We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Western Inn & Suites

Booking.comUS$87*
View Deal
#133 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$99*
US$87*
US$99*
US$87*
US$99*
US$87*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Western Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 306: English reviews
Start your review of Western Inn & Suites
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

located just about 2 block from old town local shopping and attractions. NO POOL. Pay for covered parking,( 8 dollars) for the stay. Worth it since old town is so close. Rooms are very clean (no carpet). Large room, Good price. free Wi-Fi, Free OJ, coffee, muffins and frosted flakes or honey nut cheerios in the morning. SELF LAUNDRY ROOM,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fynsync
San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is walking distance to all the bars, restaurants and attractions in old town. I loved staying here. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and when I asked for information they were very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank purpleroses365
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location was perfect, very central. Close to transportation and restaurants. Staff very helpful. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. We have been coming here for the past 10 years, and they are consistent. Upgrades to rooms have modernized the look. Definitely, a good place to return. We stayed 5 days, after we had checked out, forgot jean jacket behind,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pazena
California, USA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

nice 2 star hotel, short walk to old town. free street parking or basement parking for a small fee. free wifi. last minute free upgrade received. midweek discounts on internet hotel sites. recommended meutermedia

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeuterMedia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this hotel is close to old town, within walking distance. clean, loved that there was a laundry facility right outside our door, and very cost effective. wonderful for a single family income to enjoy the sites.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank missyt50
Reviewed 28 March 2017

The western inn was great. When I went on the website to reserve the room I chatted with a nice helpful lady! After she answered all my questions over the chat and I was ready to make the reservation she asked me to call! The whole processes was fast and easy! I mentioned to her that it would be our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Perla H
Carrollton, Texas
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We visited during Spring Break, so prices everywhere were very high. We thought we had booked a room that would accommodate 5, but found out that it only had 2 queen beds. Perla, at the front desk, was wonderful about helping to get us into a room that had a sleeper sofa so we could be comfortable. Her willingness to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jep1225
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Clean, safe, and close to the trolley, shops and places to eat. Historical places are well within walking distance. The proprietors are friendly and helpful. I will definitely be staying at the Western Inn again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We were put in a handicapped room that we did not ask for. No carpet. The floor was never mopped so it remained dirty. The towels were like sand paper. There were three of us but not enough face towels. We used the coffee cups and glasses and left them to be cleaned but they remained dirty. Covered parking yes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loveagoodstay
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We are also sorry that you did not like our new wood floor but we will look into the floor on why it was dirty our housekeepers does a great job but it this was over look we are sorry about that.

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

I had a great stay at the Western Inn & Suites. I did not book the room in advance and needed a last minute hotel due to other lodging arrangements not working out. The staff was very friendly and was quick to respond when I needed something. The area was quiet and the hotel was well lit so I felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schambl1

281 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
King Non-Smoking (35)
Viewed
Oversized King Bed (29)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Two Queens Non Smoking (24)
Viewed
Two Queens with Sofa Bed (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located walking distance to OLD TOWN, Trolley line and close to all major attractions. All rooms comes with free wireless internet, Continental breakfast, coffee maker, and iron. You can walk out and explore over 150 international shops, historic landmarks theme restaurants and art galleries. The San Diego Convention center and Gaslamp is only 10 minutes from the hotel.The Western Inn is just 3 miles from San Diego Airport and 1/2 mile from MCRD. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Western Inn & Suites

Address: 3889 Arista St, San Diego, CA 92110-3004
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: RM336 - RM853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Western Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Western Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Inn And Suites
Western Hotel San Diego
Western Motel San Diego
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#31 Green Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Western Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Mansfield Center, Connecticut
over a year ago
over a year ago
over a year ago
Lethbridge
over a year ago
Winnipeg
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Western Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on top floor. Generally, the hotel is very quiet.”
pazena, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't use the pictures on the website as a guide.”
Loveagoodstay, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Suggestion: Add an additional television in the master suite sitting/dining room area. Although there is a t.v. is in the bedroom, I wake up early I don’t like to turn the t.v. on because I don’t want to wake my husband up. ”
Y7859LFlisab, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“King room , two beds”
paolohappy, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“walking distance to Old Town, short ride to zoo, & airport”
yayayai, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$87* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$87
Orbitz.comUS$87
TripAdvisorUS$87
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates