We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Edgewater Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

904 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 901: English reviews
Start your review of The Edgewater Hotel
 Click to rate
Ellisville, Mississippi
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Extremely pleased with the rooms, breakfast, pool, and staff. Two small fusses-elevator service is SLOW! Also, there is no place for busses to drop off and pick up passengers with ease. Particularly in inclement weather. Both those things are out of their control. We would definitely stay here again! Easy access to the Gatlinburg strip...walking distance to everything!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
Morganton, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was fantastic! We walked to the main strip from the hotel. The indoor/outdoor pool and 2 hot tubs were amazing! The food was ok, but it was free. There was ample parking space, and I loved the balcony to let fresh air in and let bathing suits dry. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharonda P
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Edgewater. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable and you were able to use the our newly renovated pool and hot tubs. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon. Best Regards,

Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to stay with wonderful staff! The Edgewater has free parking, and the also have free breakfast served each morning. The check in and check out process is fast and easy. All of the staff are friendly, smiling, and always willing to help.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rleonard02
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again when travel plans bring you back to the Gatlinburg area. Best Regards,

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Edgewater for a conference in early April. We had the pleasure of meeting a lot of the staff, from housekeeping, maintenance, front desk, business office, laundry..... etc., and each and every person we met was amazing. They went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant experience, which it definitely was. We extended our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amy A
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Edgewater. I appreciate your comments. I'm glad you were able to meet our staff and they were gave you excellent customer service. It sounds like you had a nice time in our Great Smoky Mountains. We look forward to hosting you again when travel plans bring you back our...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel, I stayed at the Edgewater for a conference in the beginning of April 2017. As part of the advance crew for the conference we met with the hotel staff approximately 4 or 5 times before the first guest arrived. Each and every time the hotel staff bent over backwards to accommodate us each time we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reggie H
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Edgewater on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your recommending us to others. I will pass on all of your comments to our staff. Thank you again for staying at the Edgewater. We look forward to hosting you again when you are next in the Gatlinburg area. Best Regards,

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Two concerning incidents occurred during our one night stay here. I took a shower, back in the room after a visit to the pool, and while using a towel supplied by the hotel I felt a sharp pain in the area I was drying my face. On inspection, I discovered that a sewing needle had been threaded into the seem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting regarding your stay at the Edgewater. I sincerely apologize for your negative experience and that you have not been contacted. Due to confidentiality restrictions, your tour group does not give us individual information other than names. If you would be so kind to call me directly at the hotel, toll free at 800-423-9582, I can address...

Kansas City, Mo.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night here while travelling through the area. After seeing the rating, reviews and deals for this hotel we decided to call the hotel directly. It turned out that the special low prices found on many of the websites were only for the mountain view side of the hotel. We wanted the city\river view which is at a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MountainMurf
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Edgewater. Your comments are appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the view on the riverside. It's the best view of the mountains for sure. We are in the process of doing some renovations and upgrades to the hotel. One of those upgrades is to add a charging station to our...

Rockaway, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

Basic hotel room, each with a balcony. The hotel sits on the river's edge so try to get a room in the front (though this will face parking lots behind Parkway, the street with the shops, ours looked over the employee parking lot and maintenance storage area. Housekeeping was prompt and efficient. No restaurant or bar area within the hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheOtherLisa
Crofton, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although the hotel is older, it is very clean. Rooms have a mini frig, microwave, ad coffee pot. The view on the river side is great. Nice indoor-outdoor pool with hot tub and workout room. The staff was friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lwill3607
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. I'm glad you enjoyed our amenities, especially our newly renovated pool area. The new slide for the kids is really a hit. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your future visit when travel plans bring you back to the Gatlinburg area. Best Regards,

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We traveled there over Spring Break. The room was on the smaller side and a little outdated, but it was nice to have a balcony attached to the room. Ask for a creekside room, we had a room facing the parking lot but there was a nice view of the mountainside. The pool was a lot of fun, it has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jesshoperose
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Edgewater. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us and are glad you had a nice stay. I apologize that you did not get the riverside, but am glad your view on the mountainside was acceptable. Perhaps next time you visit we can make sure you face the river. We look forward to...

339 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (226)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (103)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (Mountain Side) (23)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (River View) (24)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.6 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.6 km away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
294 reviews
0.6 km away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: RM427 - RM911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Edgewater Hotel staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from The Edgewater Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The best view is the city\river side as high as possible.”
MountainMurf, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“if you want a good view, ask for the creekside rooms. If you want quiet, ask for the mountain side views.”
jesshoperose, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a view of river.”
Christolphe, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a waterside view!”
Emiliamd13, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the mountain side are quiet and peaceful.”
ahaskell, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5