just cannot do. To answer your question, since you did not check in there were no charges made to...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I mean this place is nice enough, it clean, the staff are helpful but the problem with the HI hostel franchise is that they don't allow you to drink or consume drink on the premises.. really this being the case, it isn't a true hostel. What annoys me is that it great good reviews, more specifically good reviews on atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philrj
HI Boston H, Front Office Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are a dry hostel because we get young people from ages 18-20, Unfortunately they would not be able to drink due to the U.S laws. Which is why we offer so many places to go, the next time you come we can recommend some places where the...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2017

easy to find, easy to check in and very easy to get on with. the staff are great and not pushy at all, the place is very clean and rooms are brill with your own light and socket to charge your phone. plenty organised if you want to join in or do your own thing. very secure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k_doocey7
HI Boston H, Front Office Manager at Hostelling International - Boston, responded to this review

Thank You so much for staying with us. so happy we were able to make it a nice one. EM

620 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (348)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (154)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Floor Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Four Bed Room (25)
Viewed
Private Room (39)
Viewed
Six Bed Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
1,663 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
7,064 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,597 reviews
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown
The largest area of the city, Downtown is rich with historical and iconic sites in Boston. Stroll through one of Boston’s most famous green spaces, the Boston Public Gardens, check out and make way for duckling statues, picnic under a beautiful tree overlooking the pond, and walk over the iconic footbridge where, during summer time, you will catch a swan boat toting children and eager tourists through the pond. Have your camera ready to capture its peaceful beauty in the middle of a bustling city. Continue on through the Gardens and take in some open green space at the Boston Common, where you can spend time throwing a frisbee, sitting on a park bench, or, in the winter time, skating on the frog pond. Head north from the end of the Common to see the golden dome of the State House, and travel through government center to Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall, both a historic and popular destination worth a quick visit for a first time to Boston. Head to Long Wharf to visit the Aquarium, or catch a boat to Charlestown or even Cape Cod.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clean contemporary hostel with great amenities including free linen, continental breakfast and WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Boston

Address: 19 Stuart St., Boston, MA 02116-4723
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Price Range: RM248 - RM1,312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Boston 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International - Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostelling International - Boston staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Hostelling International - Boston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“313 had a decent view of Tufts Dental School”
Josh_Cho, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I prefer the female rooms so I can change in the room and don't have to use the restrooms to change”
rachele598, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“try to avoid rooms at the street, it can be very loud, or close your windows at night.”
lesleytkleij, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
XeHHXe, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They have single rooms, but they go fast. You need to book well in advance.”
  • You need to talk to your bunkmates about turning off the lights, or sleep with lights on.
  • 6-bunk bed room, as I am settling into my bed
  • This is a typical bunk. They give you a towel for the shower
Sam837250, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$89* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$137
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates