We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

745 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 702: English reviews
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Perfect location for access to the French Quarter and the WWII museum. This trip was punctuated by an opportunity to watch part of a filming for an episode NCIS New Orleans. Great view from our second floor room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank UAWILDCAT65
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Rooms are nice. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Great location. The only bad thing I have to say is parking is 45.00 a day. This is ridiculous in my opinion. Will not stay again because of that reason.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
Clarksville, Arkansas
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Loved the hotel and the staff was super helpful and friendly. Only complaint was our room had a skylight and it woke us up sooner than we planned when the morning sun shined in. If you play on Bourbon St and we ant to sleep in bring a sleeping mask.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We recently stayed at the St. James hotel and had a great experience. The location is absolutely perfect. Its a 5 mins walking distance to the French quarter and only 10 mins to the River walk. There are also some great restaurants near the hotel you don't want to miss like Mother's and the Ruby Slipper. Our room was bright...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLPotter8
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here to go to a Pelicans game and it was awesome! Easy walking distant from the Dome and Arena. Great food places all around in walking distant. Very convenient parking lot right across from the hotel. Only thing to keep in mind is our GPS kept taking us on Camp St. And saying we arrived. If this happens go...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank katyalex91
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Liked this place everyone was very friendly. Close enough to French qtr but still quiet. Fourth floor rooms have a private balcony (rooms 401, 402, 403). Internet was a bit spotty but cable TV was nice, lots of channels.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank josephdK8842UR
Cleveland, Tennessee
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I enjoyed our stay at the St. James. The staff were always helpful and friendly. The room was great. The breakfast though small was very tasty and I liked that they brought it to our room and gave different times to have it brought to us. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to New Orleans.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larhonda E
Destin, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Hotel is nothing special and the Valet Parking for $38.00 night is a scam. The staff refused to tell us of any parking alternatives. As it turns out, there is a public lot just around the corner for $19.00 a night. The uncooperative attitude of the front desk person when checking in was uncomfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lindau583
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review

Dear lindau583, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize that you were not happy with our 24 hour valet service. Due to our location in the Central Business District, we are only able to offer valet and our price is competitive with other hotels in this area. While our guests are more than welcome to...

Canton, Ohio
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We didn't want to stay on Bourbon St. but wanted to be close. My wife and i like to explore the city so we wanted to be in an area where we could be central to many of the neighborhoods. This hotel seemed like a great choice. The Ruby Slipper and Mother's are really close for a great breakfast or...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickkennedy5
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed here twice and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. The hotel is small and quaint with tons of character and charm. They bring coffee, juice and croissants to your room every morning and they are always so fresh and tasty. Location is great, we found it to be very central to everywhere we wanted to go. Only downside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cani3640

490 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (275)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Deluxe King Suite (62)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Queen Bedroom Suite (45)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (46)
Viewed
Standard King Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
1,029 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#81 of 162 in New Orleans
515 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#43 of 162 in New Orleans
1,789 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Compared to the more evocative monikers of some other parts of New Orleans, the downtown’s humdrum title might suggest that this area is all about business and little else. But don’t let the bland name keep you away from the Central Business District. The CBD offers a wide range of fun things to do that would be touted as exceptional in less jubilant corners of the world. Bordered by the French Quarter, the Arts District and Tremé, with the river at its eastern extreme, this hub for sports, gaming, shopping, theatre, family-friendly activities, and amazing regional cuisine makes a smart base wherever your interests lie.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Price Range: RM516 - RM1,775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room 214”
 of 5 bubbles Irrayd8, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Thorough check of cleanliness (especially in places you wouldn't think to look) and fix broken appliances or just remove them.”
 of 5 bubbles Stanfly, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the courtyard side if you wish to have a quieter room. ”
 of 5 bubbles Travelorogers13, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles pdwschmidt, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Be sure and ask for a room with a window.”
 of 5 bubbles vhannah87, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay