We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

River Street Inn

Show Prices
#26 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
River Street Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,123: English reviews
Davie, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Let me start by saying that my wife and I travel extensively and have had our share of great and poor service with hotel accommodations. However the River Street Inn is in a category that most hotels can't claim. They are Beyond exceptional! The property is stunning and the location is incredible. Sitting right on the river on River Street...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarioSellsFlorida
mgreerrsi, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mario & Carrie, Your kind review and accolades are what we all strive to do each & every day! Thank you most kindly for your special recognition of Ashley & Steven. We too are proud to have them on our team & will reward them for their service to you! We feel we have a very special place, in...

Athens AL, United States
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The 3 stars is because I'm very annoyed about the quality of their WIFI, every time I click on a different website, I get kicked off WIFI. I told the gentleman at the front desk yesterday, and he said they are trying to get it fixed - I hope they do very soon. Also, the bed and pillows are not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane H
mgreerrsi, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're happy you appreciated our location & complimentary guest reception. Our 200 year old building is constructed of brick, cobble & ballast stones; needless to say the thickness & density of them does indeed create weak connections in certain areas of our hotel. We are sorry this was an inconvenience. Cell connections & parking weren't...

Davidson, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I had been in Savannah in late march of 2016 and decided to book a room at the River Inn for St Patricks day of 2017. We booked the room shortly after arriving home. TODAY January 10th 2017 we get a call from the River Inn saying they cannot honor our reservations due to a change in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kimbetters
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

This reservation was made via a third party, not directly through the hotel. During citywide special events such as this, our hotel and most others require a 3 night minimum, this is not a "new policy". The third party made the mistake by booking their reservation, not the hotel staff. We are sorry for your inconvenience, but we are not...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel has a really wonderful location! There was a restaurant, Tubby's, with great selection and great staff connected to the hotel. Also, right next to Cafe' M. Nice, comfy beds and a gorgeous view! We will stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren P
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and our location! We look forward to your return!

Dallas, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to Savannah for Honeymoon\New Years. After spending a couple days in Tybee and a couple days in Hilton Head, finished up in Savannah. The hotel is kind of confusing with the lobby being on the 4th floor and we were in a different wing of the 5th floor. But having an elevator go all the way down to River...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve H
mgreerrsi, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Being that we created a hotel inside an existing 200 year old building, does create some interestingly unique qualities. These qualities are what makes us special and thankful you enjoyed it as much as we all enjoy working here! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

TX Hill Country
Reviewed 1 week ago

Reading some of the recent reviews I wonder if I'm in the same place. It's a historical hotel in a great location. Parking is $20/day but 5 minutes walk and we left the vehicle curbside for 30 minutes after checkin, no problem. Queen bed in room overlooking the river with comfortable chairs and clean bathroom. If you demand a 21st...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HillCountryTxn
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We love our 200 year old building and so happy that you appreciate it too! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointed with this hotel. The bathroom is outdated, dirty and in disrepair. The bed linens were soiled. The carpet, chairs and firplace are filthy!!!! Do not waste your money here. There is mold on the shower curtain, bathroom fixtures and even the framed art in the room! The chairs in the room are dirty and have food lodged in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

We're very sorry to learn of your experience. If you told someone I'm sure we would've made every effort to please you, however we have no record of any such complaint.

Reviewed 1 week ago

To celebrate my wife and I's anniversary, we headed down the Savannah, GA for a few days. We wanted to stay within the historic district and began to look for places. My wife is the one who found and booked our reservation at the River Street Inn and I was very happy with her choice. The hotel just oozes history...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Colbey H
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Happy anniversary! We're very happy you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we see such completely opposite reviews, yet the guests that make those online complaints never say anything to us in person during their stay. It's difficult to rectify something if you don't learn of it until after the guests...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter and I booked River Street Inn for a 4 day trip to Savannah. The Inn is a renovated warehouse overlooking the river and riverwalk. Conveniently located next to several restaurants, a park and shopping on the riverwalk. Parking is a premium in Savannah and Self parking is required for the hotel at a reasonable fee compared to other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MidLyfeCrazy
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We're very happy you enjoyed our 200 year old building and our fabulous location! Thank you for complimenting our "extremely accommodating staff", "clean and spacious bathroom" and the parking pass we provide our guests at a "reasonable fee compared to other locations". We look forward...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a king bed river view, over the phone. When we arrived, we were told that we have a queen bed river view. I explained that I was told we would have a king bed. The gentleman at the front desk said he didn't have any king beds. He asked who I spoke with. I didn't get a name when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank schinnerg
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Although I don not know what may have happened regarding your reservation room type, we do apologize for the condition of your bathroom. We will definitely use this to improve our housekeeping! We hope you will give us an opportunity again in the future!

644 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (418)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (123)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
2:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (144)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
City View Double Queen Room With Balcony (33)
Viewed
City View King Room (54)
Viewed
River View King Room With Balcony (33)
Viewed
River View King Room With Balcony - 2 (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 112 in Savannah
924 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 112 in Savannah
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#27 of 112 in Savannah
2,428 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built of cobble and ballast stones in 1817, as a cotton warehouse, our converted, historic hotel overlooks the Savannah River, right on River Street. Decorated with period furnishings, four poster beds, oriental rugs, hardwood floors and exposed brick walls, maintaining its historic charm. Located just two blocks from The Olde Pink House and Broughton Street shopping district, cars aren't needed as all is within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Address: 124 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1202
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range: RM705 - RM1,344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Street Savannah
River Street Hotel Savannah
River Street Inn Savannah Ga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from River Street Inn staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
10 months ago
florida
Melbourne, Florida
10 months ago

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from River Street Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find another place to stay”
 of 5 bubbles kimbetters, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony room and stay riverside, the view is amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Back side of the 5th floor has the best view of River Street and the river itself.”
 of 5 bubbles colbeyh, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Love the River View but bed was next to window not seating and it was a little drafty but Inn has extra blankets.”
 of 5 bubbles MidLyfeCrazy, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a river view”
 of 5 bubbles housebroken, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay