We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Avenue Plaza Resort

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Avenue Plaza Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

652 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avenue Plaza Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 638: English reviews
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Essence Festival 2015. Stayed at resort July 3-6. I had a wonderful experience. The check-in was immediate after arriving around Noon during a busy weekend. Guest Services, check-in & bell men, were courteous and prompt. My room was clean and had a nice decor with a view of pool and jacuzzi. Trolly usage was changed because of road construction but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank misupet
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear misupet, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of our resort. Our associates take pride in insuring that all of our owners and guests have a FANTASTIC vacation experience in a like new product. I hope that the Essence Festival was all that you had hoped it to be and look forward to the opportunity...

Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

My parents are Wyndham owners (time share) and we took a family vacation. We had two one bedroom suites. The keys key cards would work once or twice then quit. In one day we had to replace 10 key cards. Only two elevators were in service, the third one had been broken down for two weeks. The guests had to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Luckygyrl1005
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Luckygyrl1005, I am very sorry to hear about the poor experience you had at our resort. I can certainly understand your frustration in regard to the room keys and elevators. We are aware of the room key issue and although it will not help what you experienced we are replacing the room key system with a new and imporoved...

Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

Located within walking distance of the beautiful Garden District. We had a nice, clean studio room with a king bed, flat screen TV, small kitchenette with standard refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, stove top, sink, table with 3 chairs, walk-in shower. The only thing we didn't like about the room was the bathroom set up. There was very little counter space in...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Tammy L
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. It is great to read about all the great experiences you had in our city and more importantly that our associates took such good care of you during you time at the resort. I am sorry about the air conditioning noise, I am happy to report that...

Arizona
Reviewed 26 June 2015

I believe that for many of us the people that make up the staff at most hotels, inns, motels et al make or break our experience. This Wyndham is a bit above your average rental or timeshare. Our experience was that the staff was above and beyond average. It was raining when we arrived and the bell guys were on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelertoo2
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 26 June 2015

This has been one of the worst experiences I have ever had. They gave me a room right behind the elevators. It sounds like the elevator it moving through all the walls of my room all night long. When I went to the front desk. I was informed of their in able to relocate my accommodations. This will be the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Glenn B
Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

Wyndham works hard to keep their units working well. This is no exception. The room was clean as well as the rest of the facility. The gym is the best part of the resort. The street cars were not working so we had trouble getting to the French Quarters. The staff always seemed frazzled, especially the hospitality desk which reminded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
Galveston Island, Texas
Reviewed 18 June 2015

The Avenue Plaza on St. Charles has had a renovation which makes it both comfortable and nicely updated. The location in the Garden District is both convenient(streetcar stop right outside) and beautiful. There are great tours, restaurants, and history just outside this property. And it is away from the touristy French Quarter, but easily reached if you want the buzz.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank braveheartww
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Nice hotel on St Charles st right on the street car line even though they are working on the tracks. They have a bus that takes you past the area they are working on. The hotel is nice and clean with weight room,spa,pool and hot tub. They have a lounge with TV, computer and free coffee. They have a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas S
Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed in French Quarter last fall and had great time. Tried Avenue Plaza in Garden District May 2015 and found facilities to be very acceptable with rates lower. Staff was outstanding and found that sightseeing around NOLA was just as easy as staying in FC. Timeshare facility but was not hassled as I had expected. Yes they will invite you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donna S
North Carolina
Reviewed 11 June 2015

We managed to get a last minute reservation which was incredible in itself. We fit 4 of us in a glorified hotel room with a small kitchenette. As we weren't there for the room, we did just fine. We were relieved to know that parking wasn't terribly priced and we even got a discount as owners. This was much safer...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank OurNCFamily

292 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#97 of 161 in New Orleans
218 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#47 of 161 in New Orleans
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#82 of 161 in New Orleans
750 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#107 of 161 in New Orleans
226 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#96 of 161 in New Orleans
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Address: 2111 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5320
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Price Range: RM567 - RM1,188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avenue Plaza Resort staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
Decatur, Illinois
Fort Wayne, Indiana

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Avenue Plaza Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the back of the resort, overlooking the courtyard. Good location with no outside noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 31joym, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to not get a room by the elevator or common areas....they are very loud.”
 of 5 bubbles Tetweeko, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Top floors have less street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles ElanieF, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing St. Charles Ave can be noisy during Mardi Gras and other party times.”
 of 5 bubbles jamescD274MS, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is dated but well maintained, everything works”
 of 5 bubbles goldenwds, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay