We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Showing 207: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the valet to the front desk and concierge staff, every single staff member greeted us with smiles. The hotel design is beautiful, with sea glass tiles in the elevator, interesting art and a fun mix of old and eclectic decor in our room. The beds were very comfortable, and the shower was "spa perfect" after a long day of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is well located in the heart of the historic district, over the road from he river. My room had a great view of the square near the markets . Staff were friendly and helpful. Matt on the front desk was always able to answer questions and find information I asked about. Kendria was another staff member who showed... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
ny-sean
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed two night, hotel is centrally located 1 block from River Street as well as City Market. Was surprised how well decorated the room was; we had a suite which had king bedroom as well as full living room. Hotel had bar; restaurant for breakfast and outdoor courtyard to sit out in. Staff was friendly and helpful. Concierge gave... More 

Helpful?
Thank ny-sean
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location! The rooms are small. The bathroom sink is in the room, not in the bathroom. The room cleaner did not come at all the 2nd day we were there, no clean towels or beds made. When we arrived there were coffee cups in the hallway for pick up cleaning, when we arrived back to the room around 5pm,... More 

Helpful?
Thank JenRussell1026
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Dear JenRussell1026, We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our hotel. I am happy that you found our location to be great, front desk to be nice, bar area nice and clean and rooms clean. On the other hand, it is disheartening to know that the size of the room was not to your... More 

Churchton, Maryland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed two nights at Hotel Indigo and highly recommend it. The location couldn't be better. The Indigo is located in a very walkable, safe area just steps away from the riverfront as well as from the market and arts square. The concierge service is helpful, and all the staff we encountered - from the valets who took care of... More 

Helpful?
Thank shaluhe
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrific new hotel! Excellent location. It's right in the heart of the historic district. Terrific room. Very helpful, friendly staff. The only thing that could've been better was the breakfast buffet. It was adequate, but not super.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff N
East Coast
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Trip advisor should put a separate listing for the restaurant, as it deserves a stand-alone listing. We found this restaurant on Open Table and could not have been happier. It was quiet and relaxing, with beautiful sleek decor. The cocktails and drinks were outstanding! Arrived in time for happy hour, so the first round of drinks were at reduced prices.... More 

Helpful?
Thank eastcoastbb
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The experience was wonderful! The rooms are brand new...a great shower and the beds are very comfy. I would...and did ...recommend this hotel experience to any travelers headed to Savannah! The location is one of the best in the city as you can walk to all the great spots this city has to offer.

Helpful?
Thank jrstrace
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We loved everything about our stay. Go see Jason at the bar for the best specialty drink in SAV! Our room was beautiful, the service was great and the bar was excellent! Location was perfect. We walked everywhere. Everyone we encountered was so professional and pleasant! We go about every year and now we will continue to stay here!

Helpful?
Thank kandicemitchell
Kentucky
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful hotel but sadly very poor management. Stayed in 4 hotels in 4 nights on a road trip. Worst experience by far of all 4 hotels. Desk staff very short staffed and shared this with us. They were doing the best they could with the demand of customers. Booked by phone prior to arrival where they insisted we take the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Honeymoon09Kentucky
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Honeymoon09Kentucky, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. It is unfortunate to learn that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay due to the level of service and lack of attention to detail. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. I have forwarded your feedback to our hotel management... More 

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#22 of 113 in Savannah
885 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 113 in Savannah
2,720 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#7 of 113 in Savannah
1,041 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#28 of 113 in Savannah
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Like our Spanish-moss-draped city herself, Hotel Indigo® Savannah Historic District is the perfect mix of old and new. Our building—known to locals as the "Grand Lady on the Bay" due to her sweeping size—was once 19th-century mega-merchant Simon Guckenheimer's dry goods storage house and shop, which was filled with everything the South made best, from tobacco to canned peaches. The 1940s and '50s brought a grocery store with the city's first true coffeehouse. Now, the Grand Lady stands as a charming boutique hotel with modern style in a vibrant Ellis Square setting that reflects the essence of Savannah's renowned historic district. After a delicious breakfast or cocktail at our lobby bar, immerse yourself in our neighborhood's rich culture at City Market, located right next door. Then embark on one of the many fascinating tours Savannah has to offer; at least five of the city's iconic squares are located within roughly five blocks of our front door. Learn about the city's storied past before making your way down original cobblestone paths to famous River Street, where you can watch ships enter and exit the harbor while savoring Southern comfort food in restaurants that were once historic warehouses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District

Address: 201 W Bay St, Historic District, Savannah, GA 31401-1110
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range: RM658 - RM1,360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
1 month ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for Bay Street side rooms to see the river”
 of 5 bubbles jupiterman3000, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“only stayed once so far, but had great view of Bay Street and River.”
 of 5 bubbles 75BillS75, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Guests with pets are put on floors 1 and 2, which is why we were on the fourth floor.”
 of 5 bubbles shaluhe, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had 2 queens and the room could have been a little larger, but I will choose it again anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles Deanna521, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms OK.”
 of 5 bubbles georgemM8193II, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay