We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gallery 400

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silver City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gallery 400
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 43: English reviews
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

I booked the Mogollon room, had a confirmation number, etc. upon arrival a man answered the door but we had difficulty talking to him due to very loud barking dogs. We told him we had reservations for the Mogollon room. He said another couple had stayed there the previous two nights and wanted it another night so his daughter (the... More 

1 Thank Monicajax
gilahouse, Owner at Gallery 400, responded to this review

I am so sorry for the double booking and misunderstanding. My wife had been taking reservations but we are under new management not. We have received not so favorable reviews here on Trip Adviser and are interested in turning our reputation around. I have slashed our prices. No dogs are on the premises any longer and I am not taking... More 

Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here with family that we do not get to see very often. We booked all the rooms out and we were excited to have the hotel to ourselves. We came back from dinner to maybe 15 kids and their parents running around all over the hotel. Turns out she decided to have a birthday party. The parking lot... More 

Thank kp3314
gilahouse, Owner at Gallery 400, responded to this review

I have now started managing the facility, and I will avoid double booking such as the one the you experienced. I am so sorry that you had such a terrible experience.. Richard More 

Travellers are raving about these Silver City hotels

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2015

It was with great anticipation that my wife and I checked in for a one night stay to celebrate our 19th anniversary. The tone of our stay was set during the check in. The owner barely smiled and could not be considered welcoming. All business. The location is great. Our room (the Mimbres) was clean and cute. The bed was... More 

Thank Kipp M
gilahouse, Owner at Gallery 400, responded to this review

I have taken over running of the business and will do my best to provide exceptional service to all of our clients..There are no dogs living at our facility any longer. I am so sorry that you were woken up. I would have written a similar review if it would have been me.. Richard More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We stayed in the Mimbres room, which had a king size bed and private patio nd bathroom, and a small fridge. We could walk easily to breakfast and coffee shops, and just a little bit further to everything else. The host was lovely, and they also have off-street free parking. Not really a hotel, but a few rooms within an... More 

Thank ouisch7
gilahouse, Owner at Gallery 400, responded to this review

The location of our facility is exceptional. Our facility is as described... Not really a "hotel" but some neat rooms in a really cool location.. It's not for everybody.. Most guests enjoy an awesome breakfast at Vicki's, which is right across the street. I believe that staying here can be a lot of fun.. We are starting to offer in... More 

Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2015

This is a great little inn located in a little art gallery in the heart of historic Silver City. There was free parking and the feel of a bed and breakfast, just no breakfast. Our room was small but sweet with a nice size bathroom and patio. There were a couple of common areas with tv, movies, toys, coffee, tea,... More 

1 Thank Ally B
gilahouse, Owner at Gallery 400, responded to this review

We are now offering in house breakfast to guests on request.. Most guests enjoy going across the street to Vicki's restaurant as the provide an awesome breakfast. One of the best things about staying here is the location, we are easy walking distance from lots of great restaurants and attractions.. Thank You, Richard More 

Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2015

The staff was very accommodating and the room was just beautiful. Not your typical inn and it really felt like home! Great location in the historic district of town and within walking distance to great shops, restaurants and bars.

2 Thank John F
gilahouse, Owner at Gallery 400, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed your experience... It is a lot of fun being so close to everything... Thank You, Richard More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a very attractive, close to downtown "B&B" that has no breakfast. Although I knew that when I made the reservation I found it set the tone for the stay. The owners live on site and are not into hosting. In fact some guests arrived one day when they were out and I showed the new guests to their... More 

2 Thank Jan K
gilahouse, Owner at Gallery 400, responded to this review

Sorry for the bad experience. Sometimes housekeeping uses the wrong sheets on the beds.. I have taken your advise about the sheets and have purchased more larger sheets...I have taken over the management and will be more available to guests and addressing concerns... We do have social gatherings on occasion and more effort heeds to be placed on making sure... More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I traveled to Silver City for business (Federal government) and stayed at the Gila House located in the heart of historic Silver City because I can walk to restaurants, shops, coffee houses etc. The hosts are a lovely couple with a young child and dogs. The Gila House only has 3 rooms and I stay in the largest one -... More 

Thank brute
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Arguably, one of my worst lodging experiences in recent memory -- I so wish I had read the Jan. 2013 review of this so-called B&B before I made my reservations. Evidently, nothing has improved in the intervening year. Screaming toddlers, barking dogs, and as noted by others, no semblance of room door security. Normally not such a big deal unless... More 

2 Thank sminsocal
gilahouse, Owner at Gallery 400, responded to this review

I am so sorry for the terrible experience... I have now taken over management of the facility.. There are no children or dogs residing here anymore. We are now in the process of reorganizing. once again sorry for the bad experience.. Richard More 

Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is not a ‘B&B’ – it’s just a ‘B’ (bed, but no breakfast served). For the price, they give you back a $7 coupon for a restaurant across the street where two normal breakfasts will cost you another $20 on top of the coupon. The restaurant (Vickie’s) is pretty decent, but if they had just given me back my... More 

2 Thank StellaRella
gilahouse, Owner at Gallery 400, responded to this review

We have went back and forth about the breakfast situation.. We did try the coupons, but many of our guests had expressed concerns similar to yours.. Yes the floor in that room can be very slippery and we have tried to provide shower mats to help.. I am so sorry that we were not attentive in addressing your concerns with... More 

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.1 km away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#3 of 9 in Silver City
191 reviews
0.2 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
187 reviews
1.8 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 9 in Silver City
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Comfort Inn Silver City
Comfort Inn Silver City
#4 of 9 in Silver City
183 reviews
4.0 km away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#7 of 9 in Silver City
56 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come experience Silver City at the Gila House Hotel and Gallery400. We offer get away tour packages that feature historical tours of down town and local real estate listings. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown Silver City, walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We are the perfect choice someone considering relocating to Silver City. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gallery 400

Address: 400 N Arizona St, Silver City, NM 88061-4960
Region: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Price Range: RM378 - RM489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gallery 400 staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Canton, Ohio, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Gallery 400 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Mimbres room is great for a couple”
 of 5 bubbles johnfI2885UT, 19 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Only select the biggest room...rooms are small...TV in room but no cable or regular channels...Netflix only....free WiFi...rooms need ceiling fans”
 of 5 bubbles jank831, 22 Jul 2014 | Read review
“We had the Mogollon Room. We did enjoy the art in the rooms. The room we had was roomy enough and mostly clean, we did like the Robes, they were great and the towel were also clean. We felt that since we were practically the only one there it was like we had the place to ourselves. Amanda was not always around, but she was accessible when we had to find her we had to go to their living quarters, unfortunately I had to go down stairs then upstairs which I had trouble, because I wear braces for support and I struggled going up and down. I would recommend that they put some type of communication system in the rooms to have access to someone when needed for those who are disabled, especially disable from the waist down. Richard and Amanda were accommodating to us, because of some circumstances they would go out of their way to help, when Richard was there he was helpful. Over all, we very much enjoyed our stay. We recommend that anyone to stay there, because we felt that it was quiet for the most part. Thank you! Richard and Amanda”
 of 5 bubbles davidandlindam, 28 Aug 2013 | Read review
“There are only three rooms and each has its own charms. All depends on what you like....”
 of 5 bubbles BethA631, 28 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Ask more questions than we did and do not assume the small things. Eg soaps, security, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles AnnieA173, 14 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5