We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

820 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 813: English reviews
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

If you're wanting a courtyard by Marriott, then you will be disappointed, but if you want a nostalgic, older hotel with huge rooms and an excellent location, this is the place for you! We stayed in the building called "Duckwatch" and it sets right on the creek, with great views of the fish and ducks in the water below. Yes,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darrin V
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are pleased to learn that you were able to enjoy of our large units and prime location during your visit. We can assure you that we are working hard to improve a number of features that we offer at our resort. Our staff is always happy to...

Paducah, Kentucky
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This Hotel was absolutely horrible, We had a room on the hill, and the only way to get up there once you have parked, is walking up and down very steep hills, or walk all the way to the other end and go down steps outside. Had to go all the way down to the bottom of the hill for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliaB4795CY
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Your honest feedback is appreciated. We are disappointed to see that you may have encountered some concerns with your recent stay. Please be advised that our staff is always willing to accept special requests, including those for a more accessible unit. We hope that all additional concerns were fully resolved by our resort management. It would be an honor if...

Athens, Tennessee
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

I was very disappointed with this Hotel. We had to wait for our room and went to the Drafts Bar and Grill which is in their add for hotel amenities and realized that they say they offer an extensive draft beer and cocktails list to find they only serve beer. The room was on top of a massive hill and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reneeleamon
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us. We are saddened to learn that you may have been disappointed with your visit. We apologize for our current limited selection at our Drafts Sports Bar & Grill; we understand your frustrations however we can assure you that we will have a more extensive selection upon your...

NW Indiana
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Place needs touch up of normal wear and tear things that appear not to have been done for a while. Room is dated but clean.Staff at front desk are extremely friendly and helpful. They need to offer a room discount for the restaurant which is on the property. In walking distance to everything downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guardgrey51
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Your honest comments are appreciated. It brings us pleasure to learn that you found satisfaction in our friendly staff and convenient location. We are saddened to please be advised that cleanliness is of priority to us, and our housekeeping team is in place to ensure that each unit is up to par prior to the arrival of our guests. We...

Conway, New Hampshire
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We had to stay here last minute and booked it because of price. None of the lights except one worked. When you turned the fan/heat/light in the bathroom you got a burning smell. Finally, on the 3rd night the air conditioning just completely stopped working. Normally I can use the soap available in any hotel. Not the case here. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike S
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It disappoints us to learn that you may have encountered some concerns during your recent visit. Please be advised that we are constantly working hard to improve our property. We certainly hope that all of your possible concerns were brought to the attention of our resort staff to...

Jasper, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 1 November 2016

we went up for a weekend trip spur of the moment. We stayed here for both nights. We supposedly got a good deal thru Westgate Resorts, Which was a crock. If you are expecting anything to be like the other Westgate Resorts you will be badly mistaken. It is out dated. The beds were uncomfortable and the bathroom was falling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are saddened to see that you may have been disappointed by your recent visit to our resort. The satisfaction of our guests is very important to us, and our resort staff is in place to best cater to all of your needs. Please be advised that our...

Palm Bay, Florida
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We are used to Marriott and Holiday Inns. This place had an unforgettable view, great access to the main attractions of the area, and the bed was comfortable. It was overall a decent place. Not flash or upscale at all. The elevator was broken for several days which made the in-laws on the 6th floor miserable. The hotel apparently compensated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kailyn D
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us. We are delighted to learn that you found satisfaction in our Smoky Mountain views, accessibility, and comfort. We never intend to inconvenience you in any way, and are always willing to do what we can to better your experience. Our desire is to provide an exceptional experience...

Decatur
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Upon arrival, we checked in, coursed our way upward towards the Tower 5 of rooms...approximately 1/4 mile straight up. An obstacle course if walking up and down. No outdoor pool; unless you want to swim in duck dun. Another outdoor pool as advertised was already shut down for the season. Refreshment soda machines did not work...multiple attempts. Walked around area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbarakadams
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us. We are disappointed to see that you may have encountered some concerns with your recent visit. Please be advised that our resort staff would be happy to offer one of our lower level units, to better accommodate your party as long as it is available. We never...

Reviewed 27 October 2016

I booked a river view room for one night. The room was sub-par for the price and the only thing river view about it was it was on the side of the hotel that the river was on. There was no view. The room was clean, but musty. Very outdated decor. Worst bathroom of any place I ever stayed at....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Your honest comments are appreciated. We are saddened to see that you may have had a less than exceptional experience with us. We are currently in the process of updating our resort, to better accommodate our staff. We would be happy to offer one of our already updated units, as long as our availability permits. It is our hope that...

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Room smelled very bad when we first walked in. Musty? Mold? Dust? Old carpet? I don't know what the smell was but it stank. Dirty shower liner (black spots on it). Bathtub drain clogged. Bathroom reeks of urine. Hot water ran out halfway through running a bath!! Bed clothes were stained. Carpet was ripped. COUCH was stained. Even the LAMP...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abigail S
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We are terribly disappointed to see that you may have had a less than satisfying visit with us. Our entire staff is at hand to best cater to all of your needs. Cleanliness is of high importance to us, and our housekeeping team is in place to ensure that each unit is...

342 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (326)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 km away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 78 in Gatlinburg
874 reviews
1.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 78 in Gatlinburg
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,128 reviews
1.2 km away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#36 of 78 in Gatlinburg
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: RM428 - RM785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from River Terrace Resort & Convention Center staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from River Terrace Resort & Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles bluedynaglide, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“confirm parking before accepting room key.”
 of 5 bubbles 33kimt, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors with a balcany”
 of 5 bubbles aaronj541, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Arrive very early if you hope to get what you reserved.”
  • Gross...
  • Dirty tub...
  • Dead cockroach on the floor outside our door.
  • Dead cockroach on the floor outside our door.
  • Everything but the tv was outdated.
  • Not so great compared to the river view we were supposed to get.
  • Dirty tub...
 of 5 bubbles H6353FMjessicab, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don not know if there is a good room. Maybe there is now.”
 of 5 bubbles damonf553, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5