We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lucky D's Hostel

Booking.comUS$73*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Lucky D\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lucky D's Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 526: English reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

I'm home in my Atlanta apartment tonight and I miss Lucky D's! I was a little nervous to stay there because I'm kind of shy, and it was my first hostel experience,but staying at Lucky D's was my fave part of my mini SD vacation. I only stayed for 2 days. The room was so cozy and the people were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SaraInReaLife
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Sara, we miss you right back!! I really loved reading this, and I appreciate you taking the time to write a recommendation. Looking forward to seeing you again next year for more chocolate chip waffles and hanging out! Cheers, Pete

Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed in many different hostels during my road trip but this hostel is definitely one of the cleanest and friendly hostel i have ever stayed in. The employees name, kenza and sumiya, were super friendly and always smiling. Loved the place and will definitel comeback when i am in san diego area. TWO THUMBS UP!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nam Kyun K
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

It's great that you enjoyed your stay here, Nam -- thanks for trusting us to make you comfortable while you were in the area! I'll be sure to pass your kind words onto Kenza and Sumiya. We'll see you again when you're in the area -- I hope it'll be soon. Safe travels, Pete

Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

One of the best months of my life. I met people from everywhere. The staff was also super easy going. I can consider it my home in San Diego. Activities everyday, parties,people share a common place. I was there for an extraordinary month

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesús C
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

So glad you decided to stay with us, Jesús. Can't tell you how happy it makes us to read that you enjoyed yourself so much. It means so much to us that you consider our place home when you come to San Diego. Can't wait to have you visit us again. All the best, Pete

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Lucky D's was my first-ever hostel experience, and it was truly amazing. I came to San Diego for a job interview and I was just looking for a cheap place to stay. I had no idea that I would end up having one of the best weeks of my life. It's located right in the middle of Gaslamp district with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cory L
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

We're so glad you stayed with us when you came in town for an interview, Cory. There's nothing like seeing a great city and socializing with all its wonderful natives and visitors. Hope you'll be back to visit us the next time you're in San Diego. All the best, Pete

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

I came hard twice once in august and then September after being in Vegas. This hostel is great when staying in San Diego, it so close to town and the gas lamp area, and so much to do even in the hostel! With tv room and a common room. Also good is provided most evenings to customers which is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh H
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

So glad you've stayed with us twice, Kayleigh. Happy to hear that you were able to have a good time and see the city while you were here. Hope you'll be back soon. All the best, Pete

Sierra Madre, California
Reviewed 27 May 2015

My cousin and I stayed at Lucky D's for one night so we wouldn't have to drive back to Pasadena after the Stone's concert. We booked a private room for about 35 each. The room was clean and basic as expected from a hostel. It seems like most everyone else staying there were there for longer terms. The hostel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mahncherie
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

So glad you guys decided to stay with us when you were visiting. Sounds like we were able to show you a good time for the short time you were here. Hope you'll be back to see us again soon. Until then, Pete

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2015

I went in September and it was really hot! The rooms didnt have air conditioning and it was extremely loud when the windows were open. It was ok for the price but i wouldn't be back in a hurry! The breakfast was nice and the staff were ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katherine l
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry you felt it was a little hot and noisy at our place, Katherine. It can get hot in San Diego and being downtown doesn't allow us to have the quietest environment. We hope you'll understand this the next time you need a place to stay int he city. All the best, Pete

Reviewed 17 May 2015

I had a remarkable time at Lucky D's! You'll find there everything you need: clean, safe room, wi-fi, good food, on top of it helpful and friendly stuff! Especially Ben, who is very committed, funny and helpful. He showed us the nightlife and recommended other sightseeing attractions in San Diego. There is much to see because the hostel is in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kasia B
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

So glad you had a wonderful stay with us, Kasia. It's always great to hear that our guests are able to feel right at home when visiting this beautiful city. Hope you'll be back to see us when you're in town again. All the best, Pete

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2015

Our stay at the Lucky Ds Hostel was one of the best I have ever experienced. Ben was helpful from the start by advising us on places to visit and where to avoid. Each evening the common room was a great place to hang out and meet new people- Ben and a few other people from the Hostel always ensured...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JenH22
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Wow, Jen! This is quite the review. We're so lucky you decided to stay with us. Our place gets all its character from our visitors, and the same can be said about you. Thanks for joining in our shenanigans. Hope you'll be back soon. All the best, Pete

Reviewed 8 May 2015 via mobile

We booked a room in this decent hostel in which we'd stayed before. Previously it had been a good deal and a great location. One drawback was the water wasn't always warm for the shower but everything else met standards for the good price we paid. This trip was problematic as Michelle sent an email about a month after I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ZombieJughead
LuckyDsHostel, Owner at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you felt we were dishonest with you. We are not in the business of scamming people, and we you understand we went through all the necessary steps to make sure we handled this properly. If you would like to speak with us further about this, please give us a call: (619) 595-0000. All the best, Pete

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
1,903 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come for the party! Stay because it feels like home. Lucky D's Hostel is a top San Diego hostel, and it is a guaranteed good time. When is the last time somebody promised you that? Lucky D's is fun, comfortable, clean and safe. It has an amazing atmosphere and a perfect location. Lucky D's has a wonderful team on staff. They are knowledgeable, helpful and will make sure you have a good time. San Diego is a fantastic city and Lucky D's is in the middle of the action. There are fun things to do every day, a party every night. We are conveniently located just steps away from the Gaslamp District, home of San Diego's hottest nightlife, restaurants, bars and shops. It's close to all of the city's attractions and the best beaches are a quick bus ride away. With Lucky D's, you'll have so many new friends you won't know what to do with them all. Why are you still reading this? Go make a reservation already. Lucky D's Hostel in San Diego has it all and we're waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lucky D's Hostel

Address: 615 8th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6405
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Price Range: RM148 - RM426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lucky D's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Lucky D's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky d`s Hotel San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lucky D's Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Lucky D's Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can, ask for rooms on the side of the kitchen / bathrooms.”
shimishredel, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“414 - private and near 2 v. clean BRs. Thin walls; window opens above kitchen/common area, but didn't bother me.”
chloeshanley, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“4th floor rooms most quiet but only private rooms available, no elevator”
CTWB, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No elevators available.”
kevinbX6435NJ, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avoid rooms facing 8th ave unless you like to spectate as homeless folk argue about minor incidents of disrespect”
HumanVector, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$73* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$73
TravelocityUS$73
Orbitz.comUS$73
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates