We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 167: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Cypress, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a wonderful place to stay for our wedding anniversary revisit to New Orleans. The GVBB is perfectly situated in the Garden District and provides easy access to all points of interest. We walked to Commander's Palace (our favorite) and hopped on the trolley to the French Quarter.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank L
Bonnie R, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Frank, Knowing that you were celebrating several things while in NOLA with your friends, I'm glad that you enjoyed your time spent here in my home and city. Sorry again that your friends had to cut their trip a bit short, but these things are unavoidable. Thanks for the compliments and for reviewing my B&B. I hope that you may...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stumbled into this very nicely restored Victorian B&B by accident while looking for a place to stay for a conference downtown. It's right on the streetcar line, which is very convenient for getting around. I was able to walk everywhere in the Garden District very easily, including shops along St. Charles and along Magazine. And it's a block away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
Bonnie R, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Andrew, Thanks for your feedback about your stay at my home last month. I was lucky that you found my place as you were a great guest! Often conventioneers in town do not look beyond the busy business district or French Quarter for lodging, but I was happy you did and found that my Garden District area was also convenient....

Reviewed 24 March 2017

The GVBB is a wonderful place to stay! We have stayed here multiple times and each stay has been fantastic. Bonnie is such a great host and her staff work hard to make sure guests experience true New Orleans hospitality. We have stayed in all of the rooms at one point during our trips and have loved them all. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
Bonnie R, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Ben, Thanks for the kind words. Over time, you guys have become like family! I enjoy that you enjoy New Orleans so much. Your wife's roots that trace back here make your time spent in NOLA even more special Loved meeting the "newbies" for this Mardi Gras season. I believe you broke them in properly as well. Until next time!

Smithton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Positives: Beautiful home Greenwood room was huge and very pretty Staff and owner all gracious and friendly Loved the bowls of snacks sitting out for the guests Loved the fridge outside our room with complimentary beverages Convenient location with streetcar right outside Less than Positives: Very noisy at night with constant sirens. Very noisy in the mornings with construction across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladybugpug
Bonnie R, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about my home and your stay here. Sorry that your "less than positives" seemed to outnumber your "positives." Currently, there is a lot of construction all over New Orleans and noise created by this is completely out of our control. The sirens are a similar circumstance as my side street is the only N-S running...

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful Inn. Bonnie and her staff are so very warm and gracious. The location in the Garden District is perfect (streetcar stops on the corner). Imagine stepping into Victorian times, but with all the creature comforts of modern times. And the extra touches are delightful from the robes to the fine soaps to even having complimentary sherry in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 432neilm
Bonnie R, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words. We certainly aim to cover all of the bases with every guest who stays here in my home! Glad that you enjoyed the experience.

Reviewed 3 March 2017

The Grand Victorian is centrally located, with the St. Charles Street Car stop right out front. Uptown, Downtown, French Quarter, City Park, Tulane- all easily accessible from this location. The amenities were cute. Not a loud, party place- but if you are looking for a quiet sanctuary this is the place for you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
Bonnie R, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Barbara, thank you for considerate opinion of my home, its location and its serene neighborhood! I believe that you hit on all of the reasons people seek my property out. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Maybe we'll see you again sometime!!

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

The location is central to the Garden District. Downtown, and the French Quarter. With the trolley out front transportation to all is convenient. The house is nicely done in period antiques and my stay was comfortable. The Continental breakfast is, as advertised. My last day I'm pretty sure a reheated fastfood sausage biscuit was served.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGsTravels
Bonnie R, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

John, It appears that you enjoyed your overall stay in my home and I'm glad you were comfortable. We do advertise and serve a continental breakfast. Since your comment, we have removed the sausage biscuits from our menu, but I assure you that it was not a "fastfood" item. We buy all of our breakfast items fresh from local bakeries,...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

From the moment we arrived at this B&B, we became concerned about our choice. We were unable to find a sign or name. Oh, wait. There is is: lying askew on the ground among dead fronds (see photo). Our initial inference that this was not a well-maintained property proved all too true. When we entered our room, it was dark--so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rockcreekgirl
Bonnie R, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Cheryl, I'm very sorry that we did not meet your needs while you were staying with us in my home. I apologize for the "comedy of errors" that you seemed to experience, as much of what you describe is not generally our standard service or meets our normal attention to detail. You seemed unhappy from the start and there was...

Reviewed 6 October 2016

A dear friend and I stayed at the Grand Victorian over my birthday weekend this year and we couldn't have been happier with our visit! The room was gorgeous, and the patio overlooking the exquisite St. Charles ave. was the perfect way to relax before going out to hit the town. The staff was absolutely lovely, breakfast was delicious, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tahndi C
Bonnie R, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words! I'm glad that we could make your birthday weekend special for you both. Please do come back to celebrate with us again anytime!

Haynes, Arkansas
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We have been to New Orleans many times over the years, and while we go for the love of the food and atmosphere, we always have found it not very relaxing. We stayed at The Grand Victorian on our last trip, and we will stay there every time we are there! The room was full of beautiful antiques and was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank xyz123353
Bonnie R, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Peace and quiet in a house full of people is one of our main goals here at the GVBB! In addition to all of the interior insulation that we added when restoring the house, our Garden District neighborhood seems to offer a great respite from the hustle and bustle of the nearby French Quarter. I...

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Hubbard Mansion
#32 of 137 in New Orleans
117 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#17 of 137 in New Orleans
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#23 of 137 in New Orleans
162 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located on St. Charles Ave. in the Garden District just minutes from the French Quarter, our New Orleans Bed and Breakfast was designed and built in 1893 by famed New Orleans architect Thomas Sully. Lovingly restored to its former glory and decorated with period furnishings, our romantic New Orleans B&B welcomes you to a majestic past with all the comforts and conveniences the modern travel needs. Enjoy our complimentary expanded continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and guest drinks and snacks. The perfect safe and secluded location steps to the St. Charles Ave. streetcar with access to the French Quarter, Tulane University, Magazine Street & the best restaurants of NOLA. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2727 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5929
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Price Range: RM621 - RM1,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Oak Alley room was subject to emergency vehicle noise on the side street.”
frankl796, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The "Rosedown" room is on the first floor if stairs are a problem. The "Nottoway" room is a perfect honeymoon suite!”
925beng, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The photos on the website are recent, and real. Choose what looks good to you!”
daisyfae, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Call early for Jazzfest.”
broncofan1, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“For a quiet room, top floor is best and away from the stairs. We chose the Evergreen for this reason and never heard other guests.”
MrsLong92510, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5