We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort

Show Prices
#54 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 362: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 15 July 2015

My wife and I celebrated our 55th wedding anniversary at the Kona Kai. The accommodations and staff were truly outstanding. It was a truly outstanding get-a-way. Would strongly recommend the Kona Kai for anyone's special events or just a relaxing kick back time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamcE733GK
L_Apichell, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for affording us the chance to share in such a celebratory milestone, and congratulations to you both! We're delighted to hear that our services and comforts set the stage for an even more memorable getaway, and we wish you much joy and happiness in the years to come!

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Had a very nice time at the resort. Swimming pool is very nice and the restaurant is very inviting. Hotel front staff is phenomenal. Room furnishings are dated and maid service needs improving but overall stay was very pleasent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
L_Apichell, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the visit and outreach, Joe. It's always exciting to hear when our guest services leave such an indelible impression, and we appreciate your time in sharing with us here. With continued upgrades across our recently renovated property, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and to share a refinement that you're bound to enjoy!

prescott, United States
Reviewed 14 July 2015

First off, my wife and I love Kona Kai. This is our 4th vaca there. That said there were some issues. 1) They mixed up our res and we were given a harbor view, not the bay view reserved. They rented all bay view rooms and we could not switch. We were staying 8-days and felt like we did not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank David K
L_Apichell, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

We're pleased to have you as a valued, returning guest, David, and we apologize for these shortcomings of your recent experience. We will promptly share the feedback with our front desk team to explore and prevent such miscommunications from recurring, as we understand the frustrations you must have felt with your room assignment. As for the pool closure, it's unfortunate...

Portland
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Beautiful place and appreciated the lovely Hawaiian type scent flowing through the lobby upon arrival. We were greeted with and consistently provided with terrific, kind, pleasant customer service. Specific kudos to Chrissie, Dawson and Enrique! When we arrived, we were uncertain of our view choices so they kindly offered Enrique to escort us to three different rooms to narrow down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jostervo
L_Apichell, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

We're always excited to work with our guests to ensure optimal accommodations and views, and we're especially excited to hear the team's commitment to this came through so resoundingly for you. Thanks for taking the opportunity to share so thoughtfully with us here and for being such a valued guest of our Kona Kai Resort. We look forward to hearing...

Chula Vista, California
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Great service, wonderful location. Loved the view of Point Loma and the yacht basin. Loved the private beach on the yacht basin. Had a bonfire there one night. Nice view of San Diego bay on the other side of the resort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terjam2
L_Apichell, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

We're excited to have welcomed you and to have swept you away in our views and services! It's a pleasure to be able to share our one of a kind location with you and to have made this a memorable visit. Whether it's for a meal at our Vessel Restaurant or an overnight retreat, we'd love to welcome you back...

Shawnee, Kansas
Reviewed 8 July 2015

A beautiful place for a wedding. Everything very convenient. I would suggest you have Starbucks on sight as everyone was asking me if I knew where a Starbucks was . I would definitely stay there again if I am in San Diego.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drster2004
L_Apichell, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

We're humbled and excited to have been able to lend our site and services to your granddaughter's wedding and to hear the event was a memorable success. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back ... we'll work on expanding our coffee selection in the interim. Thanks for sharing!

Hawthorne, California
Reviewed 7 July 2015

My husband and I stayed after a wedding for 1 night only. We were checked in by Chrissie with a warm smile. She told me about all the amenities and a gave us a lovely room looking out to the bay. We relaxed and went to happy hour, which was highly recommended by Chrissie. The lobster quesadilla and fish tacos...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacki S
L_Apichell, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the visit and glowing recommendation of our team's warm hospitality, Jacqueline. We'll certainly take the opportunity to share this with them, and we're thrilled that this element of your visit was such a memorable one. Add to that, the acclaimed flavors of our Vessel Restaurant, and we're excited to have impressed you on all levels! It will be...

Shelbyville, Tennessee
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Upon arrival we were placed on the ground floor overlooking the marina. When I asked to be switched, we were accommodated immediately and put in a third floor room. Everyone from the bartender to the valet were very helpful and kind. For the money, it is a an updated resort with lots of atmosphere because of the view of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank farrars2
L_Apichell, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

It's such a pleasure to have welcomed and to have discovered a newfound fan in you. Thanks for visiting and taking the time to share such kind words of our guest services; we're pleased to enhance a stay in any way possible, and we're excited to have come through for you! We look forward to welcoming you back and hope...

Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay last month. Unfortunately a short stay but we'll definitely come back! Outstanding customer service by Chrissie at the front desk who made sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Also Minjoo when we checked in and Cristobal in the restaurant when we had brunch were to be commended for their great service! Lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillyjawn
L_Apichell, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Our team is deeply committed to offering guests an unrivaled hospitality, and we're excited to hear this dedication came through so resoundingly for you! It will be as much a pleasure to extend the kind words on your behalf as it will be to welcome you back, and we hope it won't be too long before travels return you this...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 3 July 2015

We only stayed here overnight for a graduation so this is based mostly on first impressions. The location is good and the staff are helpful. We had a room on the first floor and it was quiet. We were able to open our sliding glass door to the area where they have lounging chairs on a beach overlooking the harbour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
L_Apichell, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Albeit brief, we're pleased to have welcomed and to have shared this visit with you. With our renovations set to wrap-up in short time, we look forward to sharing a polished refinement across all facets of our property and guest rooms. We're committed to building truly memorable experiences for our guests, and we hope to further showcase this in San...

571 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Other (118)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (276)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
King Room with Pool View (37)
Viewed
Pool Area (24)
Viewed
Queen Room with Bay View (31)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#46 of 278 in San Diego
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,888 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Vessel Restaurant + Bar
Vessel Restaurant + Bar
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the tip of Shelter Island, the southern California vibe emanates at our beachfront hotel in San Diego. Sun, surf and sea create the tropical essence of our beachfront hotel in San Diego. With a rich history steeped in the beat and bravura of Polynesian and Spanish Colonial, Kona Kai Resort & Spa is a restyled creation of fresh, fun elegance punctuated by casual luxury. Fresh off a $22 million dollar transformation, the updated property features newly renovated bathrooms with glass enclosed showers in every guestroom, revitalized common areas and a luxurious spa, SpaTerre, offering the finest services from all over the world. Perfect for an executive meeting, a surprise getaway or a romantic wedding, Kona Kai Resort & Spa offers the right space for the right occasion. You'll find that space amidst quiet, private beaches, lush tropical gardens, astounding bay and marina views along San Diego's most magnificent stretch of waterfront. Relax poolside while you take in the view of Kona Kai Marina from the Tiki Bar or zip around the San Diego Bay on jet skis and see the city from a new perspective. Kona Kai Resort & Spa is the perfect place to start living. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort

Address: 1551 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3102
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: RM643 - RM2,651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Hotel San Diego
Kona Kai Resort San Diego
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#15 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This hotel is so intimate that anywhere you are is great!”
 of 5 bubbles marissamuniz, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles cabjr, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pretty location, but pricey for what you get.”
 of 5 bubbles luckyheather2016, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing away from the military base across the bay. It's noisy!”
 of 5 bubbles change4better, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for room at front of hotel, rooms at back of hotel overlook nothing but boats!”
 of 5 bubbles Davi933, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay