We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Riff Chelsea

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we arrived in the middle of the day and found a man in our room. He said he was a mechanic and was sent by the manager. I asked him to go and he said that I had to talk to the manager. After talk to him, the mechanic went off. But he could steal something, there wasn't anybody with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ThaisTuyane
Mahopac, New York, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My fiancé set up this stay and he said it was an easy booking and couldn't beat the price. All we needed was a room for the night. The room seems clean and it was quiet around us, couldn't hear people. Ir also had a tv and bathroom. The only thing was when we arrived and I notified no towels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle L
somerset
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have just returned from 11 days here and the hotel isn't as bad as some of the reviews I have read. The location of this hotel is brilliant it is right in the middle of everything. If you have never been to new york I suggest a visit to madison square gardens the atmosphere is amazing and it's literally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kildarechick4
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

first to our arrival someone was assaulted opposite to the hotel, the access stairs is uncomfortable with the luggage, the room is extremely small and at night a mouse is went to bed while sleeping . The front desk staff had non care to this whole situation. Definitely NOT recommended... Next day I change my hotel and lost all my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike B
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed here whilst on a road trip around the states. The price and location were ideal, especially on our low budget. The rooms are nothing fancy, but they are clean and air conditioned which was all we needed for a good nights sleep. The showers and toilets are shared with the other guests, so you do have to wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

You ROCK! Thank you so much for sharing your experience and leaving such awesome praise. Based on your detailed feedback, we have a hunch your are a well traveled individual which makes your commentary even MORE valuable (and flattering!). Please don't be a stranger and let us know next time you are coming back to town so we can show...

Makati, Philippines
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Check established hotels near this such as Holiday, Sheraton or Hilton, you'll be surprised the rate is almost the same. Carpet is too dirty, room generally not clean, heater is centralised, aircon not working aside from the fact location is not safe. DID I MENTION NO ELEVATOR! So if you are travelling with "long haul" luggages, you will not have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank angeloteves14
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

Your criticism is appreciated. Feedback ALWAYS paves the way to improvement and we, no doubt, will be better because of your candor. We are happy to hear that you have alternative economical hotel options - we know how few and far between they are in NYC!

Flower Mound, Texas
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I needed to travel to New York on a slim budget and searched several properties that I was unfamiliar with. As stated, this trip was driven by low budget needs and booked a room at the Riff. It was only a few blocks from the convention center and the rate met my needs. I was surprised to find out that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jreger25
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

A HUGE thank you for taking the time to draft such an honest and fair interpretation of your RIFF Chelsea experience. There is nothing more motivating or rewarding than receiving critical feedback (both good and bad) from those well-traveled folks who don't have an axe to grind, rather who seek to help you improve your business. #MoreLikeYou

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Coming to this hotel after reading all the reviews - I was terrified and pleasantly surprised when I arrived. I came in for only one night and the location was PERFECT! Literally what seems a block from Penn Station and an amazing pizza at NY Suprema down the street. There wasn't a remote for the the tv when I arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

You ROCK! Thank you so much for sharing your experience and leaving such awesome praise. Based on your detailed feedback, we have a hunch your are a well traveled individual which makes your commentary even MORE valuable (and flattering!). Please don't be a stranger and let us know next time you are coming back to town so we can show...

Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed here after reading some good reviews on TripAdvisor. As a well travelled person, I was prepared for budget hotels and the cost of going "cheap". This hotel wasn't cheap for us but in comparison to others it was. After travelling for most of the day we arrived at the hotel as a couple and the room we received...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise T
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

Your criticism is appreciated. Feedback ALWAYS paves the way to improvement and we, no doubt, will be better because of your candor. We are happy to hear that you have alternative economical hotel options - we know how few and far between they are in NYC! Also, on our website, as well as third party websites such as Booking.com and...

Reviewed 13 December 2016

Room was tiny and disgusting. They never clean anything, carpet was filthy looks like it has never seen a vacuum cleaner. Shared bathroom and you will need to wait forever to get a chance to use it. The plumbing for the water system ran around the room so throughout the night it would get HOT! There was an aircon unit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

Bummer - we did not put our best foot forward. No excuses. This being said, your candor has led to numerous new standard operating procedures including an intense property maintainence program that allows us to address items like those you noted in your feedback BEFORE they become an issue. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your (or our) expectations and...

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (73)
Viewed
Standard Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#391 of 464 in New York City
594 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#423 of 464 in New York City
94 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#229 of 464 in New York City
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#321 of 464 in New York City
1,288 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#431 of 464 in New York City
806 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#258 of 464 in New York City
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chelsea

Neighbourhood Profile
Chelsea
Home to hundreds of art galleries, beautiful brownstones, and one of New York’s newest and most popular attractions, Chelsea is one of the city’s jewels when it comes to neighbourhood life. The contemporary art scene is an integral part of the neighbourhood’s identity, with gallery openings almost every night of the week and countless exhibits to explore. As a longtime hub of gay culture in New York City, it’s also a diverse district with a vibrant nightlife scene. The opening of the High Line, an abandoned elevated train track transformed into a world-class pedestrian park, gave this neighbourhood new life as a tourist destination. The High Line provides visitors with a tranquil, elevated space with incomparable views, providing an unparalleled way to experience the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Riff Chelsea

Address: 300 W 30th St at 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Chelsea Star Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Price Range: RM365 - RM1,038 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riff Chelsea 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riff Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chelsea Star
Chelsea Star New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riff Chelsea staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Riff Chelsea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Again noting that there are rooms with and without bathrooms!”
 of 5 bubbles Jreger25, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Never, ever stay at the Riff in NY!”
 of 5 bubbles lorenew2013, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring earplugs to sleep in the City the Never Sleeps”
 of 5 bubbles RachelD793, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a street view ... you are in Manhattan !”
 of 5 bubbles GoneFishing911, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room at back was quieter”
 of 5 bubbles thomas111765, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5