We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

PricelineUS$77*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 293: English reviews
Start your review of Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
 Click to rate
Goose Creek
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Rooms are very clean, staff was friendly. It is within walking distance of downtown. No breakfast, but I do believe they have coffee in the front office. Have stayed here multiple times. Would recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at The Mountain House Inn! We appreciate your business! We look forward to seeing you all next time!

Battle Creek, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This motel is very close to downtown. Because it is within close walking distance, it is a great low cost place to stay. However it is old and not kept up well. We were also given a smoking room which was very smelly. Don't expect much and you will be happy you stayed here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Misty H
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Mountain House Inn, we do appreciate your feed back. We only have 2 smoking rooms out of 57 rooms and they both smell like smoke. We clean and spray an air freshener to help but unfortunately they still smell like smoke. I pulled your reservation just to make sure there wasn't an...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location is the best part of this motel! It is maybe a 3 minute walk to the parkway. The woman at the front desk was very friendly when we checked in. We were early and she let us park then come back for check in. Great customer service. Everything was very clean and pretty well kept. We could even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nip123
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at The Mountain House Inn. We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This place was very clean. The knob on our shower was broken and there is not much lighting. However, the beds were comfortable and maid service was good. Good distance from strip. The owners seemed a little overwhelmed, but were friendly. It did smell overwhelmingly of weed at about 10 or 11 both nights we stayed. Overall, a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesuslove116
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Mountain House Inn. We look forward to seeing you all soon!

Reviewed 13 March 2017

Trip was the first weekend in March. Very nice at check in joked with us made us both feel welcome from that moment. Also as we where heading to eat stopped his car and asked us if everything was OK. Which made us feel better about the choice of this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rijo1553
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at The Mountain House Inn! We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Banner Elk, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This Hotel is a DUMP.... I read the reviews and booked this hotel through expedia.com but What a MISTAKE!!! There are No Interior Safety Locks on the doors!! I have never stayed in a Hotel that has No Interior Safety Lock on the door. This is One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The older man who...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank southslope777
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't have a good stay with us. We are a small christian family owed motel and try to keep our rates down to where people can afford to come and bring their family without it costing a lot and offer a clean room and friendly service. We have been offering a 15% discount through...

Augusta, Georgia
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Since the Kingwood Inn burned in the great arson fire of November 2016, I have been left without a place to stay in Gatlinburg. I recently tried the Mountain House Inn on Newton Lane and was not disappointed. The Mountain House is clean, basic comfort on a relatively quiet street. The staff gives real customer service if you remember what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael M
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that we could be of service to you. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Barboursville, West Virginia
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Family of 5 came down for the weekend.. Stay was perfect.. Owners were very nice and extremely grateful.. This was our first time staying here, and you can't beat the location.. Instead of driving from Pigeon Forge, sitting in all that traffic, and then having to pay to park, we decided to stay here, and again, it was perfect.. Walked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Weare4Marshall
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us at The Mountain House Inn! We greatly appreciate you giving us a try! We also give a 10% repeat guest discount so the for your next trip to the Smokies give us a call and let us know you've stayed with us before and we'll make sure you get the discount and...

Reviewed 27 February 2017

We have decided over the last few years to "stay local" when visiting Gatlinburg. On this trip, we chose the Mountain House Motor Inn, and we were so very pleased with out choice. The gentleman in the office was so friendly and personable. The room was very clean and comfortable and had plenty of space for our family with 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy M
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and for staying with us here at The Mountain House! We give a 10% discount for our repeat guest just give us a call and we'll take care of you all next time! Thanks again!

Lake Charles, Louisiana
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

This motel is very clean and our Friend Luann is a very sweet person(the manager) they cater to you as best to their ability. Its also within walking distance of the strip and very reasonable prices. So go on and check them out. No breakfast but have a cup of coffee and say hi to Luann.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CAMOGIRL1974
kendall H, Manager at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and staying with us here at The Mountain House! We look forward to seeing you all soon!

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (49)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (14)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (Alternative) (13)
Viewed
King Room (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.9 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
442 reviews
1.2 km away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.5 km away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#20 of 78 in Gatlinburg
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Address: 247 Newton Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3537 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: RM339 - RM440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would try a 2nd floor room to insure an even quieter stay.”
mikaelos, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lower level rooms are more convenient if you have plenty of luggage.”
RobertC117, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 301 opens directly to the pool. Use Baskins Creek bypass to get to highway 321 to skip a lot of traffic if traveling this way.”
SouthSeaPirate, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Accessible to everything!”
elizzierussell, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms farther to the back will be quieter (front rooms near office are close to a fairly busy little intersection.”
jakeanddolly, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$77* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$77
Booking.comUS$89
Expedia.comUS$77
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates