We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St. Vincent's Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St. Vincent\\
St. Vincent's Guest House
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for St. Vincent's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 502: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 March 2011

My time at St. Vincents was really great. I found the staff helpful and kind (especially Shane and Amber), the location unbeatable - close to uptown, downtown, and the French Quarter, and the amenities, while not luxe, sufficient. The food at the cafe was great, the pool was open and a nice break from unusually warm February weather, the free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbrpro
Dallas, TX
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I reserved a double room in the “hotel” portion of St. Vincent’s 2 months in advance. Upon arrival I was charged for the entire 4 nights immediately. When I was shown to the room I discovered there was NO HEAT. The room is clearly advertised as having heat on their website. Since the overnight temperature was expected to be in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeannineDallas_TX
Reviewed 14 January 2011

I have stayed at Saint Vincent's so many times, I can't count them. And every time is a great experience. If you expect five star accommodations, you should get a room somewhere else, but if you want to experience the history and beauty that makes New Orleans you must stay here! I only have 2 complaints, and they are both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxigrrl
El Cerrito, California
Reviewed 31 December 2010

People who work there are really great, nice vibe, friendly, no problems. However, we find out in our first morning bedbugs! The staff put us in a better (and clean) room and washed all our clothes, which was ok until I realized that all my socks and white tshirts were now blue. Even with these problems I recommend, the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeandroPaiacan
ft irwin ,ca
Reviewed 17 December 2010

My family recently stayed at st Vincents gust house and I must say I don't understand why some of these reviews are so bad It is not only a beautiful older building with lovely courtyards and sitting areas but the rooms are quite large and very beautiful. As an added treat we found out from the staff (who was so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dessiem2000
Genoa, Italy
Reviewed 24 November 2010

I have travelled quite a lot and in many places in camping areas and hostels but I would not recommend this place to anybody... It might be a personal and isolated bad experience but I don't think so... The hostel is ina good position and the ancient and colonial building is really fascinating but the staff of the place is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noluogo82
New Orleans
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I'm writing this in the hope we will actual get our refund. We stayed here a night, and were charged twice for it, my partner has been back at least five times to get his $50 refund, showed them his bank statement, reciept, talked to them face to face and sent plenty of emails. We are living in New Orleans...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wonderlustmag
TheStVincent, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

This couple stayed here over the Halloween weekend. The gentleman reserved a room using his legal name, then checked in using a different name, this led to some confusion which has since been resolved. We’ve informed these guests that our dorm rates are per person, not per room, and two guests for the two nights they stayed equals $100, not...

philadelphia
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I have stayed at St. Vincent's 4 or 5 times now, and it gets better each time! This is not a lavish place, but the rooms are just fine and I sleep like a baby at night! The building is very old, historic in fact, which is why it can seem a little dusty to folks who are used to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anitaboucher
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed at the St Vincent Guesthouse in late August and were completely disappointed in the place. The room was basic, which generally isn't a problem for me - but there was bug powder around the entire room and we were bitten by some kind of insects during the nights. The breaking point came when we found a cockroach in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LondonBarbd
TheStVincent, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review

On the third day of their stay with us, this couple complained about finding a cockroach inside of a suitcase that they had been storing food in during their travels, and they demanded a full refund. We don’t know if the roach arrived inside the suitcase or if it had somehow entered the suitcase after their arrival, but in any...

Jonesville, Louisiana
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My sister and I stayed there for 4 days. It was kind of expensive for 4 days but it was an alright place. I did not have any bed bugs or fleas or any of that. We did not find any roaches in the hall ways. The staff was so friendly to us. We would go out on the balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Morningdeer

493 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (140)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (215)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Dorm Room (12)
Viewed
King Plus Full Room (23)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Single Full Room (26)
Viewed
Single Queen Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)
Viewed
Two Queen Room (24)
Viewed
Two Single Room (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Historic Streetcar Inn
#136 of 161 in New Orleans
522 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#110 of 161 in New Orleans
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#88 of 161 in New Orleans
196 reviews
Mid-City
The Crescent Palms Motel
The Crescent Palms Motel
#125 of 161 in New Orleans
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Garden District

Neighbourhood Profile
Garden District
Head to the Garden District for the full-on New Orleans experience replete with quaintly clanking streetcars, proudly grandiose antebellum mansions, picture perfect avenues lined with live oaks loaded down with Spanish moss, and a wealth of beautiful churches and many more architectural marvels. Even a brief excursion here makes plain why it’s called the Garden District. So, when you visit be sure to give yourself ample time for admiration at a languidly slow pace befitting such gentile strand of riverside living and to allow you to maximize each opportunity to stop and smell the roses – and whichever other blooms you might come across. While taking it all in, you’d do well to dine at one of the city’s most beloved destinations for regional cuisine. Gourmands from far and wide (and right round the corner) swear the age-old Commander’s Palace is the best restaurant in town – and have been doing so since it opened back in 1880.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St. Vincent Guest House is Under New Management!!! As of December 1, 2013 The Guest House will be operated under a new management team that is dedicated to improving both the aesthetics and overall condition of the entire establishment. Steps are being taken to bring this beautiful and historical building to its fullest potential and offer our guests a wonderful experience and comfortable stay. St. Vincent's is not a full service hotel, it is more of hostel/quaint budget hotel that is both economical and located in one of the best areas in the City of New Orleans. (The Lower Garden District) First opened in 1861 as a orphanage; the building has a distinct and colorful history that is worth exploring. The lobby is adorned with photos that reflect the history and show the building's usage over the last 100+ years. Each room has an individual decor and design scape that will make you feel as though you are walking into an era of Nola history gone by... The grounds are well kept and offer several areas for outdoor seating for morning coffee, an evening cigar or just great conversations... Our staff have been trained and are dedicated to providing each guest with the highest level of customer services with courtesy and a smile. Although there are not a great deal of amenities available, every guest will find that the Guest House offers a tremendous value for the price. We have both private sleeping rooms as well as dormitories available. There have been several negative reviews that have been posted in the past and those reviews have been duly noted and taken into consideration for action as we move towards improvements... Likewise, there have been several positive reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay and the experience at the Guest House; and for that we are thankful! We look forward to this new era at St. Vincent's and welcome each and every guest with open arms... ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Address: 1507 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4723
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Price Range: RM223 - RM425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Vincent's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. Vincent's Guest House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Syracuse, New York
over a year ago
Laredo, Texas
4 months ago
over a year ago
Tampa, Florida
over a year ago
Kansas City, Missouri

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from St. Vincent's Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be prepared to 'rough" it but the stay in this hotel is worth it!!”
L7959EVsharona, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Top floor is better and my room in the main building was better than the building in the back.”
Anniexus, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Keep away from this poor guest house”
V5237ABchriss, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There is nothing good about this scary place. Even the neighborhood was scary.”
lovetheozarkshome, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in #14 and it was quiet.”
Borrosgirl, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5