We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Isibindi Zulu Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Start your review of Isibindi Zulu Lodge
 Click to rate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very poor management - staff nice but over all very badly run. Toilets not working, fan broken, beds old, soap etc poor quality. Just such a rip off for that sort of money. Not what I expected of this group !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emilycL9340SL
IsibindiAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear emilycL9340SL, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at Isibindi Zulu Lodge. We appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to our Operations Manager for her urgent attention. We are delighted to advise you that we are doing a total renovation of the bathrooms and refubishment of the bedrooms at Isibindi...

Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two nights to visit the Battlefields. Very nice lodge, attentive staff, good food The rooms were well-appointed and of interesting architecture, with great views, but could do with some refurbishment. However, everything was clean and functioning. Food was nice and I had a lovely birthday cake. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaapv
IsibindiAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jaapv, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Isibindi Zulu Lodge. We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay and take great pleasure in advising you that we are doing a complete renovation of the bathrooms and refurbishing the rooms. This will be complete by the end of July this year....

Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Isibindi is lovely place and the lodge manager Bruce and his team make it very special. The rooms are small and do need refurbishment. But thanks to the staff attention and care you will love the place. The capacity is 6 rooms with very intimate atmosphere. The local Zulu dancing is perfect and personal. It is no tourist trap. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomas E
IsibindiAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tomas E Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at Isibindi Zulu Lodge. We are so delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our wonderful local dancers and history of the area. You will be pleased to know that we are renovating all...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Isibindi and we cannot say enough good things about the experience. Bruce the manager and the staff were great- he spent time chatting to us and other guests and was very interesting. The zulu dancing was lovely and the traditional meal added to the experience and although the weather was not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vodkatwister100
IsibindiAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear vodkatwister100 Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay at Isibindi Zulu Lodge. We are so delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us and that your husbands boyhood dream was all and more than he "dreamed" about. We wish you much happiness. Kind Regards Yolande for Isibindi Africa Lodges

Reviewed 1 March 2017

We spent 7th to 9th Feb 2017 two days at the isibindi Zulu Lodge. Very nice location with great accomodation for max 12 people (6 separate rondavels). Nicole and Marnus are great hosts and offer together with their staff excellent service. Princess ... their cook ... she is a queen of the kitchen. We had a personal game drive together...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mario T
IsibindiAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mario T, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay with us at Isibindi Zulu Lodge. We have conveyed your compliments to our queen of the kitchen, Princess. We do so love to hear that you so enjoyed your stay at the Lodge and hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Given that Kwa Zulu land is renowned for its wonderfu views it was disappointing to find Isibindi tucked in to the forest with no views. We found this claustrophobic! Otherwise it was charming wiht helpful and cheerful service.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 291susani
IsibindiAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 291susani, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us and we are so thrilled that you so enjoyed the charming and helpful service. We are surprised at your comments regarding the lack of views as the spectacular views over the reserve is something Isibindi Zulu Lodge is noted for and so many...

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

What a gem! Everything about this beautiful lodge was perfect, from the beehive -shaped individual lodges, to the picnic on the reserve watched by giraffe and zebra. Plenty to do on site plus the opportunity to spend evocative day seeing the sheer scale of Isandlwana and Rorke's Drift made this an excellent introduction to Africa. Nicole, Marnus and team could...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KateOD_10
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. The Battlefield area is very special steeped in history and what better way than to spend it at Isibindi Zulu Lodge. We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Quite tucked away, but the directions provided were excellent. The actual game drive was disappointing with a lack of game to find. All staff really friendly and helpful and the accommodation was well kept. The Zulu evening was excellent with the local children putting on a great display.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 671barryg
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the cultural experiences. Isibindi Zulu Lodge has Plains Game, so unfortunately you will not find the big 5 there. We suggest you visit Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge in Hluhluwe iMfolozi, perhaps this will give you the game experience you are after. Best Regards, Dee Wilson

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

6 secluded Zulu styled huts set in a lovely location Food was first class We were taken on a game drive and walk and were thrilled to see many giraffes close up Good location to visit the Rorkes Drift battlefield All the staff were helpful

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive C
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are thilled you had such a fabulous time and got to see Giraffe close up like that.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We had the most wonderful two night stay. The first night after a safari it became very cold and we were made to feel very special with dinner inside and a log fire. Nicole and her husband spent lots of time talking with us and answering all our question. The staff were a delight. We spent the second day with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mickey39
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We are thrilled you had such a fabulous time. Our staff do go out of their way to make guests feel special and its wonderful when guests recognise that. We hope to see you again in the not so distant future.

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
132.0 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
7.4 km away
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#2 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
236 reviews
14.6 km away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
3 reviews
0.0 km away
Battlefields Country Lodge
7.5 km away
No photo provided
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#5 of 9 in Dundee
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 12 bed lodge is a peaceful, bushveld retreat with accommodation designed in an architectural celebration of the Zulu nation and offers a host of activities for those wanting to experience a combination of game viewing, Zulu culture and the Anglo-Zulu Battlefields. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Isibindi Zulu Lodge

Address: C/- Isibindi Africa Lodges, 52 Osborn Road | Isibindi Game Reserve, Rorke's Drift, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Price Range: RM1,534 - RM1,667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Isibindi Zulu Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Isibindi Zulu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Isibindi Zulu Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Isibindi Zulu Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wait until it has been refurbished and has a new manager - very over priced ”
emilycL9340SL, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“After 45 years of marriage we finally got the honeymoon suite! It give gorgeous views, especially at sunset, over the terrain and was very comfortable.”
KateOD_10, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Open the doors in the morning, sit in bed with a cup of tea and enjoy the view.”
davidrH2608QJ, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are lovely with private settings.”
LadyOLeisure, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Each room has incredible views”
HillyBull, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Priceline
Hotels.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates