We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dakota Cowboy Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dakota Cowboy Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dakota Cowboy Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 11 June 2016

It was everything you want and expect in a small historic town. Our room had plenty of space for a family of 4, fridge, microwave and very clean! Amazing staff and walking distance to everything in this great little town. Matt and Shan were working hard everyday on even more upgrades although I hope they keep it somewhat old school...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tonia I
DakotaCowboyInn, Front Office Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that everything was to your liking. We work hard to listen to our guests and improve where needed, as well as keeping a rustic feel around the property. Thank you and come again soon!

Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewed 5 June 2016

While on a 2 month, motorcycle history tour of the Dakotas, stayed at the Dakota Cowboy Inn for 6 nights to see Mt. Rushmore, Harney Peak, and Custer State Park. Although the facility is probably a 1970's era establishment, the current managers/operators (Shan and Matt) are young, hard working people dedicated to renovating the motel, and their work shows. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 667jerryr
DakotaCowboyInn, Front Office Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate the compliments to our new renovations and hope you come back to stay with us in the future. Have a safe rest of your trip, and thank you from our whole management team for staying with us.

Roberts, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 June 2016

They have done a lot of updates to the hotel, new beds pillows new tv!!! There are plenty of places to eat all with in walking distance!!! We had a great time very quite place!!! They have a nice deck in front of the rooms to sit out side!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul L
DakotaCowboyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our goal here is to continue to work as a team and be sure that all of our guests have a positive experience and enjoy their time with us.

Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 14 October 2015

This is one for the history books - when we arrived, we were shocked to see the Dakota Cowboy Inn in all of its glory. The customer service was terrible when we checked in, but the sign on the desk said it had a 4 circle trip advisor review, and I knew I had to share my experience. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob W
DakotaCowboyInn, Front Office Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank You

Nottingham, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Granted, it was buffalo roundup weekend (of which we were not aware), and this motel was the only one in town that had a room available. The motel clerk was very nice, so I was able to talk him down to $200 for the night! The phone didn't work, the refrigerator was broken, the place probably had never been updated,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
DakotaCowboyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank You

west point
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We have stayed here for many years, but not since 2008. They have not done much to improve the place. New sheets, blankets, pillow cases, wash clothes and towels would go a long way to help this place. It is nice and clean and people are friendly, just needs some TLC!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gilliwag
DakotaCowboyInn, Front Office Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as of 2015-2016 we have completed a thorough renovation of our property. I apologize that our linens were not up to your standard, we have updated all of them as this was a part of the new renovation. If you are in the area again please come and see us so we can make sure...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 25 September 2015

The hotel did the job for a single night for the budget price. I wouldn't have stayed longer. Location was on the western edge of Custer so it wasn't walking distance to the downtown area. Room and bed were adequate, cleanliness was a little sketchy and security didn't make me feel grand. Wi-Fi was free and worked ok for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
DakotaCowboyInn, Public Relations Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, our property is located 0.7 miles from the downtown area. I would like to apologize that your stay was not so pleasant.

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 26 August 2015

My husband and I stayed at Dakota Cowboy Inn during the Sturgis rally. We could not have ask for any more for the money. The staff was very accommodating. We felt the managers must have done a lot a traveling because they seemed to anticipate what travelers would need. They even provided rags and supplies for cleaning the bikes. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
DakotaCowboyInn, Front Office Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your kinds words, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Keeping our prices affordable for our guests is one of our main priorities, we hope to see you again soon.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 20 August 2015

This hotel was clean and the employees were nice. Do not expect to use the pool or the refrigerator in your room. The pool is just ghetto and my room HAD a fridge, but the knobs inside were broken off.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
DakotaCowboyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Hello, I apologize that your experience was not up to par, we have addressed all issues with the pool and they have been fixed. Thank you for leaving us feedback

Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Older motel, we did have enough room but no hair dryer, no coffee machine, no microwave, had an older TV and air conditioners. They worked but were very noisy. Conveniently located and clean but just needs a few little touches to improve a stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candace C
DakotaCowboyInn, Front Office Manager at Dakota Cowboy Inn, responded to this review

Thank You

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
6.3 km away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
251 reviews
0.5 km away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
0.7 km away
Econo Lodge Custer
Econo Lodge Custer
#8 of 17 in Custer
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Dakota Cowboy Inn

Address: 208 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1800 (Formerly Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Price Range: RM341 - RM545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dakota Cowboy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dakota Cowboy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Hotel Custer
Americas Best Value Inns Custer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dakota Cowboy Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Dakota Cowboy Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are much better places to say at less money! Just double check your reservation! In high travel season rooms get booked up quickly!”
 of 5 bubbles brlula, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in the older building. It has a ground floor entry and was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulJMK56, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for newer wing.”
 of 5 bubbles Tallytennis11, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good hotel for the price.”
 of 5 bubbles shortcutqueen, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book early, I only paid $120 for my room”
 of 5 bubbles yashpaulsangha52, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5