We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bowery House

594 reviews
Save
Traveller (190)
Room & Suite (158)
Pool & Beach (1)
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good33%
  • Average21%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“original cabin”(13 reviews)
“prince street”(13 reviews)
“rooftop garden”(15 reviews)
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Rooftop Terrace
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (594)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for The Bowery House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
112
158
85
45
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
112
158
85
45
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoriginal cabinprince streetrooftop gardensingle cabinhotel hostelcommunal showersshared bathroomnew yorkbedside tablerooms are smallwhole foodsshort staylower manhattanlounge areasubway lineslocation is greatfew blocks
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Don't bother. Really. What a nightmare ! Please believe me. This is totally misrepresented on the website. At 8pm out took 20 mins to book in as the rooms (rooms huh - bunks? Closets?!) weren't ready. Noisy and grubby. No apologies for my anger about...More

1  Thank Loveday08
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Be aware, this place does not live up to the webpage. It is a very basic hostel suitable for young packpackers. It is not suitable for families or older people. There no elevators at all. Reception is on the 3rd floor and our room another...More

1  Thank Hilifta
Response from MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery HouseResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Hilifta, Thank you for your stay and review. The Bowery House is a hostel which started as The Prince Hotel in the 1920's. The Bowery House is in a historic building less than six stories tall. Buildings built at this time in NYC with...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed just one night here which was enough. It's not really a room as more of a hostel bed with divider walls. Your ceiling will have a see through lattice looking up to a common roof that you share with 40+ other travellers. You...More

5  Thank Mark E
Response from MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery HouseResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Mark E, Yes! We are a hostel!!! We are listed as a hostel. The Bowery House is a historic lodging that allows each guest to have their own Cabin and shared bathrooms. Cabins have trellis ceiling which allow the heating and cooling for each...More

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

I'm not sure what I expected but if you can imagine sleeping in a toilet like cell cubicles with walls that are dividers and a grate (yes open metal grate) on the ceiling so you are essentially in an open space full of dividers, then...More

3  Thank Ben P
Response from MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery HouseResponded 17 October 2017

Ben P, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay. I'm sure you understand that land value like currencies vary from country to country and there is a big difference between Thailand/India and New York City. The...More

Reviewed 18 September 2017

Stayed there for 2 days. Did not have a choice because during the fashion week the prices in other paces was crazy. Thought: how bad could a place be? Well, it can be really bad. It is dirty everywhere: cabins, bathrooms, and etc. Smelly: I...More

1  Thank DinaBak
Response from MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery HouseResponded 17 October 2017

Dear DinaBak, Thank you for staying with us and posting a review. I'm so sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Fashion Week is very busy in NYC and rates reflect that across the city. As a hostel, we will have noises with people coming...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345693
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Details
Price range
US$73 - US$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$73 - US$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (190)
Room & Suite (158)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (12)
Amenities (6)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nolita
Despite being just off of busy Houston Street, Nolita
maintains a low-key vibe that makes it a pleasant
retreat in the heart of lower Manhattan. Short for
“North of Little Italy,” Nolita was once considered to
be part of Little Italy. Today, the neighbourhood is
popular with young fashionistas popping in and out of
the chic independent boutiques that line Mulberry,
Mott and Elizabeth Streets. In addition to shopping,
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
samanthajwebb
8 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from LiseMcDowall | Reviewed this property |
There are plugs by the mirror, in the ladies bathroom anyway:-) I think you can leave your bag at their office for 10 dollars:-)
1
Vote
leo602
6 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from angelbarnamail | Reviewed this property |
I think there s a big interest to keep this rating up... might be a big bussines. It was probably the worst place I ever been...
0
Votes
PreviousNext
1234567
Room Tips
"Go elsewhere"
Read review
"Just dont come here. Get an airbnb somewhere."
Read review
"Book with them directly , instead of websites like booking or Expedia."
Read review
"Get the cabins with a window!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing