We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Marshall House

Show Prices
#4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Marshall House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,486: English reviews
Start your review of The Marshall House
 Click to rate
St.Augustine, FL
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We've stayed in Savannah many times and the Marshall House is one of our favorites, especially if we can book a balcony room. It is fun to climb through the window to the balcony and enjoy the rocking chairs. Sipping wine and having appetizers was just perfect while we watched the non stop line at Leopold's Ice Cream down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bergy5
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Amazing place! Quiet, beautiful, old world high quality room and facilities! Treated us like family. Excellent service, friendly staff, clean rooms, beautiful decor, hot water constantly, lush linens and pillows, comfortable bed, tall ceilings, highly efficient cooling system, fresh coffee, wine and cheese, full breakfast available in certain package deals! Loved this place!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donna B
Galloway, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Marshall house is a great option for people who love the old architecture of the civil war era but are not fond of staying in a bed and breakfast. The hotel has quaint and cozy, however you still have the feel of privacy unlike a more traditional bed and breakfast. The location was also great for walking to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shutz20
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Loved every minute of staying here. The room was comfortable and gorgeous. Really added to the atmosphere of being in such a historic and beautiful city. Will definitely stay here again if an when I return to Savannah.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rdsxviking1
Mill Creek WA
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I much prefer hotels with some character and history, and The Marshall House fits the bill. It is an old hotel so the rooms and bathrooms are small with a minimum of storage space, but that is more than overcome by the location, staff and ambiance. It's halfway between the water and the historic district with ample shops and restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KatieGMillCreekWA
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel had a lot of history. It was conveniently located, but on a very commercial street. The staff was very friendly. There is a $10 breakfast option, which was reasonable, but not very exciting. We chose that the first day, but went to a fun breakfast place a few blocks away the next two days.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bunnys819
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was the first time we caught this event; if you can attend, I recommend it. The entire library was spellbound - except for trips to the wine & cheese table. We've stayed at the Marshall house before, and saw things we had never seen before there, thanks to the speaker's direction. I might add, the breakfast buffet is great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tristero15
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Tristero, I am so glad you stayed with us before, thank you for your return trip to the Marshall House. The history talk is wonderful, enjoyed by all who have time to listen, also a great compliment to the wine and cheese. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed both the convenience of the breakfast as well as the quiche...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Professional, helpful staff. Great location. Walking distance to everything. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Savannah. Room wasn't huge but it clean and big enough. I wish we didn't miss wine and cheese hour. Maybe next time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FormerNygrl
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear FormerNygrl, Thank you for your comments on the hotel, your recommendations mean a lot to us. And the best compliment is for you to tell your friends and family about your great stay at the Marshall House. I am so glad you had a wonderful stay and were able to experience our fantastic staff and clean rooms. Stephanie Guest...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lots of character but comfortable room. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good breakfast. Brilliant location to explore Savannah on foot. Valet parking is very convenient although there is a charge. The Bistro was quite expensive for dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catrin B
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Catrin, Thank you for the review of our hotel. Our location is amazing and we are so grateful to be near so many shops and restaurants within walking distance. It is nice to have breakfast and a dinner bistro on site as well. I am glad that you found our attentive front desk staff to be friendly and met...

Glastonbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Marshall House is a great historic hotel with wonderful ambiance and fantastic staff but the walls and floors are thin. Unfortunately I could hear the person next door snoring and every footfall of the woman upstairs. Other than that, my stay was exceptional. I arrived quite early due to flight times and reception was quite accommodating and got me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia B
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this review

Dear Patricia, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you had an exceptional stay and that your room was comfortable. The historic talks are very unique and a treat for the guest who stay with us Sunday - Thursday at the hotel. Being built in 1851 we still do have...

968 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (829)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (208)
Viewed
Room/Suite (166)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (347)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (71)
Viewed
King Room with Balcony (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Superior Double Queen (18)
Viewed
Superior King Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
2,921 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range: RM735 - RM1,588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Marshall House staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from The Marshall House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Balcony rooms are fun, you climb through the window to access the balcony.”
Bergy5, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Top floors would be better, as you could hear movement from above.”
bunnys819, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 409 away from elevators was nice and quiet.”
742alishas, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The best room are on second floor because is the only floor with porch.”
tonypmd, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I recommend a room that goes onto the balcony.”
catlover2017, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5