We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beaver Lake Campground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Beaver Lake Campground
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
Navarre, Florida
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

From the pictures this looked like a really nice campground, we were extremely disappointed. We had a tent site....After staying in National park campgrounds we sort of enjoy the great outdoors. We did not get that experience because our site looked like a parking lot. The pool area looked unkept and deserted; and the slide (which costs $7 per person)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Welovejesus247
Minnesota
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We had reservations for two nights. Unhappy with another campground a few days before, we called Beaver Lake and asked if we could come earlier. They were very accommodating. The owner took us around on a golf cart and showed us some sites. We got to choose. Site 4 was great. Loved it! 34 not so much. 34 was our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janelje
Burlington, Wisconsin
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Our longest stay in South Dakota was at the Beaver Lake Campground. It was a fun place to stay. We rented a cabin for 2 nights and it was a little cramped for 2 adults and 3 children. The bathrooms got a little dirty during peak usage times but were manageable. The grounds were nice, the pool was great and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabe M
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Loved the location and sites were very nice with lots of trees. Bunnies were fun to watch! Had a nice pool with slide. We had a nice tent site with a nice shelter and picnic table. Sites had fences for better privacy too. Stayed 4 Nites and very reasonable price

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynnea D
Vancouver
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Originally was going to stay for one night as a pass thru but ended up staying for two. Grounds are very nice. Plenty to do for the little ones be that free access to bikes for riding, pool and the water slide which does cost extra. Not to mention the rabbits/bunnies roaming around. That is definitely something you don't see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rollingwheel
Colorado
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Stayed here 4 nights. The water slide was broken the entire time we were there. We rented their car from the front desk. What a nightmare!!! It was so dirty, smelled like smoke and there was dog hair everywhere! The car ended up dying on us at night coming down a pass leaving Mt Rushmore which left us with no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank camper862016
mch2464, Owner at Beaver Lake Campground, responded to this review

We regret you were dissatisfied with our rental car,however it was on the third day, of your rental due to alternator failure. A totally unforseeable breakdown. you did use it for 3 days without issue or concern, were given free use for the third day, that you had full use of the car. Apologies were given that evening and the...

Bloomington, Minnesota
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We really enjoyed our level, wooded and fairly private RV site for 3 nights. The main pool was 3.5' all around and very nice. The other pool is where the waterslide ends and no one is suppose to stay in it. Our kids (ages 6-14) loved feeding, petting and taking pics of the wild bunnies -- and I mean LOVED!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamelaStorySaver
Oklahoma City
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here three nights. Some sites a little tight to get in to. Lots of pine trees. Very shady and scenic at our site. Couldn't hook up our satellite, too many trees and we were right next to a fence. Very hilly everywhere. Bathrooms, showers nice and staff very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travlinmt
Polk City, Florida
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Nice little older RV park. Gravel sites and interior roads, 35 and 50 Amp electric offered at extra rates, sewer and water, internet and cable offered at each site for extra charge for each added on amenity at each site. Tight driving around the park and getting into various RV sites. Nice pool offering water tubes and a slide at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NemoWinsAgain
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I stayed on a recommendation. First be very aware of their cancellation policy, I arrived late due to a vehicle breakdown two days before we were to arrive and this was the only campground on our trip that didn't work with us moving our dates around because of that. We paid for nights we weren't there, whereas other campgrounds on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FlyingSmithy
mch2464, Owner at Beaver Lake Campground, responded to this review

We do understand that you had vehicle travel troubles, It is to the credit of the other places you had plans to visit that they had flexibility to suit your change of plans due to your troubles. Alas, we could not, our camp was full by previous reservation, and those sites guaranteed to the reserved, as we did for you....

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
4.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
1.8 km away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
29 reviews
4.5 km away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#16 of 17 in Custer
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
15.5 km away
Horse Thief Campground
Horse Thief Campground
#1 of 12 in Hill City
223 reviews
4.1 km away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beaver Lake Campground has great rates, family camping and spacious, level, shaded & open sites to suit any size RV or tent. All sites have picnic tables and fire rings, RV and cabins also has access to 26 free cable tv channels and tent sites have 10' X 12' rain shelters, mostly shaded and some with electric. Don't have a tent or RV? Then choose from our range of 8 Cabins all with a/c, heat and Cable TV or our 3 native style Tipis. We have Free DSL & Wi-Fi, Heated Pools, and playground for the kids but there is a fee for the Waterslide for all guests. We are open March 15 through November 10th and are within 30 minutes of all the natural beauty and attractions in the Black Hills of South Dakota including Mt. Rushmore! Our location is 3.5 miles west of the city of Custer on W. Highway 16. Pets are welcome at our campground as long as they don't disturb our other guests and are not aggressive. We are Good Sam, AAA, Woodalls and Best Parks of America accredited. Meet the Business Owner: Max and Cindy H. WE purchased this campground in June 2001 and have made continual improvements since that time. We live and work at the campground every day throughout the season. You will see Max on a golf cart handling maintenance issues and Cindy in the office or store helping check in customers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beaver Lake Campground

Address: 12005 US Highway 16, Custer, SD 57730-7223
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Beaver Lake Campground Hotel Custer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beaver Lake Campground staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Beaver Lake Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look at the campground map to pick a site you like.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelmulholland01, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Look at website to see what facilities each cabin has and whether pets are allowed.”
 of 5 bubbles ckm53snow, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lovely Campground for RV, and tents!”
 of 5 bubbles MarcyM1957, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to another campground that's quieter and with better customer service”
 of 5 bubbles Gismart, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Larger cabins with the bathroom are the best”
 of 5 bubbles orlandog463, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5