We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Booking.comUS$149*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$170*
US$149*
US$170*
US$149*
US$170*
US$149*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 194: English reviews
Start your review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
 Click to rate
West Berlin, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here recently and I cannot say enough about the staff at the desk. My husband was not feeling well when we arrived and I had asked for a later checkout so that in case the following day he was still ill I could take our son to to zoo solo while he recovered in the room. They not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sciandra33
Brooke B, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Sciandra33! We're so happy to have had the opportunity to host you and make your stay fantastic. We hope your husband is feeling better!

Murrieta Ca
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We recently held our Rehearsal Dinner at this hotel in their beautiful room on the 16th floor. Beautiful view, great food and excellent staff. Tamika Jackson, Event Coordinator worked closely with us ro ensure that the event was perfect. Kenny, the Food and Beverage Manager was also very helpful along with the young lady who was the bartender. Most of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank beachbunny59
About Hotel's Favourite Review
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Beachbunny59, Thank you taking time out of your busy schedule to write this review! I will make sure to share this with the entire team. We enjoyed hosting your group at our property! We hope to see you again soon! Sonam C. Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Service was great rooms spacious clean and practical. Slightly dated but I stage of upgrade. Close to port, freeway and airports. Bed was comfortable and very large with soft pillows Valet parking available at cost

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme H
Brooke B, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Graeme H! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate you sharing your feedback, and we hope you'll visit us again once all room renovation are completed later this year. Happy travels!

Roseville, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Where to start.....let's see me room faces I-5 south which at night head lights through the curtains. Traffic noise is a steady roar, until a motorcycle rips by then it is even louder. The rooms have laminate flooring so every room echos. The maid decided to vacuum the neighboring room at 9pm for 30 minutes. The room doors are so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rusty c
Brooke B, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Rusty C! We're sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as comfortable as it could have been. We will be sure to address your comments with our staff.

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here last April 1st, the valet man asked me for parking fee which is $32 i gave them cash $35 when i checked out around 11am it was 2 white guy who is working that day. When i checked my CC i saw a charge exact amount of $32 added to my room charge. I asked my sister to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jakeandsam09
Brooke B, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Hi jakeandsam09. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're very sorry to hear about your predicament. The company who manages our valet is contracted by our hotel, so while they're not our direct employees, we can certainly get to the bottom of what happened. In contacting our hotel, please ask to speak to the General Manager...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here on business, so I am honestly not too sure of the rates. However, the rate TA is showing me seems very high for this hotel. The room itself was adequate, and I have no complaints. It's a very average room, perhaps a bit more modern than surrounding hotels. The problem is the location, it's not in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew S
Brooke B, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Andrew S. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. While we're not in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, we do try to compete on price, as you are correct in mentioning that we are in a different area of downtown. During your next stay, we're happy to share with you some of...

washington dc
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Stayed here 2 nights will not stay again. It is within walking distance of the marina and stores but the walk is littered with "skid row" types and the smells that accompany such individuals. The hotel itself is very dingy and in need of serious renovations. The two women who checked me in early were really great, however the man...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank reachteresa
Brooke B, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel, reachteresa. We apologize for the late shuttle and unfriendly evening staff. We will share your feedback with management to insure these issues do not happen again in the future. Unfortunately, there is a homeless problem downtown, creating an issue for not just our hotel, but all hotels...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 11 March 2017

I chose this hotel because it was a 5 minute drive from the cruise ship terminal. We were upgraded to a suite on the top floor without asking. It was nice- it had a king size bed, sitting area, and huge bathroom (no tub). If it wasn't a cloudy day the view would have been amazing through the floor-to-ceiling windows....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephanieK1333
Brooke B, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Hi StephanieK1333! We're happy to hear that you had a great experience during your stay. The views from the top floors are incredible, and we're sorry that the weather wasn't more favorable. We hope to see you again!

North Qld
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Never had such terrible service at a hotel....went to the lobby to purchase a $3 snack from their "pantry" adjacent to reception as there is no mini bar in the room - due to their being no credit card on file for our conference group the front office supervisor who was also the manager on duty insisted I return to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjaaus
Brooke B, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Hi jjaaus. We're sorry to hear that our hotel policy did not accommodate your needs. Unfortunately in these situations, we have to enforce the same rules for every guest, whether their purchase is $3 or $300. We respect all of our guests and want to provide them with a great experience, and we apologize for our policies not accommodating your...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

All in all a very nice hotel. No problems with the internet but the phone in the room didn't work. (They replaced it.) room service was timely and good. A little noisy, but not too bad for a business traveler.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuck I
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Chuck I., Thank you for taking time to write this review! We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay while in San Diego! We hope you stay with us again while visiting San Diego. Sonam C. Assistant General Manager

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (86)
Viewed
Bay View with King Bed (19)
Viewed
Bay View with Two Double Beds (12)
Viewed
City View with Two Double Beds (10)
Viewed
King Executive (19)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#71 of 279 in San Diego
553 reviews
La Pensione
#108 of 279 in San Diego
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown is located minutes from Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, and Seaport Village. Our guests can enjoy an onsite restaurant and bar, free WiFi, and a complimentary airport shuttle. Our San Diego hotel has a newly renovated lobby and restaurant, and guest rooms are currently being renovated as well. To stay in a renovated room, request a lower floor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Address: 1617 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-3003
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: RM622 - RM1,449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be careful Valet Man will Scam you and put the money in their pocket!”
jakeandsam09, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to ask for a view of the Bay!”
beachbunny59, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get a room on the higher floors and south side. We were on north side and could hear the traffic outside.”
jodylk, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“higher floors so you can be away from the freeway noise.”
RioE, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“a high floor as it's noisy. Right by the highway and flight path”
InkTraveller, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$149* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$149
TravelocityUS$149
TripAdvisorUS$149
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates