We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lemala Explorer Tarangire

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Lemala Explorer Tarangire
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

10 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 6: English reviews
Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The tented camp was our first stop on our journey through Tanzania. It was an amazing, The staff was very kind, we really felt like being part of heir family. The tents had everything you can expect from an 5* hotel room. Food was delicious. Nothing to complain about, our stay could not be any better!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michel R
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Explorer Tarangire, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review on Trip Advisor and share your comments with other fellow travellers. We really appreciate it. We had done some intense training on our food and menus in the low season and from your comments it seems like it has all paid off. thanks once again Regards Veronica

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our first night we were served an excellent meal and, I must confess, a bit of wine. All through the night I thought I heard lions. In the morning, camp staff told us, "Not to worry, they were 100 yards away and they don't roar when they are hunting." We stayed in two Lemala camps and both were excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Explorer Tarangire, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We really do appreciate it. am delighted you had a wonderful stay with us and that the Lions didnt keep you up all night. Warm regards Veronica Otter

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I am going to caveat everything i say below by saying that this was by far the most expensive place we stayed. The Lemala Tarangire was lovely. We stayed there on nights 5+6 of a 12 day safari in October 13. The camp is towards the southern end of the national park - but i think that this is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon B
Marco Island, Florida
Reviewed 1 October 2013

For decades I've wanted to go to Africa and be immersed in "the Bush". I wanted to be part of the days up to and of "Out Of Africa". This wonder-filled tented camp delivered that ambiance with such charm. From the first greeting of Godwin Koruduni, the camp's manager, and his 14 member staff, I was living my dream! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
Burlingame, California
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Let me be frank...the Lemala Tarangire is a nice place (especially if you like tetse flies)...but we were "Lemala-ed out". Our Safari accommodations were too much of the same thing. Lemala Serengeti (Ewanjan), Lemala Ngongororo, and ending with Lemala Tarangire. While Tarangire Park was our favorite after Masai Mara, Kenya...the bucket showers of water smelling of smoke and unsteady pallet...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Emma H
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Explorer Tarangire, responded to this review

Dear Emma, thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lemala Tarangire. I would firstly like to apologise that your room attendant had suggested gratuity amounts to be paid. All of our staff are told and it is part of our policy that gratuities are something that guests can pay at their own discretion if they so...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2011

At the start we were a little apprehensive as it was our first tented camp; however our fears were soon laid to rest. It was luxiorous and very comfortable indeed. The tents had ensuite facilities with hot water for showers, flushing toilets and a dressing room. All the staff were very friendly, and helpful. By the time we left 48...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anta P

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
0.0 km away
Nimali Tarangire
Nimali Tarangire
#14 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
37 reviews
0.0 km away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#10 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
49 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
408 reviews
0.0 km away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
356 reviews
0.0 km away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
LEMALA EXPLORER MOBILE CAMPS are based on the pioneering safaris of yesteryear, where the essence is on the wildlife experience. These comfortable mobile camps follow the routes of the migratory herds, affording the best game viewing opportunities available. There are five standard and 1 family tent set under shady trees with amazing views of the Tanzanian wilderness. You are really in the middle of nowhere at these camps. All the tents are spacious and comfortable with 2 x 3/4 size beds fitted with warm duvets. There is wooden flooring with rugs, 24-hr solar lighting, en-suite bathrooms, flush toilet and a safari shower. The camp moves to Ndutu from Dec to March and then to the Grumeti area of Western Serengeti from May to June and then on to Tarangire from the middle of July to October. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lemala Explorer Tarangire

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Lemala Explorer Tarangire 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lemala Explorer Tarangire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lemala Explorer Tarangire staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is very quiet and private in this camp. Any tent would be in a great location. Tent 4 was my address and I thought it perfect - just steps from the dining/social tent.”
 of 5 bubbles 653cynthiac, 1 Oct 2013 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay