We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Roosevelt Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Roosevelt Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Roosevelt Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 313: English reviews
Rochester, New York
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Our deluxe room had all the amenities you could want: super-comfy king-size bed with wonderful pillows, nice bathroom, two sinks, chairs and table for snacks, easy chair for reading, mini-fridge, air conditioning, large TV, wifi, two luggage racks, good bedside reading lamps, plus nice extras like a nightlight, choice of liquid and bar soaps, shampoos, ironing board, a chair outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank corydalis
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! Thank you as well for choosing to stay with us while here in town. I am happy to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay and all of our accommodations/amenities. We look forward to having you back as our guest anytime. Thanks again!

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed at this place twice in the past two months. It is reasonably priced, kept spotlessly clean, offers you a very spacious room (for those who get 2 double beds-- can't speak about any other room), and is in a superb location to visit the many places to see in the Hudson Valley region. The coffee shop offers a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucky941
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words about our hotel. I am pleased to hear how much you have enjoyed each of your stays with us. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest anytime. Thanks again!

Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed at the Roosevelt three nights in October 2016. We were in an old room along the North side. The bed in this room was old, HARD, and uncomfortable and so were the pillows. These rooms have dark wood paneling on three walls and are very dark. And the owners did not turn on the heat while we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that overall your stay was not an excellent one due to the beds and heating. The Rustic rooms are the Catskill style knotty pine rooms, popular with our retro fan club but not everyone’s cup of tea which is why we offer the...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here while on a business trip in Connecticut. It was downtown from historic Hyde Park. Our room was in the bottom floor and quite spacious. We had two double beds and a bathroom as my son was traveling with us and he is 15. There is plenty of room for everybody and a nice area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 38andco
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and thank you for choosing to entrust us with your lodging needs. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to have you as our guest again should you return to the area. Thanks again!

Dortmund, Germany
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Clean room, good breakfast, nice people at the front desk. However room needs some fresh paint. Especially the stairs to the upper floor looked very shabby. With two big suitcases we missed an elevator.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang T
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. While I am glad to hear that you were happy with the majority of your stay, I am disappointed to hear you found any part of our property unsatisfactory. All of the Deluxe rooms were freshly painted this Spring so I am surprised to hear that you found...

Connecticut
Reviewed 7 October 2016

This motel is It's very basic, but it's well maintained. We stayed in a Rustic room which was small, but met our needs. It did have a fridge. Every review say it's very clean and quiet and that's true. It's convenient to local attractions like FDR's Presidential Library and Estate. It is also close to CIA, Marist College, Adelphi, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank camtcb
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and thank you for choosing to entrust us with your lodging needs. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to have you as our guest again should you return to the area. Thanks again!

Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We spent two nights there. It was a great location to see the mansion & museum in the area. Room was clean and breakfast room was nice. There was six of us and were able to sit down together and plan our sight seeing for the next day while enjoy a glass of wine ( we picked up at Brotherhood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry76F
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and thank you for choosing to entrust us with your lodging needs. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to have you as our guest again should you return to the area. Thanks again!

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Several reviews I read before booking the Roosevelt Inn suggested "rustic" was a good quality. However, I now know rustic means very thin walls so that one can hear every snore and comment coming from your next door neighbor. On the plus side, the owners are delightful, the location is fine, the rooms are clean, the tv has many channels,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that overall your stay was not an excellent one. The Rustic rooms are in the Catskill style with knotty pine walls and with new furniture this year, ‘Rustic Lodge’ (also called Melbourne) from Valiant Products, Denver Colorado (family-owned co./USA made). These rooms are...

Cedarville, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We decided to stay at the Roosevelt after all the great reviews on here. I reserved the deluxe family suite on the second floor. The room was the size of an apartment, plenty of space for the 3 of us. The Roosevelt was very well maintained with a top notch housekeeping staff. Breakfast was good enough to get your pump...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wheezer178
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your business and your kind words about our motel and staff. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back as our guests anytime. Thanks again!

NC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We were sorely disappointed with the motel, the breakfast room and the overall experience. The description of the property makes it sound like this wonderful quaint inn but its anything but. The carpet was old and dirty with a nasty rug at the door to our room; there are no where near enough electrical plugs; the bathroom was dated and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KEAE
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not an excellent one. As our past customer reviews, annual Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence for five years, and consistent #1 ranking of Hyde Park hotels shows, we work hard to providing each and every guest with a great stay. I apologize that we fell...

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
15.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
12.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
13.3 km away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
525 reviews
20.6 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
774 reviews
9.3 km away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Roosevelt Inn of Hyde Park is a uniquely charming family-owned motel-style inn with 25 rooms and a coffee shop.The proprietors, originally from Germany and Finland, established the inn and have infused it with an air of old-world hospitality that continues today.Roosevelt Inn offers two styles of accommodations (100% non-smoking, no pets) - deluxe rooms and rustic rooms. Deluxe rooms include Thomasville furniture, a flat screen TV, mini fridge and individual A/C unit. Our rustic rooms offer a quaint experience with knotty-pine interior, traditional furniture, brightly colored subway tile in the bathrooms and a flat screen TV. All accommodations include Wi-Fi, a continental breakfast and access to our coffee shop with complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and popcorn available 24 hours a day.The inn is located in the historic town of Hyde Park, New York. Hyde Park is the birthplace of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and offers many points of interest, such as FDR Home and Library, Vanderbilt Mansion, Culinary Institute of America, Staatsburgh State Historic Site, Town of Rhinebeck, Dutchess Fairgrounds and Marist, Bard and Vassar Colleges.Hyde Park sits alongside the Hudson River and Route 9 and is approximately 2 hours north of New York City and 1.5 hours south of Albany. It is a perfect stopping point for travelers exploring the beautiful Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Address: 4360 Albany Post Road, Rt. 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538-3609
Region: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Price Range: RM492 - RM590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Hyde Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Roosevelt Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Evanston, Illinois
Evanston, Illinois

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Roosevelt Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the more spacious deluxe rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles K1068RLchristinek, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We really liked the rooms located to the right of the coffee shop near the office. We didn't stay in any of the other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Lucky941, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the East side look like they might be nicer rooms but I'd check before I would stay there again.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesmX928EV, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stairs to 2nd floor rooms if problem stay on first floor”
 of 5 bubbles Beachtraveler29576, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There isn't an elevator so if stairs are a problem, stay on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles oliviajohn5, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay