We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,935 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,530: English reviews
Start your review of The Grand Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Unfortunately only stayed for one night but you can imagine that this was once a truly grand hotel. It is unfortunately a little run down now but still maintains a certain charm. Afternoon tea is a must!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LS3005
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am back from a 2 night stay at the GRAND. First and foremost, Thank you for a fantastic stay! The reason for the journey was an educational tour to Kandy and Nuwara Eliya for my 8 year old. Chef Priyantha made sure that our stay was complete by organizing the excursion, showing us around the antique Billiard tables etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris e
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Grand in Eliya Nuwara is a beautiful, grand hotel that will take you back to grander tea plantation days! Even the attire of much of the staff is reminiscent of the grand tea plantations. From the time we drove up until driving away, I felt like royalty. There is plenty of assistance from courteous staff at every level, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aisley07
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Grand for one night. Met and welcomed by a member of staff who offered us tea, when I asked for coffee was told they don't usually offer coffee but eventually they did manage to bring me one! The hotel is old, dark, drab and a little depressing. No wifi in the room, no pool. We ate in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cambridge1018
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a wonderful visit at The Grand Hotel. The rooms are old and charming and very comfortable. The hotel staff is five star and everything is taken care of as you would expect such a nice hotel. The dining and the buffet are excellent. For activities you can walk around the town which is very close by. There's also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Billy_Whimwa
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Hotel, Nuwara Eliya. We are overwhelmed with your particular way in which you make it a point to write and share your experience and appreciation about our hotel, overall facilities, quality of...

Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I visited srilanka for about 1 week, and had a stop at nuwara eliya. I visited this hotel for lunch. staff were very friendly and welcoming, but for lunch the order took around 40 mins for a pizza. the atmosphere was great and overall the hotel is so nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anoudaoun
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to read your positive feedback on your excellent stay at Grand Hotel, Nuwara Eliya. It is inspiring to learn that you have had an overall satisfying experience indulging in warm hospitality and facilities on offer. I assure you that I will be personally looking into the concerns that you have noted about the order took...

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to enjoy the international buffet lunch on Sunday 16th April which turned out to be a disaster.The garden was lovely, “Great old hotel but poor Lunch options” The service in general and the running of the buffet restaurant needs some revision to meet international standards. But the Sri Lankan people in general are so wonderful and accommodating that it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thomasC9718ZQ
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest , We are saddened to hear that your experience at the Grand was below your expectations and assure you that the senior management of the Hotel have gone in to the details of your post and will take remedial action. The reason behind the importance we are paying for your comment is simply because, firstly, the experience you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in a climate 10 degrees cooler than most of Sri Lanka which apparently negates the necessity to provide a pool even though one would use it if available. Staff were disinterested or hiding most of the time so one had to go wandering to obtain service. No WiFi in rooms or restaurants was so antiquated in this day and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick0072013
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are continuing to improve and redevelop our facility in order to provide the very best in hotel accommodations. We will be looking into areas of concern that you have noted, Our swimming pool will be ready in a few months time and hope that your next...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The facade of the hotel lives up to its name when you pull in to the driveway. It's impressive on the outside but sadly in need of some major updates on the inside. There are lovely old nooks and crannies to explore in the immediate lobby and entry area but sadly the signs of decay are there. Our room itself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monticat1
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We truly appreciate your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. You have noted some deficiencies during your stay, and I will make sure that these items are looked after. I would like to thank you for staying with us, and I hope you...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It claims to be 5 star, but is not friendly for specially disabled people. Only one lift, old people are forced to either take lift and walk miles to reach their room or take steps. Bath tubs very narrow, old people can't get climb in it coz a bit high and nowhere to hold on. You are forced to live...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vmegumi
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are truly regret to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I would like to let you know that we are a four star hotel. We assure you that your feedback will not go unnoticed. We use our guest's reviews as reference to help us identify aspects that we need to improve to...

1,513 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1504)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (536)
Viewed
Dining (146)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (153)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Other (548)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
8.0 km away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
2,451 reviews
1.2 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
1,452 reviews
0.1 km away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
251 reviews
12.6 km away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
140 reviews
0.3 km away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: RM1,035 - RM1,205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My best tip is to find an alternative Hotel”
Mick0072013, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You must get rooms at new wing”
dimu007, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms are great”
185carolf, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No wifi But Grand as the name says”
666shirasm, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If with kids ask for a room with two king beds. They are huge and great to share with your children.”
chhimit, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5