We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

715 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
See the most recent reviews
Showing 683: English reviews
Saint Paul
Reviewed 29 April 2016

There is no soap dispenser or soap of any type provided at the sinks. The ONLY soap in the unit is in a dispenser in the walk in shower...so when you use the toilet, plan to remove your socks so they don't get wet while you walk into the shower to squirt bath gel on your hands, then out to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dorans892
Rancho Cucamonga
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Shower was broken and soap dispenser didn't work but location was great, room was pretty clean, bed was comfy, bath robes were nice, amenities were good, complimentary prosecco, loud sound system, black out blinds

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atessmer
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant time staying with us, and you appreciated the amenities and other little things we offer our guests. We do our best to bring out the best of our location, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed it as well. We will look into the...

North Hollywood
Reviewed 27 April 2016

This hotel is in a great location, and the staff is very friendly. The rooms were ok - they appear to be top end in the photos, but we were greeted with a lot of broken knobs and missing amenities. Overall though it was a comfy place to sleep and a great location for touring around San Diego. Also note,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ces493
Andi C, Front Office Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you Ces493 for taking the time to review your stay with us! It is such a pleasure to hear how friendly you found our staff to be, and we will be sure to share your positive feedback with them. Located in the heart of the Gaslamp, we are in fact walking distance to all the local nightlife and attractions...

New York
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Did not love the concrete floors or mirror on the ceiling; felt cold and uninviting--definitely a strange hotel. The staff was nice and friendly and location was central--but in a more corporate feeling district a mile from the water.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 176492aa
Andi C, Front Office Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Keating Hotel. We absolutely understand that different travelers have difference preferences in design when choosing their hotel. Our hotel is not your typical hotel design - sealed epoxy flooring, exposed brick, modern furnishings, mirror ceilings, and urban views are just a few elements of the rooms. Our goal...

San Fernando
Reviewed 26 April 2016

the greeting was great friendly staff. i got a suite but door knobs was messing, tv and radio didnt work, shower knob broken, there was things listed on the website that was not in the room... ect. over all i give it a low 3 stars

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank funtimes692016
Andi C, Front Office Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Keating Hotel and bringing to light areas for improvement. I am extremely concerned to hear that you had multiple mechanical issues throughout your room. I would love the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your experience and identify how we...

Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

My girl and I stayed at the Keating for a friends birthday celebration and it was fantastic. Not only is the Keating in a great location, right In the middle of the Gaslamp, the design style is hip and boutique and our room was more like a suite. And the staff was awesome, Matt welcomed us with personal attention that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Dear Rick, We appreciate you taking the time to write your 5 Star Review of the Keating Hotel. We are happy you celebrated the birthday with us, and you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of the Gaslamp District, as well as the unique decor of our hotel. Thank you for recognizing our hard working staff as well, especially...

Greenville, NC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Room - unique. My brother was traveling with me. Not the best choice of hotel given the open floor plan (no door on the shower that opens up to the room, but there are large curtains). Wouldn't find anything wrong with the choice for a couple traveling for fun. Location - center of the Gaslamp District. So much great dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gman8382
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear we were able to help make your trip to San Diego a pleasant one. Our proximity to so much of what Downtown has to offer makes us a favorite of our guests, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed it as well. Our staff takes great pride in the...

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We came off a cruise in San Diego and had made reservations at the "Keating" based on a computer search. On board a fellow passenger said, hope you like it with all the noise. NEVER happened! We were booked in a room on the top floor and were not disturbed by the people enjoying themselves at the many restaurants and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cryptoman
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you had a pleasant time staying with us here at The Keating Hotel. As you saw, our staff works hard to make sure our guests have a great experience. We will be sure to share your kind words with them, they deserve the recognition! We are pleased that you enjoyed...

Canton, Ohio
Reviewed 20 April 2016

I realize The Keating is a boutique hotel but it is no where close to a 4 star hotel, I stayed in a standard penthouse room on the top floor. (don't be fooled by the term penthouse) The carpeting in the halls & steps is deplorable, (old and dirty) the elevator can barely make it to the top floor (there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rbeck44709
Andi C, Front Office Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you Rbeck for taking the time to review your experience and provide feedback on your stay. We absolutely understand that different travelers have different design preferences when choosing their accommodations, and we are sorry to hear that ours was not to the style that you prefer. Our hotel is located in the Keating Building - built in 1890, it...

Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewed 19 April 2016

The rooms have nice look to them, however the counter is stainless steel and there isn't any carpeting. If you can get past the wide open shower I the bedroom, you will love this hotel. I thought it was well furnished. The hallway rugs were awesome. It houses the oldest elevator in San Diego. The lobby is very historic looking....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MsLadyVader
Steven M, Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant time staying with us. Our unique history is something we are proud of, and we are pleased that you appreciate it too. We do our best to bring out the best of our location, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed it. We hope...

324 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (238)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Chic Loft Suite (57)
Viewed
Imperiale Suite (42)
Viewed
Stanza Vista (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
The Macallan Suite (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#67 of 278 in San Diego
1,437 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 278 in San Diego
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Address: 432 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6118
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: RM865 - RM2,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Decatur, Georgia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Spa rooms are a treat!”
 of 5 bubbles debbfox, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors will have less noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles 195meghanf, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You will hear and maybe feel the music from Patricks if your room is close to that side.”
 of 5 bubbles shdan, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful views from the top Left Corner room”
 of 5 bubbles 358lexieg, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Face the street for views of the action, but noise to match...”
  • Corner room - great size!
 of 5 bubbles RSebastianxy, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5