We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Handlery Hotel San Diego

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Handlery Hotel San Diego
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,089: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was like being in a shoe box with a bathroom. The bed is super small but, the staff was very nice. The room service was decent and they did offer us a ride to our next location. It was fine for an over night stay and would be ok for a single traveler.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had to stay in a hotel due to water damage in my apartment here in San Diego. I had a very difficult time dealing with my property manager & the insurance but the staff at Handlery were exceptionally helpful. I originally called & spoke with Luke in the reservations dept. who was by far one of the most patient...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tyren_Fox808
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in 11/17/16. The night clerk put us in a room facing the parking lot. The room was heavily sprayed with harsh cleaning fluid. I asked the night clerk if he could change our room, even though there were many available rooms, he refused to move us.This guy was a real jerk and was very unhelpful and may have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfrancisco
Kirk S, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Alfrancisco; Thanks for your comments about your stay. I am sorry that you experienced poor service and bites during your stay. Rest assured I will address our night staff on their lack of service to you. We are very proactive about bites at the hotel and I am sorry you didn't let us know while you were here. We...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff is what make this hotel. We found the hotel was great for getting us to our location as it has a shuttle service but there isn't anything that is walking distance to get to go out for tea as we didn't have a vehicle to drive in. The hotel is outdated, the rooms and beds are small and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lattebuddy
Kirk S, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review

Dear lattebuddy; Thanks for your comments about your stay. We appreciate and value your feedback. I will pass on your thanks, as well as mine to Lupe and Erick for their efforts. I do understand your comments about our outdated rooms. The good news is we are renovating in October of 2017 and will undergo a complete guest room renovation...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had trouble unloading a lot of large items in through the front doors of the Handlery for a trade show, but Ameer helped out and even assisted in things when he saw I was in need of another set of hands. Way above and beyond! Thanks Ameer, that is real customer service that the Handlery should be proud of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guyn394
Kirk S, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review

Dear guyn394; That was so nice of you to applause Atheer for his assistance to you! I will pass on your thanks, as well as mine to him for his efforts. Thanks for taking the time to recognize him. we look forward to your return! Kirk Shearer General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A great location is its only good point. The room was tired, there was no water pressure in the shower and most of the staff were not very friendly. The breakfast at the adjoining resturant was good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
Kirk S, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Matt S; Thanks for your feedback on your stay. I had our engineering crew check the water pressure in the room you occupied. I am sorry that it inconvenienced you. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals and that the staff met your expectations. We are starting renovations in October of 2017 so we hope you will...

Orange, CA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are small, tiny bathrooms, hotel needs to be upgraded. Staff is great, friendly, efficient. Lobby bar and restaurant have limited menus and hours, server was new but fast and friendly. This area needs to be remodeled and updated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
Kirk S, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Melissa M; Thanks for your comments on the hotel. We will be undergoing renovations soon for the lobby and bar areas, along with the pool decking and room corridors. We will begin complete guest room renovations starting in October of 2017 and we can't wait to show you our new look! We hope that you will revisit us then!!...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The location of this hotel was definitely a positive, it always seemed to be less than 15 minutes from where we wanted to go. The staff were also friendly and courteous and the breakfast were amazing along with their other available food. On the down side, the rooms are small and the beds doubles (not queens). Our room had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laffx4
Kirk S, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Laffx4; Thanks for taking the time to let us know of your stay. We appreciate your feedback. I am sorry you had a smell to your room. Rest assured, we put that room out of service and cleaned the carpeting so we don't have any more complaints. Thanks for letting us know. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed...

findlay, ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the hotel is older, but it is scheduled for a facelift soon. the pool is very large and nice....could have been a few degrees warmer. now for the important part.....the front desk staff is the BEST i have ever encountered. pleasant, thorough, non rushing....appreciative of your business. and the shuttle driver, Jeff, was great!! the location turned out to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillty
Kirk S, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Jillty; I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff services exceeded your expectations!! I will be happy to pass on your thanks, as well as mine to the Front Desk staff, Restaurant staff and Jeff, the Shuttle driver too! Thanks for choosing the Handlery Hotel for your stay and we can't wait...

Fresno, California
Reviewed 2 November 2016

This hotel is Motel Six of old. It`s clean enough. It`s big enough. Seems safe. Nothing fancy. The outside is nicer than the inside. Fortunately parking was included in the price or I would have chosen another place to stay. Breakfast is not included but the price is reasonable if you have AAA or some other discount.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
Kirk S, General Manager at Handlery Hotel San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Linda T; We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you back here again! Kirk Shearer General Manager

451 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (301)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Premier (41)
Viewed
Fairway Suite (50)
Viewed
King Premier (38)
Viewed
King Superior and Parlor (31)
Viewed
Pool Area (23)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,813 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#135 of 278 in San Diego
1,373 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Postcards American Bistro
Postcards American Bistro
Cuisines: Contemporary
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in San Diego's Mission Valley, the family-owned and managed Handlery Hotel is just minutes away from Sea World, the famous San Diego Zoo, Old Town, museums, shopping, and miles of breathtaking beaches. The hotel is known for its convenient location, comfortable accommodations and outstanding service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Handlery Hotel San Diego

Address: 950 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-2902
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Price Range: RM452 - RM958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Hotel San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Handlery Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Handlery Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Handlery Hotel San Diego staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Handlery Hotel San Diego staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no elevators, so make sure to mention that you want a ground floor if you have difficulties climbing stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles C2670TAhelenb, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a pool side room that worked out for us.”
 of 5 bubbles Marma2014, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Use uber to get to Gass Lamp quarter”
 of 5 bubbles JasonA518, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“great parking area that has a monitor and ticket enrty rooms very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles eed1011, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“back rooms are quieter but they all are pretty good.”
 of 5 bubbles stephenpI6990ZR, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay