We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Confederate House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Confederate House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 178: English reviews
Start your review of The Confederate House
 Click to rate
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We choose this B&B because of the price and location to the park. We enjoyed our stay and the stories the owner shared with us. The linens and towels are premium quality; the bed was comfy; and the breakfast she makes are large. She also provides cookies and other various snacks on the third floor common area. The wifi is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Online pictures look great, so I was really looking forward to staying here. I committed the crime of arriving early, looking for parking. The main room when you first enter is a characterless cavern. I was greeted by a booming voice asking "How did you get in here? You aren't supposed to be here." Not a great first impression! I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank palmret1
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

I,m reading this review and it makes no sense to me I have a very soft voice so when you say you were greeted by a booming voice perhaps in all your travels you confused a couple of places . The ballroom or main room is far from characterless there are 3 crystal chandeliers imported from Europe for that room...

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

This B&B is very interesting in a unique way. I regret not getting other family members to occupy the whole place. The owner is sweet and seems to be misunderstood by other reviews. I really liked her a lot. The Hotel is not over done decor-wise which I like. Breakfast is at 9:00 am. There ate only three rooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHris H
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

Thank-you for the wonderful review. Coming to stay with your extended family and booking all 3 rooms is a great idea we would love to meet all of your family and be able to have them as our guests.

Tennessee
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were looking forward to a nice Valentine's getaway. Upon arriving, however, at The Confederate House, things took a downward spiral. The home was previously grand, but it is now in need of attention. Everything I have read in other reviews (which I wish I had read before booking) was true: dirty exterior, sparse interior, poor parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DFosterTennessee
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

This person booked the wrong date showed up a month early and started raising her voice wanting me to clean up her mistake and take the loss. We only deal with persons over 21 and if they make a mistake and show up a month early I am not responsible for their mistake. Our website says no refunds she could...

Franklin, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 February 2017

This is an old southern mansion. To get to the room, one needs to walk up approximately 40 steps from the street to the lobby and then up another flight of stairs. No elevator and narrow steps. Also, one of the bannisters from the street to the lobby is loose. If someone is handicapped or has disability issues, forget this...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sewerrat276
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

From reading your review perhaps the next time you travel you might consider a motel where your room is on the ground floor and has a restaurant so you can chose your time to eat. There are sheer drapes on the window and there are Levelor blinds behind them to block the light. I find it very interesting you recognized...

Palm beach gardens
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the first room at the top of the stairs. The room was huge, clean, and adorable. The bathroom was also gigantic. There were towels, soap, shampoo, conditioner, and plenty of hot water. The bed was by far the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on in my entire life. If I could take it home I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JessiAnn85
Bettendorf, IA
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The Confederate House is a beautiful columned property in a beautiful location across the street from Forsythe park in Savannah. It was painstakenly restored by the owner after a fire and general neglect to a condition that is now comfortable and respectable. Although our room was beautiful, it was in the front of the house; which made it next to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank C0ral_L0ver
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

This couple was here for their daughter's wedding. She was a pretty bride. Just to set the record clear I think since he was so unhappy here his decision to stay else where the next time meets with my approval.

Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Reviewed 18 January 2017

The house itself is gorgeous inside. We had the front bedroom (facing Forsyth Park) so we had a nice view. The room was huge and the bathroom was even larger. The upstairs lobby area has cookies and coffee available 24/7. Colleen made the best breakfasts each day (we stayed 3 nights). She also told some of the most amazing stories....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karin h
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

Thank-you for the good review. We always enjoy have nice people as our guests. You are always welcome to stay with us again.

Canada
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We were interested in spending some time in Savannah's historic district and wished to have free parking. This B&B had it all, including free breakfast. We enjoyed the great interior decoration and had an amazing room with 2 nice sitting chairs, a huge bathroom with 2 sinks and also a sitting room outside the room where we enjoyed an evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Voyageuse53
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

Thank-you for the wonderful review. We always having guests who are happy here. You are always welcome to stay again.

North Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 31 December 2016

We spent Christmas holiday at The Confederate. We were impressed when we first entered the Great Room that was tastefully decorated with beautiful Christmas Tree and lovely furnishings. Colleen was a wonderful and entertaining hostess with lots of stories and history of the home and the area. Location was perfect - right across from Forsythe Park and walking distance to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda A

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Dresser Palmer House
Dresser Palmer House
#15 of 31 in Savannah
465 reviews
Roussell's Garden
#19 of 31 in Savannah
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Stephen Williams House
The Stephen Williams House
#18 of 31 in Savannah
52 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 31 in Savannah
1,431 reviews
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#8 of 31 in Savannah
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Confederate House

Address: 808 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5903
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range: RM581 - RM625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Confederate House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Confederate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Confederate House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Confederate House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you find it difficult to sleep in a room with street noise and exterior light coming in, decline staying in the front room.”
C0ral_L0ver, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Due to the light coming in the front bedroom, choose one of the others, or bring an eye mask.”
  • Front bedroom
  • Front bedroom
  • Front bedroom bathroom
  • Upstairs lobby
  • Front bedroom bathroom
899karinh, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“At night, the General Jackson room gets quite a bit of light from the entrance light (despite the solid blinds).”
Voyageuse53, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just three rooms, mine faced the park with huge windows and huge views, I did not see the other two rooms, but this one was spectacular.”
MykMc, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are located on second floor of this lovely home.”
Pdougl99, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5