We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Boat House

Show Prices
#20 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Boat House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 71: English reviews
Start your review of The Boat House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice location, great breakfast options, beautiful grounds, 10 minutes to kep town and beach and 10 mins to crab market. Overall place is quiet with great breakfast and a pool table. Our room! It was dimly lit. Light in the room was terrible and lights leading up to the room were non existent. It was a dark and dangerous walk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rad M
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Dominique gaves us a warm welcome and we felt comfortable from beginning. We planned to stay 2 nights but ended up staying 5. We stayed in the khmer room: beautiful, spacious, wooden room with ambience and a big bathroom. Everyday the room has been cleaned and we got new towels. Our friend stayed in a room in the solid house,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth D
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 lovely nights there!the place is confy, and very beautiful.The feench owner was very friendly,we even ate a tasty plate of ham and paté with a great wine! We loved it,nice prices for nice place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agathe F
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

I absolutely loved the quaint and peaceful guesthouse. From the moment I arrived, until my departure the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful. I stayed in a one bedroom fan room, which was serviced daily with fresh sheets and towels. The shower was warm and the garden is so beautiful and quiet. There is a bar and pool table at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christie T
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We had booked 2 nights and stayed one extra because we really liked it. The staff and owner are very friendly and welcoming. The room is very good value for money and we particularly liked the fresh towels every day. The rooms are spacious, there is enough places to put your clothes, nicely decorated and the airco works very well....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annelies H
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

I chose the guesthouse following the good rewiews. But i was really disapointed, the room was very old , and Many things were broken . Despite this , the owner is really nice and the location is good .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soubs90
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Visited this guest house a few weeks ago.The room was nice enough and the setting was quite pretty. However the bathroom was tiny, which is fine, but it was clearly poorly cleaned and I couldn't bring myself to shower in it. The air conditioning system was broken, and through out the night spat water and even chunks of ice on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rahme v
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived to a beautiful setting, lush plants and perfectly manicured lawns and thought we struck gold till we met the owner who refused to speak English which is my second language too. We booked in via bookings.com so there was a record and a staff member tried to help. We eventually settled and got a tuc tuc to take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MirandaOosthuizen11
Tong B, Propriétaire at The Boat House, responded to this review

Please stop saying things that are not true ... 1 - We came back from Phonm Penh on july 14th at 5 PM, thus you have meet an unknown ! 2 - We don't have dog in our guesthouse, thus you criticize a customer and his dog ! 3 - If you don't like party... please don't go in a...

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

The male owner seemed to be completely disinterested in helping us find our room, or even acknowledging us as guests. Our $15 a night room was very small and disappointing. The air con was nice, but continually spat water over the bed, dropped ice chunks on the floor and would often stop and start. The toilet water incredibly small, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hendrik O
Tong B, Propriétaire at The Boat House, responded to this review

1 - You booked a double room with fan and you preferred a single room with AC to be closer of your parents ! It's your choice ! Stop complaining!  2 - We repaired the AC ! thanks to the description of a customer more intelligent than you ! A customer who prefers to speak live and not to write on...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We stayed in the main house for a few nights in February this year. Our room was lovely with a very comfortable bed and nicely decorated. Lovely and cool despite the punishing heat. The guest house is very conveniently located, about equidistant between the Crab Market and the beach, and close to the entrance of the national park. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueHG54

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 km away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.3 km away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#2 of 17 in Kep
535 reviews
0.7 km away
Kep Lodge
Kep Lodge
#9 of 17 in Kep
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Rega Kep Ma Campagne Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.0 km away
Bird of Paradise Bungalows
0.4 km away
Q Bungalows
Q Bungalows
#7 of 29 in Kep
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our guest house is located between the two hills close to the Kep National Park, 300 meters from the Kep beach. The house is a traditional wooden Khmer style. The restaurant serve a fine and traditional French cuisine made by our French chef with reasonable prices. Ideal for rest and family atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Boat House

Address: Beach Road, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Price Range: RM53 - RM101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Hotel Kep
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Boat House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would stay in the main house if given the choice.”
SueHG54, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Nice Travel Desk and Great food!”
BoulevardBrowser, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Maybe you'll be luckier than us ! Mistakes are possible but you have to be able to find solutions.”
Bene_the_bee, 12 Nov 2014 | Read review
“We particularly love the wooden rooms (numbers 3 and 5), house #1”
MarcoWagenaar, 1 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Offered nice refreshment on arrival!”
citybike, 5 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5