We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 345: English reviews
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 30 September 2015

The location and grounds are beautiful, and well maintained. If you are an outdoor person, wine enthusiast, or just need some quiet, this is the place to be. The owners are on property. They are warm, welcoming, and helpful. The staff and service are fantastic. We stayed in the Woodward House, our room was beautiful, quiet, comfy and felt like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeannine C
HLInnResort, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review

Jeannine C, Thank you very much for the fantastic review! We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and can't wait to see you again in May!

Inman, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 13 September 2015

A coworker recommended I stay here to celebrate my anniversary for a weekend. We wanted to go hiking nearby, so we decided to go with it since we'd never been stayed anywhere like it before. It's a lovely area. Very scenic and quaint. We chose to have a picnic by the lake and read for a while. It was nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Callie D
Debi S, Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review

Hi Callie, We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed a scenic picnic by the lake with your husband. That is one of our favorite spots! Did you know that the kayaks, paddle boats, and canoes are all complimentary, and can be used on our private 40 acre lake during your stay? And thank you for raving about your room’s bathroom…we...

Raleigh
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Several of us in our family met at Highland Lake Inn & Resort for a long, relaxing Labor Day weekend. We were in search of peace and quiet, cooler temps, friendly people, small town life and lots of nature. We got all of those things and much, much more! As luck would have it, we also were in town for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole B
HLInnResort, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review

Nicole B, Thank you very much for the great feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We take great pride in maintaining our resort and delighting our guests so it's always great to hear when a guest enjoys it as much as we do. Please come back and see us again soon!

Cape Town
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

The property is set beautifully naturally. The staff are friendly. But the stay was very expensive for what you get. In fact more expensive than our stay in New York for a week. Firstly the inclusions on trip advisor include breakfast but on check in your told it's 12.50. When we opened the cottage it was so musty that we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Helen874
Debi S, Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your input regarding your recent stay. We work very hard to ensure that all the cottages and rooms are not only immaculately cleaned, but well-aired prior to arrivals. The task is sometimes made more difficult when we have early check ins creating a short turn-around time for our housekeeping team, but we will keep working on...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 30 August 2015

That is the worst thing about the resort. Management says Monday is the lowest occupancy of the week and lawn care has to be done sometime. Naturally, Monday was our only full day there. Darn the luck because once we arrive we don't leave or why else would you go? The positives are: We stayed in a duplex cabin with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tedmc_12
Debi S, Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review

Hi Ted, Thank you for your kind words about our resort! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay. Like you said, Monday is our grounds maintenance day because it is generally our lowest occupancy day of the week. If you are here next time on a Monday, why not go out and enjoy some time on the lake, or take...

Seminole, Florida
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels and resorts and when we were quoted $225 per night for a duplex cabin I was expecting much much more for the expense. The room is extremely old as were the furnishings. The bed was as hard as a rock and the floors bounced when you walked from one side to the other. It...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 4lockwood
Debi S, Director of Sales at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review

We are very saddened by your review, but mostly shocked by your complaints that we are unable to substantiate after our careful inspection. As you can see by our responses on other reviews here, we seldom dispute a guest’s complaint, but rather look for the gift in the complaint that can help us improve for future guests. In this case,...

Brevard, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 August 2015

After spending a lovely Christmas at Highland Lake we came back to experience summer at this restful resort. Booked three rooms and this time we brought our dog so my husband and I stayed in one of the cabins which was rustic, but clean and well appointed and close to the pool and restaurant. My mother-in-law stayed in a handicap...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BabsOrlando
Debi S, Director of Sales at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your Christmas with us and then returning to enjoy the summer at Highland Lake Inn & Resort. All of our seasons are pretty spectacular! We hope you will continue to have many more return trips! Each time you will find something new and exciting. And each time you might be able to stay in...

Columbia SC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

They call themselves rustic and out of the way. It is rustic but also old. The most problematic part of this is for those like my wife and I was they are not handicap compliant. We had a very disappointing stay of two nights. The biggest problem was parking. The restaurant is good/expensive. They have a handicap drop off spot....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Barry G
Debi S, Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review

Hello, We are so sorry that your stay at Highland Lake Inn was less than you had hoped for. We strive to accommodate our guests with disabilities and offer not only handicap accessible rooms and handicap parking spaces, but also valet parking for guests who request it. Season’s Restaurant has a handicap ramp, as well as handicap compliant restrooms. Any...

Georgetown, South Carolina
Reviewed 15 August 2015

This is an oasis in the mountains. Very secluded and quiet. I've only stayed in the Lodge.Once upstairs and once downstairs because the steps to upstairs are too hard to climb for us older folks. The Woodward House would be very nice also. The Seasons restaurant on the premises is worth the trip in itself.The breakfast provided for residents of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aard123
Debi S, Director of Sales at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review

Thank you for feeling as we do of Highland Lake Inn & Resort – it is a wonderful oasis in the mountains! Any time you stay with us the feeling is always there, you have made it to the most peaceful and tranquil place. There is 26 acres of quiet but yet fun things to do as well as be...

Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

We went here for our family vacation. There are multiple lodging options. We stayed in the cabin rooms (rented a small and large so that we had the whole thing to ourselves). The rooms were not fancy, but very clean with comfortable beds. Right in front of our cabin were 2 swings and 2 hammocks and a huge yard for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JLB0115
Debi S, Director of Sales at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Highland Lake Inn & Resort for your family vacation. It sounds as though you enjoyed so many of the fun things to do with us! Yes, Season’s at Highland Lake is a wonderful farm to table restaurant. The buffet breakfast is a treat for each of our guests staying overnight. We are conveniently located to many...

393 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
6:43
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (290)
Viewed
Large Cabin Room (21)
Viewed
Large Lodge Room with a King and Twin Bed (38)
Viewed
Lodge Room with Balcony (24)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Small Cabin Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)
Viewed
The Woodward House (75)
Viewed
Woodward House Room with Fireplace and Patio (27)
Viewed
Woodward House Room with Patio and Fireplace (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
1.6 km away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
83 reviews
3.2 km away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
314 reviews
33.4 km away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
51 reviews
6.4 km away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
708 reviews
31.3 km away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#31 of 63 in Asheville
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since the early 1900s-when a group of visionary gentleman from the South Carolina low-country founded Highland Lake Club-the land that now comprises Highland Lake Inn & Resort has been attracting visitors looking for rest, relaxation and recreation. Set amid 26 scenic wooded lakeside acres in Western North Carolina, perhaps no other destination in Western North Carolina combines an authentic mountain experience with such an array of amenities and services. Each season offers guests something special, something unique, which beckons exploration. Our guests enjoy full access to our on-site amenities that will satisfy or exceed the expectations your family, group, or significant other. We pride ourselves on a unique brand of service-that's both anticipatory and responsive-to make sure you and your company enjoy everything we have to offer. Our amenities include dining at our award-winning Season's Restaurant; exploring our 26 wooded-acres either on foot or riding our complimentary bikes; discovering the 40-acre lake by fishing from the dock (catch-and-release) or boating using our complimentary canoes, kayaks and paddleboats; staying outdoors enjoying our swimming pool (Memorial Day - Labor Day), volleyball, tennis, horseshoes and badminton; heading inside to our family game room for pool, ping pong and foosball; or, relaxing with an in-room massage. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville

Address: 86 Lily Pad Ln, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9507
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Price Range: RM583 - RM909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Flat Rock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are a few cabin or cottage rooms available for people with small dogs. We really liked the character of the Woodward House.”
 of 5 bubbles KaraK132, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This place has cabins along with Rooms at the Inn”
 of 5 bubbles panama5419947, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the building out back, NOT the building closest to the office!”
 of 5 bubbles michaelbL5632LK, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would call them instead of relying on the site, which is awful.”
  • Room 10 in the Woodward house. Cozy by the fire.
 of 5 bubbles 23janiceg, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the cozy cottages but the accommodations for business and large family gathering are available.”
 of 5 bubbles maralycee, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5