We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

InterContinental New Orleans

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,038 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,000: English reviews
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff was easy and pilot, fast check in, beautiful hotel I mean gorgeous.Very clean rooms, clean restroom and shower. One of the best hotels I stayed so far. I Well definitely stay here again on my next visit. I will have to say the one disappointment my boyfriend and i had was housekeeping banging at our door around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ciscodianas
CA, USA
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This ia a lovely hotel.....albeit a tourist style hotel.....they upgraded me to suite, but did not make up for the first hand arrival....I believe that they still need some fine tuning, but do try very hard to make everything right. This hotel is located right in the middle of it all....and when they get things rights, they will be able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
John R, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Marc L, Thank you for the review. We appreciate the time you took to write about your experience. I'm sorry that we got off to a rough start. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay in 1401. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon and earning that 5th star. Safe travels....

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Clean, comfortable, convenient, courteous - a great home base for an outstanding weekend in The Big Easy. The location is convenient to the French Quarter, trolley lines, bus stops, the aquarium, the superdome, the steam boats - everything we wanted to see in NOLA. I would go back and do it all again. I wish I could remember the names...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
John R, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Mike A, Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided to you by Bianca, Christopher, Joseph and our team during your stay. We hope that you were able to dine in our signature restaurant Trenasse- it features local...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel too many times to count, I was there when the Mayor of New Orleans cut the ribbon to open the hotel in the early 80's. It was built on the sight of the Old Spaghetti House but anyway for 35 years I have stayed there. In the last several years I have been an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor L
John R, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Victor L, Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided to you by Erik and our team during your stay. We hope that you were able to dine in our signature restaurant Trenasse- it features local rustic Louisiana...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We checked into the Intercontinental on a Friday afternoon, around 1:30 pm. Granted, it was way before the 4:00 pm check-in, so we were told that our room was not available. We finished the check-in process, which was pretty straight-forward. The clerk told us to take our bags across the lobby and check them with the bellhop and they would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill R
John R, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Bill R, Thank you for your review of the hotel. We wish that you would have received our normal high level of service. Please let us know where we could have done better. joseph.quilio@icneworleans.com John Romano

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We arrived at a bad time, didn't know the parade was going to happen so had a terrible time getting to already paid for room! Room wasn't ready so left bags & valet parked since it was crazy getting to hotel! Nice policeman let us drive half block on closed street but told us we had to stay 4 hours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ty N W
John R, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Ty N W, Thank you very much for the review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided by our team. I am sorry that you arrived during a parade. You parked out front of our hotel- like a Boss. I hoped that you were able to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Me and my friends were in this hotel just for one night. We were three in one room. Room was very clean, bathroom also with enought space for all of us. Fast check in and out! Hotel is in nice location. Price was also good! Staff very kindly and helpfoul!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vol2party
John R, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear vol2party, Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided to you by our team during your stay. We hope that you were able to dine in our signature restaurant Trenasse- it features local rustic Louisiana fare. Of course...

Olympia, Washington
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our stay with the Intercontinental in New Orleans was very disappointing. We checked out early for another hotel. It was inconvenient, but worth it. There have been some bright spots. The concierge staff have been exceedingly helpful and friendly. The front desk staff have been friendly and helpful, within the authority. The location is pretty good. But those brights spots...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karlthelawyer
John R, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear karlthelawyer, Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am very sorry that we failed to deliver the normal high level of service to you during your stay. Please reach out to us so that we may make it right with you joseph.quilio@icneworleans.com Sincerely, John Romano

New Jersey
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed from Wednesday - Saturday and got a great rate for the room when we booked through the airline. The check in process was a breeze and the room was perfectly set when we got in, but I will note that they had all day since we didn't check in until 10pm after some flight delays. Overall, the quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courtney C
John R, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Courtney C, Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided to you by our team during your stay. We are glad to read that you were able to dine in our signature restaurant Trenasse- it features local rustic...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arrived about an hour after check-in and were told our room wasn't ready. After waiting over a half-hour we told them we wanted to cancel our reservation and we would find somewhere else to stay. Amazingly, our room was ready. Another lady in the lobby had been waiting for her room for over an hour. Once we got to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
John R, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this review

Dear Denise N, Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am very sorry that we failed to deliver the normal high level of service to you during your stay. Please reach out to us so that we may make it right with you joseph.quilio@icneworleans.com Sincerely, John Romano

603 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
4:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (160)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (242)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Corner Parlor Suite (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Balcony King Room (38)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Superior Double Queen Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (88)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
3,952 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4,558 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
6,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
3,515 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Compared to the more evocative monikers of some other parts of New Orleans, the downtown’s humdrum title might suggest that this area is all about business and little else. But don’t let the bland name keep you away from the Central Business District. The CBD offers a wide range of fun things to do that would be touted as exceptional in less jubilant corners of the world. Bordered by the French Quarter, the Arts District and Tremé, with the river at its eastern extreme, this hub for sports, gaming, shopping, theatre, family-friendly activities, and amazing regional cuisine makes a smart base wherever your interests lie.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Pete's Pub
Pete's Pub
Cuisines: American, Pub
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
InterContinental New Orleans enjoys one of the city's most coveted locations: two blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Harrah's New Orleans, six blocks from the riverfront and come Mardi Gras time a front row spot on the St. Charles Avenue parade route. The Morial Convention Center, Uptown and the Louisiana Superdome are also within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental New Orleans

Address: 444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130-3106
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Price Range: RM467 - RM1,522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Intercontinental
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental New Orleans staff and other travellers.
74 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (74)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental New Orleans staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1401 is a lovely suite on the top (room) floor”
 of 5 bubbles marcl242, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I was on the 9th floor and loved the balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 751MikeA, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony room, you will hear the street car passing on St. Charles. The hotel restaurant, LeTranasse is a great lunch spot.”
 of 5 bubbles Z3504XYvictorl, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the Canal Street side.”
 of 5 bubbles billrP6247IK, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Anything under 6th floor you'd probably only get a view of the buildings around it.”
 of 5 bubbles 307courtneyc, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay