We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 307: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn
 Click to rate
Martinez, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Absolutely incredible service & extremely accommodating. Soft & comfortable bed & bedding. Towels are big & soft & fluffy...breakfast is outstanding..the omelets..sausage..bisquits & gravy are so delicious & every variety of yogurt.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerryo913
Madera, California
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has a nice maintained property and beyond nice and friendly staff I always stay here if near by hands down if considering another hotel besides a best western or location , the closes thing to feeling at home for a good nights rest after a long work day

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabianram1rez
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Ariana P, Manager at BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. Our 24 hour staff is very welcoming and attentive and I'm happy you were able to experience that. We appreciate your business, and hope that you return soon. If I can be of assistance in...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is tired, the landing on the second floor constantly smelt of smoke. Our room didn't have a great smell when you walked in the room, however we reported that the shower was broken & it was fixed straight away. The beds were comfortable. The staff were friendly & helpful & the breakfast on offer was good. From there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy L
Jackson, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Horrible treatment and excessive noise will not be back . Over charged and charged more than once staff cdnt figure it out had to wait a day to speak to manager.noise went on all weekend and offered few points in compensation. Slap in the face really

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristie C
Prerna R, Manager at BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kristie C, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience. I am happy that we were able to come to a resolution via phone. We have credited you 3,000 points to your rewards account, and I have reviewed the payment process with you to insure no mistake was made. I am sorry we weren’t able to completely solve the...

Folsom, United States
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We came here with 30 others for three nights, and all of us enjoyed the pleasant pool, lobby, and other amenities. Great location across from shopping center with Starbuck's, grocery, and several cafe/restaurants. Easy freeway on/off. Breakfast offerings included a wide variety of quality items. Staff were pleasant and helpful to our group. I wouldn't hesitate to stay another day...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggy B
Prerna R, Manager at BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn, responded to this review

Dear Peggy B, Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. The shopping center within walking distance is a great amenity for our guest, providing several...

California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just needed a place to stay overnite so we could get to the Martinez Marina for a fishing trip early the next morning, which was just 10 min away. Easy to find off highway 4. Plenty of parking. Pleasant front-desk person. Room was clean and comfortable with an updated bathroom, including a hairdryer which I used. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank valueseeker1
Ariana P, Manager at BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Our 24 hour staff is...

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A car alarm went off in the parking lot around 4 am. It blared for over an hour with the staff doing nothing. What is the point of giving car information at check in if it is not used for anything? The gap under the door was so big that we had to block it with a towel in order...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank smithel10
Ariana P, Manager at BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lisa Carnes Smith, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for...

Carson City, Nevada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although Best Western has pretty well priced itself out of range,and has moved away from the motel model, I still stay at a BW a few times each year - all in all, it is the best chain. This motel was a good value, in a high-priced area, impeccably-maintained, with an excellent breakfast, good internet, and a good location. I...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 96donalds
Ariana P, Manager at BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn, responded to this review

Dear Donald Scott, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. I will...

Etiwanda, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Here on business, so it's convenient. Nothing outstanding about the property but they are freshening it up currently, which it needs. My room had a small section in the center of the ceiling where the "popcorn" was missing..... like I said they are in the process of rehabbing this hotel. I couldn't quite get the right room temp for some...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
Ariana P, Manager at BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. I have informed maintenance of...

Walnut Creek, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was not satisfied with the service I received. Upon arrival I was given a room that not only had a horrible smell in the hall way, but there was also construction work going on the entire floor my room was on, & I wasn't told this would be happening. I was just woken up by the loud noises. I...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cosmo_lm
Ariana P, Manager at BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We are currently under renovation, between the hours of 9AM to 5PM. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced due to our renovations. The points for a free night have been...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinez
12.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
7.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Heritage Inn
5.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Concord
Crowne Plaza Concord
#2 of 8 in Concord
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
881 reviews
7.6 km away
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
Courtyard Pleasant Hill
#2 of 5 in Pleasant Hill
153 reviews
10.3 km away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn

Address: 445 Muir Station Rd, Martinez, CA 94553-4671
Region: United States > California > Martinez
Price Range: RM446 - RM661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Best Western, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western John Muir Hotel Martinez
Best Western Martinez
Martinez Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“away from the elevator.”
L1204YIsharonf, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“great room, free breakfast, pool/spa, exercise room, very kind staff.”
junecox59, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask staff to recommend based on your needs”
womanofsteele23, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try the third floor and ask when you check in where the renovations are taking place”
Bev8789, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We like to stay on the top floor.”
einsteinpoo, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5