We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Kona Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Kona Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,766 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Kona Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,495: English reviews
Sydney
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here in August on the 6th floor of the Lagoon tower (room 655) in an oceanfront room. Fantastic views over the ocean and the private beach cove which was a great place to swim when the tide is higher. The room was clean and spacious however as it was quite hot at night and the balconies are not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dennis J
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA Family, great to hear from another satisfied traveler from Down Under! I'm pleased to know they enjoyed the great staff at the Front Desk and restaurant. Nice to know they loved the views from their comfortable room. We've rectified the AC concerns, and ensured the lanai doors locks are operating correctly too. glad they shared, we'll definitely look...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was my second stay at the Royal Kona....(15 years apart) and gladly not alot had changed ....it is still the best choice in Kona and we loved every bit of our 6 night stay! Our room was 5th floor Lagoon Tower which is definately the best view, we did upgrade from an oceanview to oceanfront ....lucky as we watched...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Donna B
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA Family, awesome to see our return friends from Australia had another great stay. Great to know we met all of their expectations. The Mai Tai Festival is a whole lot of fun, food, music and of course Mai Tai's! Nice to know they loved their room in the lagoon tower, the direct ocean front rooms are spectacular, not...

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of March/start of April. While the lobby and grounds are well maintained, the same cannot be said for the rooms. They are very outdated and did not appear to be very clean. Whilst we did not expect the hotel to be 10/10, we were expecting a lot more than what we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lcole114
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, sorry to hear these guest who visited earlier this year, weren't completely satisfied with their room. I did send them a personal message to determine what room they occupied to I can personally investigate. I truly hope they brought their concerns to the managements attention while they were here so we could fix it, it's hard several...

Shreveport, Louisiana
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel has some of the best views of the ocean on Kona. The problem is the rooms and the hotel needs to be updated. My wife was not pleased with the small bathrooms and the cleaniness of the hotel. If they decide to invest in remodeling this hotel, it could be one of the best spots to stay on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Super_Mann2013
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Ta Family, Glad these guest enjoyed the views from our hotel, we do have the best location in Kona. Unfortunately, there are no plans on the horizon to renovate, but we do strive to provide clean and well maintained rooms for our guests to enjoy. Hearing they weren't satisfied with the cleanliness is a concern, and we're looking into...

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

this is the second time I have stayed here. it feels like a super 8 with a nice bar. the service is so so and they seem to always try to upsale you on overpriced tours. no restaurant room service. no free wifi. have to pay extra for parking. however, the bar is nice, with stunning views...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank setaspell
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, yes, we do have the best bar location in Kona, with happy hour from 4p-6p nightly. Remember, we do not impose a mandatory "Resort Fee" on our guests, like much of the competition. We do however offer self parking for a fee, and wifi for a fee. Our Fitness room is complimentary, and we won't be delivering...

santa barbara, ca
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This place is pretty old, but the room we had was just fine. It was large and over looked the ocean. The problem with this place is the common areas. No one takes care of them! The entries to the elevators are really bunged up from baggage carts hitting the corners. There was one section by the elevators where there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank prsd54
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA Family, glad to know these guests enjoyed their room and stay. Sorry they found some of the exterior walls in need of attention. We're on it though, it's a 24/7 job to upkeep, and thanks to their observations, we'll take a closer look. Glad they enjoyed the ocean views from their room too. FYI, we do have housekeepers...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I just stayed in this resort and I really liked it, the room was clean and cozy, the bed comfortable, good shower. The only con is that they do not provide anything except coffee, which was not a big deal as we barely stayed in the hotel. I recommend this resort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suellen S
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA Family, really nice to know these guests loved our clean well maintained rooms, along with the comfy beds, and of course great location. Coming from PA, we're glad they had a wonderful stay on the Big Island, where there is so much to see and do. Do your homework, and you too will enjoy your vacation no matter...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We went there in 2012 for our honeymoon, We originally booked just a standard room. Well it turned out to be two really tiny beds and the view was of a roof, and just wasn't that great. So for an extra $20 a night I think it was we got an ocean front room with a king size bed!! Now...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LisaT1985
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, another late reviewer, but we'll take it! Glad our honeymooners from Canada had a great stay. Yes, we have the best location in Kona, and are the best value as well. Right on Alii Drive for additional dining, bars, shopping, galleries, farmers market, historical sites and a short walk to the Kailua Pier for all your ocean...

California
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We don't want you to really what a wonderful time we had - then it'll be booked all the time, haha! Great location, lovely bar on the beach - with a night time view as gorgeous as the day. We had a lovely, newly remodeled room - VERY VERY clean, also with a view. A show in the evenings, on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ialwayslovetotravel
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA Family, nice to see these guests had a fabulous time! Not sure if the timeline was wrong, December 2012? Regardless, we'll pleased to know they loved their room, view, food and beverage, everything about the resort. Hopefully we'll see them back this December too! Mahalo!

orange county
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The outside of the hotel is nice, the views were stunning at sunset, the bar was pretty decent, getting to watch the luau from the pool at night wasn't that bad either, BUT the ROOM...OMG! I might have been okay with it (just for the view) but the quality of the room itself was a shock that I couldn't get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandshells
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, too bad they were dissapointed with their stay. I've sent a personal message to determine which room they occupied so we can research and rectify their concerns. FYI, although we're not the newest kid on the block, our rooms are clean and well maintained, and our flat screens should not have interference. I sure hope they contacted...

2,271 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1816)
Viewed
Room/Suite (267)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (459)
Viewed
View from Room (242)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (190)
Viewed
Dining (99)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (512)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (424)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Garden View Room (17)
Viewed
Kailua Bay Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (28)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room (21)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (183)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
1.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.2 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.2 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
8.5 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
34.3 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Don the Beachcomber
Don the Beachcomber
Cuisines: American, Bar, Polynesian, Hawaiian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: RM708 - RM964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Kona Resort staff and other travellers.
52 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (52)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Kona Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“main building is noisy, get an outer building room”
tarabV4593ME, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not good for a long stay”
PlPlJns, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Expect to pay more for an ocean view room”
deckyria, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We LOVED our room in the south (of 3) buildings on the south side overlooking the lagoon (and ocean).”
Artistahh, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Refuse a room in the Bay tower”
324pamd, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5