We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

West Glacier Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
West Glacier Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for West Glacier Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 111: English reviews
Maple Grove, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We spent one night here while waiting for my parents' much delayed Amtrak. Had they come in on time, they would have been with us. The room had 2 queen beds and little room for anything else, same with the bathroom. It was clean and adequate for our needs. However, the staff was exceptionally nice! When I checked in, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank 123LeAMP
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

The room was small, but clean. Bed was ok, no tv, no wifi...not even a coffee maker! It needs more electrical outlets. We could hardly find an outlet to plug in our smart phones. (Even tho we had no cell service!!). I've been told that this property is owned by the same people who own the high end hotel in... More 

Helpful?
Thank lianamagee
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2016

From the door of your motel you can see the entrance sign to Glacier National Park. While this is a fairly standard motel, the location is amazing and the room is sufficient. The people are very friendly and are more than willing to help.

Helpful?
Thank Mcjimmay
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
724 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2016

We rented two rooms; one for ourselves, and one for a family member. Both rooms were clean, with comfortable beds. The motel is just across the road from the entrance to the national park, so very convenient.

Helpful?
Thank Professional-Pilgrim
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We stayed at this hotel which was close to Glacier National Park. Fortunately, I read the reviews and asked for a room on the bluff and I understand why. This is a basic hotel, it has no WiFi or TV so if you are person that likes your home comforts, this is not for you. Rooms were roomy and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank ozhelen63
Hawaii
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2015

This is literally the closest lodging to the west entrance of Glacier National Park. It is adjacent to a merchant center which includes a cafe, mercantile, grocery, general store, and post office. Across the street is a gas station and laundromat. The property is divided into two sections with the office and some motel rooms are located on Going-to-the-Sun Road... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tripster714
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

Great little town at the entrance of the park. Raft company in town. Cool bar with cool pictures. Can't wait to go back it was great I loved it. The river right near town was beautiful. Lots of wildlife and good fly fishing in and around the park.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cody R
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Arrived here on my birthday ! What a disappointment . Very small room stained carpet and chair and 2 pieces of utility furniture . Comfortable clean bed thankfully and able to open window safely so that was good .

Helpful?
1 Thank Pat P
Glacier Park I, Manager at West Glacier Motel, responded to this review

Hi Pat P, thank you for taking some time to provide a review of your stay at West Glacier. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room and that the carpet wasn’t as clean as it could have been. We are happy that you had a comfortable bed. We hope the rest of your birthday was more... More 

Travellers are raving about these West Glacier hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

If you're visiting Glacier National Park, you have a few options in terms of accommodations. You can stay at the expensive lodges in the park, you can camp, or you can go with a motel outside the park. Given that the lodges book up about six months in advance, we didn't have many options (we weren't going to camp this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank termie_g
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed in one of the rooms that are in the rows along the road. With only one window, it made for a very warm evening. Even with a fan, it was hard to sleep. The room was very small for four of us. It was clean, though.

Helpful?
1 Thank K R

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.6 km away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
301 reviews
0.7 km away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
331 reviews
3.6 km away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
190 reviews
11.7 km away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
270 reviews
7.5 km away
Glacier Under Canvas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about West Glacier Motel

Address: P.O. Box 398, West Glacier, MT 59936
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Price Range: RM333 - RM694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
West Glacier Hotel West Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from West Glacier Motel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from West Glacier Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can, rent your own cabin for privacy, more space and a kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles DarrylL833, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“motel has two sections. There is a seperate section with cabins at another location which is right next to the river”
 of 5 bubbles Anandrajk, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles 710peggyr, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a cabin on the bluff! Don't stay in the motel on the bottom, I'm sure it's noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles sdkelly, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay up on the Bluff”
 of 5 bubbles dnh2014, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5