We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hale Maluhia Country Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hale Maluhia Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 269: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at this B&B for two nights over Christmas and were delighted with our accommodations. We chose the Japanese cottage, which is more expensive than the other rooms but well worth the cost. Breakfast on Christmas morning was elaborate, and Sana delivered some lovely gifts the night before. Breakfast the second day did not meet our expectations, but overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rjgordon
Richland, WA
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Who stays in their room on a vacation? This place is perfect for people who get out and go, want a filling, all you can eat breakfast, and don't care about luxurious accommodations. The room was slightly musty smelling, but is in a very humid area. In reality, the carpets should be replaced with tile or laminate to remove the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank star152120
Kihei, Hawaii
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I stayed here (unfortunately) for an extended period of time. I wasn't looking to book something this far down on the food chain of accommodation so it was more than disappointing. Having paid for the whole stay I decided not to try to argue with the "professionals" running this place to leave when I had a good look around. I...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sunset_Sailor
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this review

This hermit guest stayed with us for 26 nights and gave us absolute instructions not to go into her room. She kept it closed up most of the time. Normally, with daily housekeeping we take out the trash, replace used towels, make the bed and clean and spray down hard surfaces with Lysol to restrict the mildew of our Kona...

Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The room was dirty. The bathtub was full of dead bugs. The owner's daughter made snotty comments behind my back when she didn't think I could hear. We had to cook our own breakfast, and then when everyone was done, the owner pulled out the "good" stuff out and made himself a beautiful breakfast that was not made available to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dd1456
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this review

First off, not sure you have the right Inn as I do not have a daughter working at the Inn and when I do eat breakfast is is usually what is left on the buffet. If it was our Inn, we do publish everywhere that it is a DIY Omelet bar, Buffet with bird watching? As to the "Owner" me...

Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have spontanious booked this B&B and we absolutely loved it! It is a litte up the mountain in the rainforest, so not close to the beach, which didn't matter for us, especially not since the room was less then 100 $. The Room was pretty close to the Street, what made it a litte noisy, but not to much,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anni N
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Hale Maluhia is ideally located a couple miles up the mountainside from Kona and offers easy access to beaches, touring, boating and fishing. Everything is convenient from here and at a very affordable price, especially considering the alternatives down in Kona. The small B&B is tucked away in the midst of lush Hawaiian greenery. Some room furnishings are in need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laohuang
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Last February my wife and I were looking for a unique place to retreat as family. We needed a gate-away desperately after seven years of intense ministry work. Hotels were out of question. We wanted a quiet Inn hidden somewhere up in the mountains that will accommodate our children too. When I first saw Hale Maluhia (House of Peace) Kailua-Kona...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DrGoddie U
Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My girlfriend and I traveled to Kona for a couple days and booked the Jasmine Room. Neither one of us are very picky and it was just a place to sleep, so we weren't expecting anything too nice. The room was a bit outdated, which we knew from the pictures and also very dirty, which we could not tell from...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Andy K
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this review

Mahalo for the free white glove inspection. After you left, we did our best and the guests after you who stayed for a week gave us a A+ (5) for clean. We did have to let a housekeeper go about that time who was not getting to the corners. It would have been better if you had showed us while...

Trieste
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My boyfriend and I slept here for only one night in July 2012, but we can say that the balance between quality and price is really high. This b&b is not so easy to find because it is in the hill up Kailua-Kona, in the nature, so when you book, asking to the owner good information to reach it, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silatkali
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We live on Big Island and wanted to spend a romantic weekend away in Kailua-Kona - which we often like to do. The reviews for Hale Maluhia looked promising so we made a reservation and were excited about our stay. We were so disappointed when we arrived! The property has a lot of potential, but it is really run down...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Luo2
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this review

Aloha Worst, My deepest apologies. My name is Ken, I am the owner. I am 80 and had a small stroke several months ago and am just getting back into the action of overseeing the Inn. My manager Jason has had a heavy load and did the best he could. We have had housekeeping help issues with people we have...

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
4.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.5 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
158 reviews
8.4 km away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
156 reviews
23.2 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a Virtual Kona Coffee Plantation of five rooms and two cottages in country comfort. Exceptional Breakfast Lovers Buffet and DIY omelet bar, fresh fruit, fresh bread baked daily, pure Kona coffee and bird watching. Relax to sage advice, friendly prices, broadband wireless, good beds, private baths and a gentle touch of aloha from old Hawai'i along the road less traveled. Just 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona and 11 miles south of the Kona International Airport (KOA). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hale Maluhia Country Inn

Address: 76-770 Hualalai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9776
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: RM341 - RM696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Country Inn Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hale Maluhia Country Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hale Maluhia Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Noisy from rats eating termites.”
 of 5 bubbles atruitt2, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Maile room is a good budget option for guests who aren't fussy.”
 of 5 bubbles jazzglow, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Decide your amenities, not all rooms have them”
 of 5 bubbles Besttimeever60872, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Banyan House for the space. It's very affordable.”
 of 5 bubbles WPicard, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“stayed in Banyan Cottage, free standing cottage, small kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles 505LauraM505, 7 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5