We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gettysburg Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Gettysburg Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

862 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 856: English reviews
Eastampton, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you enjoy Historic Gettysburg this is the perfect location to stay and enjoy the town and all it has to offer. the restaurant is lovely and the staff are always pleasant & accommodating. The rooms are comfortable & well appointed, and they offer a variety of room options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitkels
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff was great and room was very comfortable and clean. Convenient location to walk around downtown to shop and dine. We live out in the country and found the noice from traffic around the square to be annoying through the night, but otherwise had a very pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
New Jersey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hi, This hotel is close to all the local attractions and events. The hotel was just recently renovated and the space is bright and cheery. The one downside was the parking. The parking lot is adjoining to the municipal lot. On busy special event weekends, parking can be difficult.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chesnutmor
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review on your recent stay. We're appreciative of the kind feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Andrew Stevenson Rooms Division Manager

Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was our first time eating at the Grand Ballroom. Traditionally we dined at another Historical Inn. This year, however, we declined because the menu was missing too many items that had been offered other years. This buffet was AMAZING! We got MORE than we paid for! The food was not only delicious but elegant. I have never seen so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fotog99
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent visit and meal at our property. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the Thanksgiving Buffet, and that you will be providing us with a positive recommendation for all who come across your path. Thank you again for your time and patronage, and we look forward to having you again at our...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed the Gettysburg Hotel and will stay here for our future trips. The hotel is beautiful, comfortable and centrally located. The town and hotel were beautifully decorated for Christmas! The staff was friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan7196
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing the great feedback on your recent visit. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves, and that you were able to take in the sights for this holiday season. We appreciate your patronage, positive review, and hope to welcome you back in the future to our property. Warm Regards, Andrew Stevenson Rooms Division Manager

Liberty Mills, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel appeared old and tired. The funishings had a second hand store appearance. The carpet was old and worn and just looked dirty. The main lobby was the nicest place in the hotel. Go figure! Looks are definitely deceiving though! I will.look elsewhere for a place to stay the next time I visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for the candid feedback on your recent stay. We greatly value and highly appreciate all guest feedback, for it allows us to address guest concerns, so we can provide a better experience to all of our coming visitors. Its unfortunate that our accommodations left you wanting, and that our level of service did not overcome your feelings...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

For a historical 3 night trip we chose this beautiful hotel. Upon entering the hotel we noticed how lovely the lobby was and the staff were pleasant when greeting us. A pleasant surprise to find out that we were checking in during the date Lincoln made his Gettysburg address and there was a celebratory event in the hotel. People dressed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsV75
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid feedback on your recent stay. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself, and that our service was able to meet your needs. Its unfortunate that you experienced some issues with your room, and we hope that we resolved them to your full satisfaction. We look forward to hosting a future trip to Gettysburg, and...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed over Thanksgiving. Have never been to Gettysburg before, chose the hotel because of it's location. We were surprised to find that parking is not included in the room rate - and it's $10 for 24 hours. For the price of the room, a voucher would a have been nice. The front desk staff was pleasant. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We're glad to hear that the accommodations and service met your needs, and we certainly would've hoped that they could've exceeded your expectations. We know how the parking situation may seem like a surprise to our visitors, which is why we try and make sure our guests are aware whether by...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a pleasant stay! Lovely room, comfortable bed, nice people with easy check-in/out...one could feel the history here. The parking was unfortunately expensive for our taste in such a small town, but that's the cost of tourism!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share the positive feedback on your recent trip. We are glad you had a good time, and that we were able to provide you and your companion with a great experience. We appreciate you sharing and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Andrew Stevenson Rooms Division Manager

Columbus, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family was really looking forward to this meal while we were visiting Gettysburg over Thanksgiving. While the hotel is historic and beautiful the buffet was less than appealing. We had a 1:30 reservation for a party of 5 and were seated promptly although not a very welcoming hostess. We were told nothing about the buffett and were left at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.5 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,302 reviews
0.1 km away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
347 reviews
1.3 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 28 in Gettysburg
695 reviews
0.1 km away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
347 reviews
0.9 km away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797 is located in the heart of historic downtown Gettysburg Pennsylvania and is walking distance to the battlefield, attractions, shops and restaurants.This historic Gettysburg hotel offers superior service in a charming and ideal setting; rich in history and hospitable ambiance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gettysburg Hotel

Address: 1 Lincoln Sq, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2205
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Price Range: RM485 - RM778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gettysburg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Gettysburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gettysburg
Gettysburg Best Western
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gettysburg Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Gettysburg Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try a junior suite if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsV75, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Had a beautiful view of the traffic circle!”
 of 5 bubbles april_mathgirl, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room # 406 was quiet, close to the ice and also elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles Sunsup605, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“King with fireplace and mold in jetted tub”
 of 5 bubbles henne12095, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“on the top”
 of 5 bubbles Ken0739, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay