We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chalet Inn

Expedia.comUS$87*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$90*
US$87*
US$90*
US$87*
US$90*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Chalet Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chalet Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 228: English reviews
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Reasonable, close to everything and walking distance, scenic views, and just an awesome experience, for me and my family. We will return to this again. Everything was amazing! I will say the best part was watching the bears go threw the dumpster beside where we parked.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E2904LSmichellec
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your time at our Chalet Inn. Being within walking distance to everything is a great perk and we are glad you found it convenient for your trip. The views from this location are beautiful especially during the fall when all the leaves are changing and the bears are very active...

Mattoon, Illinois
Reviewed 26 October 2016

First things first: when you're ready to check in, find the Econo Lodge and start there. There is no check in at the actual Chalet Inn location and the EL is way easier to find. The entire hotel is spread out over several different buildings and apparently used to be the lodge for Ober Gatlinburg (if I understood correctly). It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LongTimeComing1974
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Our Chalet Inn is an older location and holds a rustic charm. We are in the process of updating. The Econo Lodge use to be the lower half of the Chalet Inn and you are correct, it is easier for our guests to find. There are many different room types...

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the room. Great location not far from the middle of downtown but very quiet and quaint. Sure, they could do things to restore what was once a wonderful hotel, but still a nice place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jml2149
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay at our Chalet Inn. Our location is a great asset being within walking distance to everything yet far enough away to still enjoy the peaceful scenery the Smokies has to offer. We are in the process of updating some areas of the Chalet Inn but the rustic...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Do not trust the pics on the travel websites. The ladies at the Econo Lodge registration desk were fabulous but after that the Fabulous Chalet lost it. We were placed in room 205, a small corner room in the basement with windows but no view. The furniture was damaged, the carpet was old, there was only 1 pillow on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jduncan1976
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for any inconveniences you may have had during your time with us, but we thank you for your review. Our guests are very important to us and the reviews help us better our property. The Chalet Inn is an older property and we are updating. It has a rustic charm to it. We are sorry it did not...

beamsville, ON
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Stayed here overnight on our way to Nashville. There is no office for check-in onsite. You have to go down the hill to the Econo-lodge to check-in. Strange. The main building where our room was smelled musty as soon as you entered. The room was clean but still needed aired out. Was much better once we opened the door to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eezydivr
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the input from our guests because it gives ways to better our property. We always want you to enjoy your getaway and we are glad you did. Our maintenance department has been informed on the concern you mention with the A/C units. We will be checking them all. If you ever have any...

Maryville, Tennessee
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed earlier this week at the fabulous chalet. We have stayed here three times before, and while it has been dated, we were definitely happy with our stay. Not this time. Upon arrival, we had to change rooms three times. The first room we stayed in has obvious urine stains all over the bed and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smhorn2010
Clifford, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Dated, but a cute little chalet. Location was perfect for the price, and most important - it was clean. We had a fabulous view from our windows of the mountains. Saw a bear each night! Beautiful town and the Smokey Mountains are a great place to visit. Staff was very kind. One gentleman had to give me directions to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elmo1959
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled our Chalet Inn met your expectations. It is and older property but we strive to give every guest a clean and comfortable stay. The views are amazing and the wildlife is very active at this property. We are happy you enjoyed it. We will make sure to share your kind words with...

Wheelersburg
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Weekend getaway with family. It's older but nice, the staff was great, very spacious room, beds were VERY comfortable, the balcony was nice with a view of Gatlinburg which is beautiful at night. Very worth the price (Which was very affordable), we didn't take advantage of the free breakfast because we made plans to eat out elsewhere so I'm not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank selma h
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for the wonderful review and sharing your experience with fellow travelers. You are correct we are an older hotel, but we do everything we can to make our guest feel welcome and comfortable. We are very proud of the staff we have working for us and we will make sure to share your recognition with them. They...

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Everything works. It isn't anything fancy. It's actually pretty dated, but it is a dry, clean, warm place to sleep. It's walking distance from the strip. The address listed by Expedia doesn't match the property's physical location. You check in at the econolodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DieTryingHTFU
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you found the location convenient for your trip. This property is walking distance to the Parkway but yet secluded enough to still enjoy the peaceful scenery. The views are breathtaking of the Smoky Mountains,...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 October 2016

I was a little skeptical when we drove up to the hotel. This isn't the usual type of hotel I book as I prefer an indoor entrance. I get a little freaked out by the doors right next to the parking lot. But - it was a last minute booking and one of only a few rooms left in my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fof1316
Micki P, General Manager at Chalet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us a fellow travelers. The Chalet Inn is an older property and it has a lot of unique charm. It has more of the cottage/cabin feel to it. We are in the process of updating this property. The views from this location are amazing and very relaxing after a long day exploring Gatlinburg....

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
1.6 km away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
1.5 km away
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
PARKVIEW INN & SUITES
#66 of 77 in Gatlinburg
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
441 reviews
1.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.5 km away
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
#42 of 77 in Gatlinburg
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Resting majestically above the town, Chalet Inn maintains the kind of rustic elegance once known to all great smoky mountain resorts. The Inn's landscaped surroundings, mountain stone architecture and charming character-filled rooms make you feel a world away. Yet, the attractions of Gatlinburg are just a few blocks away. The Inn is just two blocks from Ober Gatlinburg Aerial Tramway, with Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies just 5 blocks away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chalet Inn

Address: 516 Sunset Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3122 (Formerly Fabulous Chalet Inn)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: RM273 - RM584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chalet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fabulous Chalet Hotel Gatlinburg
Best Western Gatlinburg
Fabulous Chalet Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chalet Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Chalet Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Romm 201 awesome”
131valeriew, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“do not stay in the top right room get a bigger hot water tank .”
monalisa6322, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the panoramic room if its available. It looked neat and the balcony view is good.”
LongTimeComing1974, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room sizes vary a lot. Some very spacious, some average.”
jml2149, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The main building smelled musty, not sure what the other building was like. Open the balcony door for a while to let some fresh air in.”
eezydivr, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$87* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$87
PricelineUS$90
TripAdvisorUS$87
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates