We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rorke's Drift Lodge

Save
Traveller (100)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good19%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“self catering”(19 reviews)
“spiral staircase”(12 reviews)
“honesty bar”(8 reviews)
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Kitchenette
Laundry Service
Paid Wifi
Breakfast included
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (268)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Rorke's Drift Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
202
50
6
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
202
50
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringspiral staircasehonesty barhorse ridingfarm trackaccess roaddirt trackconverted water towerbattlefield tourvw polobeautiful locationapproach roadwe loved our staypre orderfriendly dogslow slungpacked lunch
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017

I booked Rorkes Drift Lodge expecting something different and slightly luxurious. I wasn't disappointed. The accommodation was fantastic (be sure to either order your food, or shop before you arrive)... Paul's tour was great, very informative and very interesting, he even managed to win over...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Justin B
Response from RorkesChris, Owner at Rorke's Drift LodgeResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review and taking the time to write it. We do not get many children on our tours because of the boredom factor and we are pleased that your 11 year old enjoyed his day too.

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here for a couple of nights. It take longer than anticipated to arrive and do not follow google maps as we did! Had a lovely detour round some african villages but perhaps should have read their website directions. Charles was...More

Thank Holidaydiva28
Response from RorkesChris, Owner at Rorke's Drift LodgeResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for writing this review, however, I think you have posted it on the wrong page. Charles is at Rorke's Drift Hotel and we are Rorke's Drift Lodge.

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our trip and stay in Rorke's Drift from the first second we started heading Rorke's Drift. We had fun with exploring and reading the sign's to the lodge/farm. Beautiful landscapes and great welcome! We were lucky to sleep in the "tower" kubili. The...More

Thank Mariska S
Response from RorkesChris, Owner at Rorke's Drift LodgeResponded 9 October 2017

Thanks for a great review. And thank you for giving advice about the length of stay, we also think people should stay for 3 nights to experience more than just the battlefields. We hope that we will see you again sometime.

Reviewed 10 August 2017

We visited the Battlefields, as this was something my husband wanted to do for a long time. I wasn't fussed, but agreed to do this. I have to say Staying in Rorkes Drift, at Rorkes Drift Lodge and spending the day with Paul at Rorkes...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rachelrU2103DI
Response from RorkesChris, Owner at Rorke's Drift LodgeResponded 9 October 2017

Thanks for this review. And also, thanks for pointing out the lack of Wi-Fi. It is a bit of a downer to not have wi-fi available for guests but logistically it is a challenge. However, sometimes when we don't have it we see and do...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017

We had the pleasure of staying at the lodge for two nights and spent a day with Paul visiting Rorkes Drift and Isandlwana. The lodges were large and well appointed with wonderful views over the rolling hills. The food was good and plentiful and we...More

Thank Cymru_15
View more reviews
PreviousNext
13456753
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Details
Price range
US$96 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
US$96 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (100)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
BushBaby181
6 August 2014|
Answer
Response from Rorke's L | Property representative |
Dear Mel, Thank you for contacting us about your planned holiday.I take it the ages of the children is their future age and not their present age. Our self catering unit Kune would most likely be the most suitable if you... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ask for a room with a view"
Read review
"We stayed in Lodge 5 which ahd panoramic views of the surrounding countryside"
Read review
"All have good views ,one has spiral staircase down to loo"
Read review
"Do not use a sports vehicle that has a low suspension!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing