We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

867 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 860: English reviews
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great overnight trip on Thanksgiving weekend. Lots of places to walk to shop, eat and drink. Stayed in room 516 which had a nice view of Main Street as well as the Star just out the Windows to the South.

Helpful?
Thank Rob C
Brynn L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review

Rob C, Thank you for your kind words about staying with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay over Thanksgiving. In our Landmark Suites you get an excellent view of both Main Street and the Star of Bethlehem like you mentioned making it one of the preferred suites in the hotel. We hope to see you... More 

Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've had some recent surgeries at Saint Luke's and we have had the need to stay in Bethlehem quite a bit. Found the restaurant first - lovely service and great food. Next came the hotel (only wished they gave medical discounts like others in the area). Hope your stay may be as good as ours! ❤️

Helpful?
1 Thank FrDon411
Brynn L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review

FrDon411, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We’re happy to hear that you had the pleasure of experiencing both the hotel and the restaurant while staying with us. We hope you will visit us again on a leisure trip to Bethlehem! More 

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Complete facade. Once you walk through the doors the substandard service, food and accommodations become palpable. From the noisy and dirty rooms to the spoiled food to the high turnover and inexperienced staff who would rather be doing anything else. Very unfortunate H.B.

Helpful?
1 Thank SavvyTraveler9999
Brynn L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review

SavvyTraveler9999, We take your comments very seriously here at the hotel, and we would like to discuss this privately with you. If you could please message us, or contact our General Manager, Dennis Costello at 610.625.2201 or dcostello@hotelbethlehem.com. More 

Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A beautiful old building located in a great part of Bethlehem, with plenty of shops and restaurants right out the front door. This would be the ideal location for a family visiting Lehigh. The rooms are nice and well appointed, and the restaurants are nice and always crowded. The gym is a bit dated, bringing down the overall rating a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TheDeacon87
Brynn L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review

TheDeacon87, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us! We are centrally located in Downtown Bethlehem, being the perfect location when visiting Lehigh University. We appreciate your feedback on our fitness center, and we have replaced all of our equipment within the last year keeping it up to date. We hope you will stay with us again, and continue... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From start to finish my wedding ceremony and reception was seamless. Kathy and Amanda did a fantastic job. On the big day I was able to focus on the important stuff. My guests were wowed. I couldn't have asked for more, and wouldn't change a thing.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
Brynn L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review

Amanda R, Congratulations on your recent wedding here at the hotel! We are thrilled to hear that Kathy and our banquet staff did an excellent job at executing your big day. Your wedding day should be memorable for you and your guests, and we were happy to be a part of that memory with you. We look forward to seeing... More 

Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had traveled to Bethlehem several times before finally having the occasion to stay here. The hotel obviously has some age, but it is impeccably maintained, the staff is incredibly courteous and helpful. At breakfast, Fran provided our 2 year old with several coloring books and other things to amuse him. We would definitely come back.

Helpful?
Thank chris d
Brynn L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review

Chris D, Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us, and that our staff provided world class service for you and your family. We hope you will visit us again soon! More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is a reason the Hotel Bethlehem is such a popular wedding venue - they know how to put together a wedding! We could not be happier with our choice to have our June, 2016 wedding at the Hotel Bethlehem. Kathy is a veteran coordinator and was very accommodating to any requests we had and able to answer any questions.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
Brynn L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review

Rachel D, Congratulations on your recent wedding here at Hotel Bethlehem! We are happy to hear that your wedding day was perfectly planned, and ran smoothly by our staff. Kathy is a true asset to our sales team, and has wonderful knowledge on planning a wedding. We look forward to seeing you back for your one year anniversary, if not... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is beautiful and full of interesting history. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Had breakfast in the Tap Room restaurant. Food was excellent and atmosphere great! Check in is easy. Overnight guests are charged $7/night to park in parking garage in back of hotel, which for the room rate I thought should have been included.

Helpful?
Thank Randi L
Brynn L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review

Randi L, Thank you for taking the time share your experience with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall experience staying overnight and dining with us in the Tap Room. Our parking charge ensures overnight parking to our guests who stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bethlehem, and thank... More 

Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Whether you are staying over in Bethlehem or just visiting this is a must see destination. A mainstay in downtown Bethlehem this is a definite on the tour of the town. The lobby is wonderful and the restaurant is lovely. Especially well decorated during the holidays there are always events going on. Enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank All_Points_Images
Brynn L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review

All_Points_Images, Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! We are centrally located in Downtown Bethlehem, so guests can enjoy the atmosphere of downtown with the shops, restaurants and museums all within walking distance of the hotel. With two restaurants located in the hotel, guests also have the choice of casual dining and fine dining located in hotel. Thank... More 

NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here one night and was very impressed. Hotel has some history to it, and was in great shape. The room was large and had all the amenities one would want. The staff treated us so well and made sure we were satisfied with everything. Had dinner and breakfast there, both were fine. The gift/apparel shop had a nice selection... More 

Helpful?
Thank NJ_traveller57
Brynn L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review

NJ_traveller57, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities in our recently renovated guest rooms, and that our staff was accommodating throughout your stay. Our Shoppe located in the lower lobby is the perfect stop for anyone looking to find ladies accessories or hotel gifts!... More 

254 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.4 km away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
661 reviews
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
2.0 km away
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
0.9 km away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main Street, Bethlehem, PA 18018
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Price Range: RM822 - RM1,282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bethlehem
#1 Family Hotel in Bethlehem
#2 Business Hotel in Bethlehem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Historic Hotel Bethlehem staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Staten Island
9 days ago
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Easton, Pennsylvania
4 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Historic Hotel Bethlehem staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a corner room with a view to both the shops and the river. Lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 808MaryB808, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Every room is fantastic!”
 of 5 bubbles 589shawnnab, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed facing out onto Main Street.”
 of 5 bubbles karensP2354XG, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very clean rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 887greg, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms seemed to have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles wmmomx2, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay