We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Residence Inn San Diego Downtown

Show Prices
#94 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 345: English reviews
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2014

This hotel is a little gem. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the location is excellent and the staff are exceptionally friendly and competent. We had an unexpected extended stay at the facility and could not have been more pleased. Even the quality and variety of the offerings at the buffet breakfasts and social hours were a pleasant surprise.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
Lakewood, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2014

We (my wife, teenage son & daughter, and mother-in-law) came to San Diego for a family wedding, and were looking for a nice hotel that all of us could fit in. We came across this property and, from the good reviews, decided to book it. I'm glad we did. While the price was high (high summer season), the suite was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Brad D
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2014

We visited San Diego area last weekend for a family wedding. We stayed at the Residence Inn for two nights. I highly recommend this hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful and gracious. Our suite and adjoining room were spacious and very comfortable. We slept very well. And, it was great to have a kitchen. How convenient! The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mavis E
Barrie Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2014

Great location for hotel. Close to waterfront. Rooms were comfortable clean and quiet. Hotel is located within an easy block walking distance to the waterfront. Breakfast was provided in the morning with ample fare to choose from. They maintain a pool on the property as well as rear patio area with outdoor fireplace were you can sit and relax. Free... More 

Helpful?
Thank machine57
mexicali mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Great location, comfy suite, with a view to embarcadero waterfront, includes kitchen, free wifi, breakfast... a $13 fee parking !!! Excellent for a Labor Day weekend, gaslamp walking distance 15 min, no need to drive, attractions are just around the corner !!

Helpful?
1 Thank traveljournals
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Downtown. We are truly in an ideal location and in close proximity of everything our great city has to offer. Please think of us again if you ever return to sunny San Diego. Thank you! More 

Topeka, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Like so many Marriott properties, this one needs a remodel. The carpet and floors look old. The place was crawling with pets. If you get a room on the back wall you will face the train tracks and have a full night of no sleep. There are lots of these rooms. You also want to be sure you are not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Spud973
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

We are sorry you had such a poor experience at our hotel. It appears we failed you in multiple items. If you would be willing to discuss this in further detail please give me a call at your convenience. I can be reached at 619-338-8200. Again, we are sorry for your poor experience at our property. More 

Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I made a trip to sea world and stayed here. When I booked the room I asked how far it was to Sea World and was told 1 mile, this was a lie. I asked for a private room, did not get it. When I arrived I was told my reservations were canceled but they would reinstate me for the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ALLATHA F
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings ALLATHA F, We greatly apologize about your negative experience you had at our hotel. We take this feedback very seriously and need to learn from what our guest tell us. I do have some questions if you have a convenient moment to follow up with me. I would like to better understand how we went wrong in order to... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We travel infrequently, and always have our choice of hotels, regardless of expense. This is our 5th or 6th year coming to San Diego and we ALWAYS stay at this particular hotel for the quality and value it offers. I own a real estate company with 30 agents, and was in the hotel and restaurant business for 10 years prior-... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fawn W
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

We cant thank you enough for your amazing review of Residence Inn San Diego Downtown. Our team are the true heroes that deliver service so memorable, guest such as yourself tell stories about them. We are very proud of our hotel and look forward you and your family returning to Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Downtown hotel. More 

Connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here three nights in a suite. Saved money by enjoying their great breakfasts and free shuttle service. Room faced train track in back, but it wasn't noisy. Walking distance to wharf attractions and restaurants. Best part was the amazing staff. Everyone (maids, drivers, reception, food servers) treated my family like their family. Manager should really reward such excellent staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings Diane S, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Downtown. We are happy you enjoyed our property and it many amazing amenities but more so, thank you for your great comments about our team members. We are truly lucky to have such a wonderful bunch of people taking care of our... More 

Cedar City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The parking lot was difficult to get into. July is a very busy month. The staff are very friendly. The family suites are very cozy and comfortable. It could use a remodel the floors in the shower are very slippery I almost got my head the times with athletic shoes on even. There is old looking carpet everywhere. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kourtney J
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Greetings Kourtney Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It appears some inconveniences occurred during your stay and we greatly apologize about that. Rest assured, our hotel was renovated in late 2012 and we strive to keep all of our hallways immaculate. Thank you for bringing all of your observations to our attention as we... More 

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#176 of 283 in San Diego
466 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#112 of 283 in San Diego
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown

Address: 1747 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: RM587 - RM1,289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn San Diego Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn San Diego Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The North side of the hotel is closest to the airport and a bit noisier.”
 of 5 bubbles barbienana3, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 142marekr, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For best views, please choose rooms facing the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles 662hardiks, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front of hotel to avoid train noise”
 of 5 bubbles aussiefamilySydney, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The waterfront view from the high floors is great”
 of 5 bubbles W5026QTmarkh, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay