We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
26 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$179
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/22
Expedia.com
US$179
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/22
Traveluro
US$147
View deal
ROW NYCUS$179
PricelineUS$179
travelup.comUS$191
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (5216)
Room & Suite (734)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 15/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 15/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#418 of 515 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
THE HOTEL The Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality among Times Square hotels by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur. Row NYC transforms your stay into a completely contemporary experience - with a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable. Outside the hotel, guests have access to anything and everything Times Square has to offer - 24/7. Inside, the Row NYC is a medley of inspired New York City amenities. Learn about ROW PASS - included as a Facility Fee Perk! Please note at this time we do not offer Valet parking. Self-parking is $45 and $60 for Vans / SUVs / Oversize vehicles. This is for a 24-hour period. The parking garage is called iPark. It is located 350 W 42nd St, New York, NY 10036 about a 6-minute walk from the hotel. Additional charges may apply if the 24-hour period is exceeded. Kindly check with the garage for the details. There are no IN/OUT privileges. Upon parking, you will receive a ticket from the garage. You will need to present this ticket to the Hotel Manager On Duty at the Front Desk preferably at the time of your Check-in. The Manager will “validate” your ticket online. It is all digital. No stamping or signatures required. You will get the above listed Discounted rate when you go to pay when exiting the garage (as long as you validated the ticket). Please note upon arrival the hotel will require a deposit prior to check-in. Credit card deposit:$100 per stay & Cash deposit of $250 per stay. In the event smoking is found in the room, incidentals will be applied towards the $500 smoking fee. For stays longer than 7 days the hotel system will obtain the CREDIT/DEBIT authorization on the entire stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
557Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
258Attractionswithin 0.5 km
26238Reviews625Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7,450
  • 8,322
  • 5,070
  • 2,690
  • 2,706
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Edinburgh Guy! wrote a review 19 Sep
Edinburgh, United Kingdom8 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
This was my third stay at the ROW after a couple great stays prior. when we walked in the entrance the smell of urine is very strong and stayed there the length of our trip. When checking in the staff serving us was okay.. nothing special. When we got to our room it was filthy!! Covered in dust. Door frames, walls and furniture all chipped. The iron board was dirty and what looked still poo was rubbed on the bathroom wall! I mentioned all this to the reception who then didn’t even let me finish my sentence before telling me there’s nothing she can do and house keeping won’t be back until tomorrow so we have to stay in this filthy room! The end of the following day we return to the room after housekeeping but the room was still filthy! I was shocked at this given my previous stays where great. The hotel rooms are small but modern. Just very used looking and dirty. We paid £500 for two night plus tax and could have got something much better for this. I plan to visit New York again next year and can guarantee I will not be back at this hotel. Genuinely the only positive thing about this hotel is it’s location. There is a small snap on the hotel which is always empty… probably due to how expensive it is. There’s local shops with 5 mins walking which sell same items for half price or more. This was my third and final visit at the ROW and will not be recommending it. I’d actually like to be compensated money back for the filth.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us, Edinburgh. We're disappointed that your experience with us was anything less than ideal. It's also unfortunate you've noticed a decline in the quality and condition of our accommodations. We care about the comfort and satisfaction of our guests so we'll address all of your concerns with the appropriate members of our team so that we may improve moving forward. We hope to see you again soon so we can share a more positive experience that our guests are accustomed to.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackz G wrote a review 16 Sep
1 contribution
I originally booked this hotel for 2 nights but after reading reviews I changed to just 1 night. However, I should have kept my reservation for both nights. My stay was pleasant, from checking in all the way to checking out. The room and bathroom were clean. The room was small but had everything we needed. Bed and pillows were comfortable. We had a great stay. Cant complain at all. I will definitely stay again. The only thing I agree with other reviews is that the hallways are dark.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing the review with us, jackzg2022! We're happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at ROW NYC. It's wonderful to know that you appreciated our clean accommodations as well as our comfortable bedding. We strive to create a memorable experience for each of our guests and we're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you're in town. Thanks again for providing us with your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bharris158 wrote a review 14 Sep
1 contribution
Really enjoyed where we were located just on the other side of time square. The room was small of course but it was clean and perfect for our needs, just wish there was a mini fridge. Had a great experience and would stay there again! Thank y’all!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the fantastic rating, bharris158! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at ROW NYC and appreciated our ideal location and cleanliness! We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service to our guests at all times so it's very pleasing to hear that we were able to accommodate you during your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in the future! Thank you again for taking the time to share your review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bryan K wrote a review 13 Sep
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This by far is the worst hotel experience I have EVER had. To start the staff at the hotel are anything but hospitable, from the front desk staff, bag check, and GM every encounter was extremely rude and unprofessional. In addition, the hotel is very dirty and need of TLC. When I got to my room I found a massive amount of hair on the drain to the shower. To resolve the issue, the GM very unapologetically told me he would have my bathroom re cleaned by housekeeping, which was done after two additional requests from me to the housekeeping team , the cleaning finally happens over an hour later.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay clear of the hotel!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We're sorry to hear that you had such a terrible experience at our hotel. We'll be sure to speak to our staff about the issues you encountered and try to do better in the future. As for the cleanliness of the room, we'll make sure to do a better job of cleaning in the future. Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
luca g wrote a review 10 Sep
Mosta, Malta8 contributions4 helpful votes
One thing was very very good about this hotel THE LOCATION.. 3/5mins aways from Times Square , the location itself has many shops , restaurants and broadway theater’s surrounding the are , so for that i give this hotel a 5stars . Apart from that nothing much more to get you excited about this hotel .. the layout and the furniture of the hotel could use abit of an upgrade for sure . Our room was small not very cleaned and the bathroom was the worst part . Staff were friendly and always helped us if you needed something.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We appreciate the feedback, M5993EKlucag. While we are glad you enjoyed our ideal location and friendly staff, we're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. It's unfortunate you've noticed a decline in the quality of our accommodations. We care about the comfort of our guests so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We hope for the opportunity to host you again soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrTreesy wrote a review 8 Sep
1 contribution
I'll start with the good things because it's the shortest list. The location is terrific, close to Times Square but not so close the noise or crowds will bother you, also incredibly close to the subway. Internet, TV and A/C were good. That's it. The rooms are small, furniture is cheap, broken or poorly repaired. There's no kettle, instant coffee, tea or anything that you'd commonly find in other hotels. The bathroom is small and very cheap hardware, especially the shower and the tub was stained. The towels, sheets and pillows are all incredibly cheap, you'd be better off bringing your own; mattress itself was fine at best. Elevators are slow, old and incredibly small. We stayed for 5 nights and not once was our room cleaned or restocked, despite repeatedly asking it to be done. Related, no one would answer at guest services or the front desk when calling from our room, it would ring endlessly. I managed to get fresh towels and soap but this was only after I hunted down a staff member cleaning another room. I also had a package delivered and spent 20 minutes trying to obtain it because the staff member refused to acknowledge it was for me, despite the name and billing address all matching, not to mention providing a copy of the invoice with tracking. When we were leaving the doorman offered to help me get a taxi at 2x the normal rate as if I was unaware. My advice, don't stay here even if location and value is good. They put all their money into lobby and nothing else. There are better options nearby and even more further away.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
It's disheartening to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. Our location is one of our most popular amenities, and we're glad you were able to take advantage of it. However, we're sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room or the level of service you received from our staff. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable room for all of our guests, and we apologize for falling short in this instance. Please know we have addressed your concerns with our management team so we may improve for the future. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a better experience in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Besuza wrote a review 5 Sep
Montreal, Canada18 contributions42 helpful votes
My wife and I did not sleep for three nights!! The bed was so small and uncomfortable. We couldn’t wait to get home and get a good nights sleep. The Row made our NY experience a total disaster and will never go back. To top it off the AC unit in the room was so loud !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We appreciate your feedback, Besuza. We're disappointed to hear that the size of our rooms and our bedding didn't meet your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with comfortable and relaxing accommodations, which is why this is so upsetting to hear. We've addressed your concerns with the appropriate members of our management team so we can ensure a more enjoyable experience in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patty M wrote a review 4 Sep
1 contribution
Nice experience! Very clean room. Awesome location. Plenty of space. Huge window with an excellent view of Times Square. Staff was helpful and courteous. Great price for this particular location. Would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the 4/5 rating, pattymW6992GQ! It's fantastic your time at the ROW NYC was so great! We're happy you appreciated our cleanliness, convenient location, spacious rooms, excellent views, and helpful staff. so much. We aim to please and your feedback lets us know we're doing our job! We strive for excellence so we look forward to hosting you again soon so we can share an even better experience with you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert J wrote a review 4 Sep
11 contributions3 helpful votes
Booked 4 nights via a travel agent (had a confirmation email/number), but on arrival they said there was no booking, despite showing the manager the confirmation he would not check us in and said we had to sort it out ourselves with the agent, which had closed by that time. We had no option but to book our two rooms again at $3000 as we had flown in from London and didn’t want to drag the family over New York, we tried booking via the hotel website but it was telling us there were no rooms despite being told by the manager that there was, so we ended doing it on booking.com. Staff weren’t particularly helpful and just kept saying there was nothing they could do - it appears that we weren’t the only ones who had this issue as some other travellers who arrived after us were told the same thing and my wife overheard the same issue the next day - ROW NYC you need to sort your booking system out as it’s seriously flawed! The hotel itself was looking tired in the public areeas but our rooms were okay at least! You’ll read loads of other comments about the lifts which were a nightmare, and one evening the lift we went in smelled really strongly of urine, where someone had obviously relieved themselves in there! I went to have a beer in the tiny bar on the first night to find that a beer was $13 dollars a pint - I went to a bar across the road and got one for $8, and if you want to save more just buy some in the convenience store opposite. I’ve stayed in NY on previous occasions and this is by far the worst experience I’ve had, on the plus side, the location is good if you want to be close to Times Square and right in the action, however it is non stop crowds and traffic in the area, so bear this in mind if you want somewhere a little more laid back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We're sorry to hear that you had such a terrible experience at our hotel. We would love to get more information from you about what exactly happened when you arrived, as well as the issues you had with our booking system and lifts. We would also love to know what we could do to improve your overall experience if you were to stay with us again in the future. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we hope to hear back from you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel B wrote a review 4 Sep
1 contribution
+1
Cons- the dimly lit hallways are probably dark so that you can’t see the source of the vomit-and-urine smell. It is not enough to hide the peeling paint, or broken outlets. Though it is advertised, the random cabinet shown below is what is supposed to be the ice machine. In the rooms, my deadbolt did not work, the outlets worked intermittently, and the AC would be turned off while we were out so we consistently came back to a stifling room. The bathroom was not well maintained, so the rusting fan did not work at all and the caulking was peeling from the tub joints. Finally, last day of the stay we had to forgo showers just to exit as quickly as possible since the water was spewing brown. Pros- great location. Soft bed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We appreciate the feedback, Rachel. It's unfortunate your stay in our hotel didn't exceed your expectations. We regret you weren't entirely satisfied with our furnishings and accommodations. We care deeply about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests so we'll address all of your concerns with our team moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$178 - US$411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityTimes Square / Theater District / Theater District / Times Square / Midtown West / Manhattan / Midtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1331
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Row NYC Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Row NYC Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Broadway (0.2 km), Times Square (0.3 km), and Come From Away (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Row NYC Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Row NYC Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Row NYC Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Row NYC Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Row NYC Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Frisson Espresso, Los Tacos No. 1, and Dos Caminos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Row NYC Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Row NYC Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Row NYC Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Row NYC Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (5.6 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (5.6 km), and Hamilton Park (2.7 km).
Does Row NYC Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.