We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dream Downtown

Save
Share
355 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1144)
360
Panoramas (76)
Room & Suite (849)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 30/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Dream Downtown
Updated 30/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#222 of 518 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located between New York City's Meatpacking District and Chelsea neighborhood, Dream Downtown is a lifestyle hotel with an emphasis on service and after-dark possibilities. Extraordinary in design and unique in character, the hotel offers everything today's urban traveler seeks, including 315 loft-style guest rooms and suites, luxurious amenities and unique entertainment spaces.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Salon
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
324Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
80Attractionswithin 0.5 km
4310Reviews47Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,718
  • 811
  • 354
  • 199
  • 228
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Julia M wrote a review 5 Jul
New York City, New York1 contribution
I travel for business frequently and I have yet to come across a staff as wonderful at the people of Dream Downtown. On check in we dealt with Oeteka, she was fabulous. The Front Office Director Chris went above and beyond!! 10/10 will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Highly recommend trying any of the nearby restaurants. Dream’s rooftop club PHD is beautiful! Ask...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Randy Taormina, General Manager at Dream Downtown
Responded yesterday
Thank you Julia for the amazing review. We will pass on the kind words to the staff. We look forward serving you again in the future. Please reach out if you need anything. Best, Randy Taormina, General Manager
Read more
lilWUnderlust wrote a review 3 Jul
New York City, New York98 contributions28 helpful votes
When i used to live in NYC, i dreamt of staying here as I worked across the street. Its circular exterior captivated me whenever i stare at the window. When the chance to visit NYC for work, I jumped at the chance and booked my stay at the Dream Downtown. Upon my arrival - the welcoming from the front desk was mediorce, it wasnt warm but it wasnt cold. I had asked if my colleague and I could get a room close to each other but alas, we were able to get to be on the same floor. The elevators are difficult to use - the card doesnt quite register your floor so you have to try a couple of times and if you miss it, you either end up going in the other direction (not just me but other guests had the same issue) The hallways are extremely narrow and a bit dark but i guess that is the vibe of the hotel. I got the bronze room (621?) which is the queen bed room. The bed pretty much takes up the room itself and you have one chair and a desk with a chair. It is really meant one person and i'm 5'1 and feel a bit crammed. The bed itself is okay - more on the firm side, pillows are too soft. The nightstands barely had any usb-a plug so i had to charge my phone by the desk. There are light switch for you to turn off the lighting in the room by the bed. Desk area is pretty slim - my 13" laptop fit right but its still a bit slim for a standard desk. The chair for the desk definitely looks worn and its feel fragile. Mini bar - dont bother refrigerate anything because theres no space for your stuff - it is filled with beverages and if you remove any of it, it has a sensor to charge you. Bathroom - its really spacious - too spacious - Stand up shower with lots of room. Karl Lagerfield toiletries, sink is wide but not too much space for your own items. There is a towel ladder for towels. here were my biggest peeves of this place -the walls are pretty thin - i heard almost every single person who rolled through the hallways, i heard every door close and it kinda shook the room. I generally dont think about it but it was very obvious in my room -the bathroom is blocked by "glass panels", when i close the bathroom door, i swear the whole thing will fall apart - you can literally see it swaying -the temp isnt stable - it will either be too hot or too cold My colleague said it was difficult for her to sleep since she heard the nightclub partying through the night (yes there are nightclubs and parties at this hotel) If you are looking for a peaceful stay - i would recommend elsewhere
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: away from the nightclub area or pool
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Randy Taormina, General Manager at Dream Downtown
Responded 3 days ago
Hello, Thank you for your honest review, and we appreciate the feedback. We apologize for any inconveniences you may experienced. We hope to see you again , so we can provide a better service for you. Best Regards Randy Taormina
Read more
Jonny H wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Nice looking hotel but don’t go for the Gold Rooms which are on the 11th Floor. You’re underneath a nightclub which is open until 4am. My room shook with the bass and you could hear every song as it if was playing in my room. The “be considerate of the your neighbours” sign in the room was thoughtful. I was going to start screaming along to Avicii with the crowd upstairs before in spotted that. They didn’t have to wake me up when it was all over. That’s when I got to sleep! Save your money and go bronze, silver or stay elsewhere. Nice of them to offer ear plugs for my trouble though…
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Randy Taormina, General Manager at Dream Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Jonny, Thank you for your honest review. Our Gold Kings room are located on the higher floor and we apologize for being subjected to music from the night club. If you choose to return we can better accommodate a different room type, away from the nightclub. We hope to see you again.
Read more
Jenny from Santa Cruz wrote a review May 2022
Santa Cruz, California664 contributions318 helpful votes
-: During check-in, the staff didn't volunteer any details about the hotel (gym location, is there breakfast, etc), so I assumed that there would be a book of details in the room, but there wasn't. -: When I called to the lobby to ask my questions, I had to try 3 times before getting an answer. -: There was no privacy curtain on the window, so you either had to block out all light or give the neighbors across the street a view of your room. -: Ask to be far from the club to avoid noise. Colleagues advised me to ask to be far from the club, so it wasn't a problem for me. But also the fancy "noise cancellation" switch did nothing at all. -: The gym was weirdly dark, and had only one working elliptical machine, but had a nice window/view. -: The elevator was operated by a key and was really finicky. I had many issues with it, and several other folks said they struggled with it. -: The lightswitches were really fancy, but also super annoying! They were only somewhat responsive, and confusingly labeled. It was just trying way too hard. +: The room felt super clean. +: The bellhop was very nice. +: The bathroom was well-laid-out, including a decently-sized counter and storage space below.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask to be far from the club
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Randy Taormina, General Manager at Dream Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Jenny, Thanks for your honest review. We appreciate having you as a guest. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have e regarding lack of information provided at check in. Please Feel free to reach out to me, should you decide to revisit let us know directly so we can better accommodate your stay. Best, Randy Taormina
Read more
Annika wrote a review May 2022
Goshen, Connecticut1 contribution1 helpful vote
This hotel tries VERY hard to be hip. They advertise that they have a pool but when you get there they tell you no children after 10 am. No mention of this when you book your room. Not cool. Also make you feel like a nuisance when you want to use the other facilities. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not go with family. Not family friendly
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Randy Taormina, General Manager at Dream Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Companion51914952217, Thank you for your honest feedback. We do have a pool for guests to use during their stay, however we do restrict children from using it when our food and beverage service begins as we do serve alcohol and we do not want to subject children to that environment, thus why we allow children to use the pool prior and post service. May I ask how you booked so that we may look into this further and ensure all the necessary information are posted correctly. When one stays at Dream Downtown, we never want you to feel like you are bothering us but more so how we can make your stay even greater. We sincerely apologize for any shortcomings and would love to speak with you further in hopes to welcoming you back for a future stay. Best, Randy Taormina
Read more
HT wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed at the Dream Downtown for 8 days in early May 2022. Service was great. The room is standard size for Manhattan, with good mattress and nice shower. I didn't have issues with noise from the club (stayed on the 4th floor). What made this stay five stars was definitely Chris Budhu, the Director Of Front Office who went above and beyond on any requests. I definitely recommend this hotel, and I'm looking forward to staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Randy Taormina, General Manager at Dream Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dream Daytrip729470, Thank you for your kind words. Chris Budhu is definitely a gem. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best, Randy Taormina
Read more
Amanda B wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
If you plan to stay on a Thursday night, switch hotels. I understand that this hotel is a “scene” but the music thumped until 5:30am Friday. Forget sleep. The mattress felt like cardboard. The sheets like burlap. Halls/common areas filthy.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If you plan to roll deep Thursday through Sunday, fine. If you want to work or sleep, go...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Randy Taormina, General Manager at Dream Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Amanda, We are exceptionally sorry about your experience that you had while staying with us. A good nights sleep is an important element when staying at a hotel, we do understand that. We will bring all your issue up to our housekeeping team to address. If given the chance, I would like the opportunity to speak to you in more detail about your stay. Please reach out to me if you have a spare moment. I look forward to hearing from you. Best, Randy Taormina
Read more
sendmehome wrote a review May 2022
Loudon, Tennessee283 contributions293 helpful votes
The only positive comments I can make are the front desk staff, especially Maria, were incredible. There is an inroom safe. The lobby is very well appointed. Oh but you do not stay in the lobby so here’s the deal on the rooms. The platform bed is very low and hard. The side tables are small with no drawers. There are no hooks in the bathroom. The is no heat/air option on the thermostat. If you sent the temperature to 68 and the room gets cold and you adjust the temperature to 70, the heat goes on!! There are no coffee makers in the room (there is a bar however) and no room service no free coffee in the lobby. You must get coffee from the restaurant which is $3. The chair in the room was so low to the floor, it was difficult to get up. The room overhead lighting is extremely dim. The location is not great. It is near Chelsea market but no other shopping. The subway is just down the street. The nightclub folks are out on the street making noise until the wee hours of the morning. I would never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Randy Taormina, General Manager at Dream Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry for the experience that you had while staying with us. We currently do not have a room service option but are looking to get in back a some point in the future. We only have coffee makers in certain rooms as space on the desk in the rooms are minimal and we do have a limited supply to have in the room upon request. We hope you are able to give us a try in the future.
Read more
The Allens wrote a review May 2022
Clovis, New Mexico1106 contributions344 helpful votes
After spending all day in airports and a flight delay to accommodate me missing my connecting flight I had the pleasure of a free room. Downtown Manhattan didn’t get to explore much room was minimalistic with a modern feel no USBs which would have been nice, bed was low to the floor and bathroom had a massive tub.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Randy Taormina, General Manager at Dream Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the review OutWithTheAllens. Sorry you missed your flight but you did get to stay at dream downtown for a free night which is always a plus. We hope you made it to your final destination safely.
Read more
andrewthak wrote a review Apr 2022
Louisville, Colorado46 contributions67 helpful votes
A different and memorable hotel, unique design to say the least. Lobby and lobby bar look great, very cool design. Room really needed an upgrade. Very worn rug, bathroom had nowhere to put toiletries (my wife said "this was definitely designed by a man"), and the light switches may have been hip but were maddening, impossible to find out what switch controled what light. Definitely a party hotel, the club on the rooftop is pretty cool, patrons trying to be cool (ha). Overall a decent stay, but definitely not more than a 3.5 star hotel
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Ask for the pool view with balcony.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Randy Taormina, General Manager at Dream Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you andrewthak for the review. We appreciate you taking the time out to do so. We are working always to better the property and we love your feedback.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$341 - US$502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dream downtown hotel new york city
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Dream Meatpacking District
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityChelsea / Manhattan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
314
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dream Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Dream Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Ground Zero Museum Workshop (0.3 km), Chelsea Market (0.2 km), and Museum of Illusions (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dream Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Dream Downtown?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Dream Downtown?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Dream Downtown?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dream Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cull & Pistol, Los Tacos No. 1, and Filaga Pizzeria Siciliana.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dream Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Dream Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Dream Downtown?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Dream Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dream Downtown?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.