We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Kona Bali Kai

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castle Kona Bali Kai
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

428 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Kona Bali Kai
See the most recent reviews
Showing 384: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Based on previous reviews, we had identified there was a certain consistency in the way people experience this hotel because there are multiple buildings - some on the ocean side, and some on the other side of Ali'i Drive. Those with oceanfront rooms were very happy, whilst those with either partial ocean view or mountain view rooms in the building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MQ007b
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed here over Thanksgiving. We were in an ocean-view apartment on the third floor. Unfortunately, this apartment didn't appear to be updated for well over 15 years and had several flaws. Pros: - Ocean view and lanai was excellent - Good value for sleeping 5 people Cons: - Turning on the fans threw some kind of residue all over the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TechieTravels1
El Cerrito, California
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed in an Ocean Front One Bedroom (unit 207) for a week in November 2012. We paid about $140/night with an internet special. I would not stay at Kona Bali Kai unless you book in the Ocean Front building. The location of the Ocean Front building and its proximity to the shore are spectacular. The rooms the space is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mermaidit
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 1 December 2012

3 Children 6 and 7 years old & 14, and they wanted us to take rooms on separate floors. They did not honor our reservation for a 2 bedroom condo,stating they were over booked, so we stayed in one unit and they donated a roll away bed, but No refund, so we paid $192.00 for one bedroom. So glad we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shotgunsgm
HAWAII
Reviewed 24 November 2012

It was an acquaintance trip for family matters..., Although partially Ocean View, still you can feel the cold breeze and not to bad really..Studio type just enough to feel at home with all you need for cooking as well as preserving food, Better A/C system, little bit water clogged up at bath tub while taking shower, looks pretty decent anyway....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ESME1890
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review

I was please to here that you enjoyed your recent stay at Kona Bali Kai. It is good to know that my Front Desk team was able to get you into your unit a little early even if not when you first arrived. We do our best to make early check-ins possible but we cannot always control departure times. There...

Hilo
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The Kona Bali Kai is a nice, quaint property about midway between Kailua-Kona and Keahou along Alii Drive. Location is convenient to town which is good because there's no on-site restaurant. The hotel has units on both mauka (mountain) and makai (ocean) sides of Alii Drive. The oceanfront rooms are a little pricier, the mauka units a little quieter. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IslandTraveler777
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We rented a condo (I guess) at Kona Bali Kai. We had an ocean front condo with a great view from both the bedroom and the living room. The condo was complete with kitchen, living room and too bath. And laundry. Very reasonable (in Oct). Very nice, Would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We spent a week there at the end of October and loved it. We had amazing ocean views and sunsets and got to watch surfers play all day. It was a great home away from home with a full kitchen, our unit had a washer/dryer and everything we needed for a nice vacation. There was also a tsunami warning--no tsunami--while...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holley P
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The oceanfront one-bedroom unit we stayed in had a fabulous view and lanai. Listening to the waves crash during the night made for restful sleep. The sea turtles swam in the lagoon right below our lanai every day and were a highlight of the trip. Kona Bali Kai was undergoing maintenance the entire time we were there, but other than...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jenthom12
Big Flat, CA
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We staying here for 3 nights. The master bedroom has an ocean view, and you can still hear the ocean in the second bedroom. The veranda is a great space to wake up and watch the birds and ocean activity. Full kitchen makes it nice to eat in and save some $$$. Easy to get to the airport and other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don and Julia E

265 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (252)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
96.3 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
4.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.8 km away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
572 reviews
1.6 km away
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
#7 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
403 reviews
36.5 km away
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
#7 of 12 in Waikoloa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kona Bali Kai is a condominium resort located on the ocean's edge, displaying an uninterrupted vista of magnificent Kona sunsets. Choose from studios, one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with full-kitchens, private lanai, and ocean or mountainside views. Amenities include a swimming pool, barbecue areas throughout the resort, and a laundry facility. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Kona Bali Kai

Address: 76-6246 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4614
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: RM537 - RM1,268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kona Bali Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Kona Bali Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Bali Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Castle Kona Bali Kai Kailua
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hotel
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Kona Bali Kai staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Kona Bali Kai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a ocean view might be better.”
N2705FTkathyp, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“stay away from this property”
cutbill2017, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“avoid at all cost.”
  • Stove
  • bedroom ceiling
  • nice paint job
  • more mold
  • Mold all over bathroom
  • bedroom rug
robertmA9721XJ, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Any oceanfront room is great.”
7032toni, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Too expensive for the condition of the room.”
  • Rusted tub bottom
SanandaAllsgood, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5